We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a home away from home”
Review of Hotel Holos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Holos
Ranked #47 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Carmen's Hotel Holos is a small jewel in Seville's firmament. Close to the inner city, but not too close; set in a beautiful quiet neighbourhood with tapas bars and restaurants within 2 minutes walking distance; boasting easy access to the motorways, if you've rented a car, leading to all the major Andalusian cities within 100 km or so (Cordoba, Cadiz, Huelva, etc.); and ideally located for public transport, if that's your thing.
But all of that's secondary to the wonderful feeling of being treated as a special guest in the family. Carmen is not only incredibly helpful but also genuinely friendly. It's part and parcel of staying in a small, owner-operated hotel in which the guests' comfort and needs are clearly the top priority. Any questions you may have about Seville or the other major towns nearby can be answered so easily, and in wonderfully fluent English (or French, if that's your preference) you'll get tips and advice on what to see and do - and, perhaps more importantly, when to do so (e.g. Seville and its sights are choc-a-bloc full on weekdays, but the good residents of the city flee to the beaches on the weekends in high summer, leaving the old city to the tourists!).
You'll also get ideas that aren't in the guide books or written up on the internet - just spend some time chatting with Carmen while perusing a map or a plan of the city. Those, like me, interested in the history and culture of Seville and the region will get more tips than you can accomodate (I stayed here for a week and it was still too short).
To finish, what can I say? Breakfast outside every day on the patio under the shady trees, a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, excellent air-conditioning (your room will cool off within 10 or 15 minutes - even when it's 38 degrees outside, no probs), super-fast wifi access, bike rental on the premises, always someone around ready for a friendly chat - and, last but not least, the little hand-written cards with proverbs that are left in your room daily, a lovely touch.
In total, think of an excellent bed-and-breakfast with about 7 rooms, a personal atmosphere and all the help you'll ever need.
I'd go back next week if I didn't have to return to work!

Room Tip: The street is quiet, so it doesn't matter which room you take.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BeenRoamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

wow!! Thank you very much for this review. It is great to hear that you appreciated our suggestions. For me it is a pleasure meeting someone loving history (like I do) open to any tip I propose. Seville is a big city which has a lot of important things that are not only in the center but also in the outside or in the province. Having a car, it is a pity not to visit it.

It was great to have you in our Hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards

Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Small hotel, very nice design and architecture, excellent and friendly service. Slept very well in a nice and quiet room. The hotel is located in a quiet environmen approx. 2kms from the city center. Some bars and restaurants are around.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeSchirmeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking your time writing your comments about our Hotel. It is great to hear from you that you enjoy your stay at our Hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Have a great summer!!

Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in Hotel Holos in Seville in June (apologies for the delay in writing this!), and we had a very nice time. The price was very reasonable for the quality, with the bedrooms (we stayed in room 7) first class. The 1920s architecture might not be for everyone's taste, but for us gave a different perspective from the classic andalucian guest houses. The rooms are decorated in a mixture of wood and whitewashed walls, a lovely oasis to come back to after a day in the Seville heat. Our room was right next to an outside terrace, which was hardly used by the other guests. The neighbourhood was very quiet and peaceful, with very little traffic noise.

The room was well proportioned, with very quiet air conditioning and a comfy bed. It was all very clean and the bathroom was modern with a good shower.

Although the hotel is a reasonable way out of the city (around 45 minutes), and therefore restricted us somewhat when it came to mid afternoon siesta, the local bus was very efficient and close by. This slight inconvenience, however, has to be factored into the price - this quality of hotel would be double closer into the city. Our hostess was very helpful in telling us which buses to get and how to get cheaper fares. The bus system is very easy to use and we found it no problem at all.

The breakfast, although being very tasty (the breads and olive oils were really good!), could have been improved by a bowl of fresh fruit. It was served outside in a beautiful courtyard with lemon trees and decking.

The service was excellent - all the staff at Hotel Holos couldn't do enough for us, including recommending very good bars and restaurants, day trips out of Seville, answering our questions about Seville's history and culture, as well as giving us a very helpful map. We were very happy with Hotel Holos and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChecklistCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Never is to late to give your point of view about our Hotel, this is something that we do appreciate. I take note of everything you suggest and try to implement it. About distances, it is true that it would be 45 minutes if you want to go to the center by feet, but if you take the bikes, which I do recommend it, it would take only 15 minutes and the ride is absolutely beautiful with all the buildings that were the pavillions in the 1929 Expo. Otherwise you would never see it if you stay just in the historical center. On the other hand, the quiteness of this neighbourhood has nothing to do with the noisy center. For me it was the main point for our decition of having the Hotel in a different neighbouhood. I am not from Seville, and Seville is an amazing city but it is very noisy and crowded mainly at a certain periods of the year. To find a place to relax it was a must for me, after a long day visiting monuments etc...

Thank you again for taking your time and contributing with your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Un saludo

Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were so impressed with the personalized service we received at Hotel Holos. Within minutes of check in we were eating a wonderful breakfast and Carmen was helping us map out our 2 day visit. We loved the bikes and it gave us exercise and the flexibility to explore without having to get a cab or find a parking place.. The room was very nice and the 3rd floor terrace had a great view. The neighborhood was quiet and quaint. It had a little restaurant down the street that we enjoyed. We felt very welcome by everyone on staff and they were very helpful. We visited 7 cities in 13 days and our visit to Sevilla and Hotel Holos was truly a highlight of our vacation.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the 3rd floor because it was next to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

That's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our city. I do agree with you that bikes in Seville are the best option. 2 days in Seville could be enough if you spend your time properly so this is why we love to give you our advice so that you spend every minute properly.

Thank you all for contributing to let others know our philosophy. It is very important to have the opinión of other guests to decide the kind of hotel you prefer.

Looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards

Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent three nights here in mid-June and enjoyed the convenient but quiet location, and the warm hospitality and helpfulness extended by Carmen. As long as you're happy with a 10-15 minute bus ride into the centre of Seville, this is a lovely place to stay. The breakfast on the deck each morning was a highlight.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank grahamatghinghin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for cooperating with us and with the rest of posible guests by writing your comments in Tripadvisor. This is very helpful for us as we see what is liked or disliked, and also for those who are taking the decition of choosing one hotel or another.

I think that for those who travel a lot, 10-15 minutes bus is nothing mainly if the compensation you have is being in a quiet, very local and exclusive area in Seville. Regarding breakfast, I am happy to hear that you appreciated it. We love sharing experiences with our guests so this is why we offer what it normally taken locally.

Please don't forget to contact me should you return to Spain and need some help to organize it regarless if is Seville or another city.

Looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards

Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

In May 2014 we stayed for two days in the beautiful Holos Hotel in a quiet neighbourhood of Servilla. Free parking in the street.
Very pleasant and warm welcome by the lady owner of the property. She gave us a lot of good suggestions for visiting 'must sees' in Servilla.
Modern interior and exterior architecture. From the roof terras you get a overall view of villas in the neighbourhood. Good traditional breakfast in a room of glass in the garden.
We used the bikes of the hotel to go to the center. It was very easy to reach the center because of the special laines for bikers in Servilla.
Whenever we come back to Servilla we will certainly choose again for Hotel Holos.

Room Tip: We loved rom 6, next to the roof terras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilse58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotelHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I would like to thank you all for supporting us by writing your comments here. It is also a great pleasure for me to see that you agree with us saying that bikes are a wonderful option for transport in Seville.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Adios

Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hotel Holos is a beautiful boutique hotel tucked away in what seems like the suburbs of Sevilla. The service from all the staff members were excellent, as they went above and beyond to make sure we were having a pleasant stay. They booked our flamenco show for us, guided us through a typical Andalusian breakfast, ironed a blouse for us, and recommended areas worth visiting in the city center. Nonetheless, we were disappointed at a number of aspects of the hotel. First of all, the parking was a little inconvenient even though we believe it was for the safety of the car, perhaps because it wasn't the safest neighborhood. Without a car, we imagine it would be hard to access downtown Sevilla from Hotel Holos. Second, the price (including parking fees) is somewhat expensive if the aim of your trip is to visit the city's center. Third, our room didn't have a safety box nor a refrigerator. Fourth, our room was three feet away from the front desk, and we were frequently disturbed throughout the night by the sound of the phone ringing. Our overall impression of Hotel Holos was neither good nor bad, because though we did enjoy our stay, it was far from being the best.

Room Tip: Ask to be moved if you are given room #7 - it's the one next to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotelHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello,

I very much regret to hear that you were a Little disappointed. We are always trying to do our best to please our guests and to help them in all your concerns. Regarding your concerns, Heliópolis, our neighbourhood, is one of the safest ones, Sevilla in general is very safe even if you cannot guarantee 100% that your car is not going to be stolen. We have parking for 2 cars just for those who prefer to keep it out of the streets, but what I always recommend is to decide whether to park it in the Street once you arrive and see how is the neigbourhood. About going into town, there are 3 different buses which pass every 5 minutes (mainly buses number 3 and 34). It takes about 15-20 minutes to arrive to the center. On the other hand you have the bikes for renting. Easy and funny. Seville is the perfect city for biking: flat and having a bike path everywhere. About refrigerator and safety box, you are absolutely right, we don't have it but as far as I know it is clear in our web site. Nevertheless, we have a safety box in the reception which can be used by our guests. Only me and Irene have Access to it. Regarding the refrigerator, we have a service of free wáter (tab wáter purified and filtered) that we always recommend to ask when you required as this way you could have it fresh. Also you can give us whatever you want to be kept in our refrigerator.
Anyway, I hope that even if you opinión was not good nor bad, you enjoyed our city as much as we do. I am not from Seville, but I have learned to love it.

Thank you very much again for your comments and please do not hesitate to contact me should you need some advice for the next time.

Best regards

Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seville hotels
AC Hotel Ciudad de Sevilla
#107 of 178 in Seville
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 178 in Seville
759 reviews
Casa Romana Hotel Boutique
#86 of 178 in Seville
622 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 178 in Seville
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holos

Address: 8 Uruguay St | 41012, 41012 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#35 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: £82 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holos 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting hotel in Seville with just seven romos, where design and confort combine. Located in Heliopolis, which is one of the Seville's quietest and most refined districts. Well located and easy to reach by car, bus, bike... The building has been beautifully restored to its original purpose: a Hotel for the 1929 Iberoamerican Expo. Hotel Holos combines modernity and avant-garde with a singular architectural and decorative restoration of the original building. This hotel is especially for people who look for something different, who enjoy and interesting architectural and decorative environment, a staff that is helpfut and pleasant, a quiet ambience and attention to detail. Cosmopolitan, cultivated people, who appreciate the possibility of privacy and exclusivity, within the charming city of Seville, both for business trips and for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Holos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holos Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing