We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of petit not much palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel room is by far the smallest I have ever stayed in.

While fairly clean (there was a bit of dirt on the edge of a sheet which made me a little skeptical), everything feels like it will break when touched.

Everything is modern, but of the cheapest sort possible. It seems everything came from an Ikea clone which provides even lower quality furnishings. I'm a sound sleeper and usually flexible with my bedding situation from years of camping, but this bed is one of the worst I have used. It is far too soft in spots, and rock hard in others. I might sleep on the floor to get some consistency.

There is only enough room for a full bed and one bag on the floor. To enter the shower, you must step over the toilet!

Though I booked the room for $68, I feel that I overpaid. There are much better hotels in better locations for 10 dollars more. A private room in a hostel is probably more spacious and cheaper.

Would not stay again (actually, I am leaving tomorrow to find a new hotel). Stay away.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Cory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetitPalaceCanalejas, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thanks for staying with us .Sorry for not meeting your expectations about the room and our facilities.
For your comments about the furniture and decor I must inform you that the decor was chosen after a competition in 2008 called itself Decotech and several chain hotels were decorated by then as well. It could give the impression of mass production as Ikea, I understand, but I assure you they were made one by one by the study of architecture decoration M016. It is a system of corporate standardization. Sorry it was not like.
Inform the sheets we have it, have a like a quality 4 star hotels
We really appreciate if you could tell us in detail your suggestions.. We would like you to change your opinion about coming back to the Hotel.
Regards
Beatriz Juárez
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is about 20 minutes from hotel and most likely you will have to take taxi. No metro stop near here except 6 stop tram in Nueva Plaza. We checked in a my wife had booked the petite room. It was really petite, maybe the smallest room I have ever been in. The bed was a twin with acces from only one side and was very firm and little padding. No place for our luggage. The bathroom may also be the smallest I have ever seen. When you sit on the toilet, your legs touch the shower door on one side and sink on the other. I couldn't take it, I went to desk and asked for next room size up which is the standard. The petite is really only for one person. We got the standard room on the first floor. It was much bigger with space for bags and night tables on each side. Bathroom was much bigger also. The beds were two singles pushed together but were softer. Overall it was a great move. They have safes in the room. Breakfast is a very light euro continental. You really don't have many other choices since not much else is open in this area. The next morning I woke up to a strong burnt toast smell since the breakfast room is near rooms 001,002 and 003. You can also hear some minor noise from front desk and that same breakfast room. Since those rooms have a small foyer type hallway, the hotel would do a great service by putting in one more door to help those rooms with service noises. I put the extra blanket behind the door at night and it helped with the smells and some of the noise. Then we slept better. You may want a hire floor if you stay here. They do have a computer in each room that is free to use with internet acces, but they also have free wifi. My wife tried the computer on the desk and it restarted every 10 to 15 minutes for an update. Almost unusable because of that. They also have two computers in the hotel lobby/tv room. The hotel is about 6 or so blocks from cathedral and bullring. If that seems far, you may want a hotel in those areas, maybe closer to plaza nueva.

Over all it was a good hotel with decent prices.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTORCAN, Manager at Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear John,

We really appreciate your comments about your stay with us, sharing your experience. It is a pleasure, from a Grand Critique Member.

Thank your for your suggestions about the rooms at the ground floor.

Our PETIT rooms are smaller than the standards, and that is why they have a lower price. Our building is protected and some rooms are different.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Jose Luis Barroso
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here a few years ago was it was an excellent value for money place to rest your head.

The hotel is only 5-10 mins from the main sites in the historic centre, or if you want to experience life like a local just 5 minutes from the tapas bars in Triana across the river. There were some great pop up bars overlooking the river for a chilled beverage.

The room was clean, contemporary and had a great power shower. It was compact, but unless you are thinking of spending much time in the room relaxing this wasn't an issue. Great for sightseeing, maybe not for a honeymoon.

A good buffet breakfast completes a great package and was perfect for recovering from the hot Spanish nightlife !!!

Only slight issue was the noise, the doors did not provide much sound insulation so could hear people wandering back from a night out. But if you've spent the day rushing round the sights or the night doing flamenco you probably won't notice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Holway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTORCAN, Manager at Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear James,

Thank you for your time in giving your opinion about your stay!

Our location is very good as you say, and our rooms feature all you need. It is important for us to offer a healthy breakfast to get energy!

it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in Seville,

Mr Barroso
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very good location. Walking distance to most sites.
Although the hotel was refurbished, it is nicely renovated and looks trendy.
Hot Breakfast is very good with many choices.

Very good value especially high discount when we stayed on Sunday in May

Room Tip: Choose Breakfast included if additional premium is low. Breakfast is very good with many choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sk1travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTORCAN, Manager at Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying with us. Sharing you opinion with us helps us to know that we are meeting your expectactions. We try to do our best everyday working hard in order to get your satisfaction.

Thank you for underline our design and our breakfast!

Hoping to welcome you back very soon, recive our best regards,

Mr Barroso
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Loved the Petite Palace Seville Canalejas this super well located and is adjoined the building! rooms. The hotel is small but very convenient, is located in the heart of Sevilla, next to the Grand Hotel Meliá Colón in a lively and commercial district. Nice and cozy close to everything, very good value for money, the breakfast very good quality and although the room is small and crowded in the morning. Very friendly staff. The room is small but super modern, clean, cute their decoration, including a computer and free wifi. The great bathroom and excellent air conditioning. Also has free bicycles. Enough if you're gonna be a few days. Definitely repeat, would recommend.

Room Tip: Definitely repeat, would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cabret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTORCAN, Gerente at Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Jose Angel,

Thank you very much for trusting us. Your opinion, as a senior member in TripAdvisor, is very valuable for us.

We are very located in teh city centre and everything is at a walking distance. And if we have everything you need, as th facilities you have mentioned, during your stay, even better!

We, again, thank you for sharing your Petit Palace Experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you very soon,

Mr Barroso
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our room had an unpleasant odor and the bathroom door would just swing open. There is no latch, so no way to keep it closed. I would never recommend staying here. This hotel hides its lack of quality behind some flashy decor and bright colors.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTORCAN, Gerente at Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Sean,

Thank you very much for your suggestions and staying with us.

Most of our Hotels are located in historic buildings, and all of them with a mixture between the classiccal architecture and a modern desing and decoration. Other people love our image.

Sorry for the smell in the room, now it is solved.

Cordially Yours,

Mr Barroso
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Good location, 24 hour wifi access, near a shopping street with good tapas and churros and hot chocolate :) Ask for recommendations of local food and be pleasantly surprised. Not too far from bus stations. (Try the orange cake in front of the hotel i wish I bought to take away)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su_An5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#12 of 177 in Seville
807 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petit Palace Santa Cruz
#23 of 177 in Seville
1,025 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla

Address: Calle Canalejas 2, 41001 Seville, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £37 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petit Palace Canalejas' setting in Seville's historic city centre, a short walk from the Cathedral and its emblematic Giralda tower, makes it ideal for visiting the sights of the capital of Andalusia. A short walk along the nearby Guadalquivir River will bring you to the Maestranza bull ring, one of the country's largest. You will also find a wide range of shopping in the surrounding area. You can even explore the local area on bicycle, which can be hired for free from the hotel. The hotel offers the following FREE services: - WIFI connection in all rooms and communal zones.- Daily Press- Safety boxes (with capacity for a laptop).- Free bike rent .- Cots and buggies for kids on request- Rooms are available with twin or double beds, for individual travelers or couples, and also for families or groups of friends in our exclusive "Family Rooms" with capacity of up to four people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Canalejas Seville
Petit Palace Canalejas Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing