We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alen d'Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alen d'Aragon
Ranked #1 of 22 Zaragoza B&B and Inns
Kent, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed just one night here but wished it could have been more. It was just lovely. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade which was fabulous. The rooms are amazing with spectacular views and Jose was so kind and attentive. The food here is wonderful too. We really can't praise this hotel highly enough. Oh, and if you like dogs, Foo Foo the Great Dane is adorable and welcomes everyone from her balcony as you pass by!! This is one hotel we would love to go back to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

It was not until the morning of our departure that we learned the origin of the name "Alen d' Aragon." "Alen" is a word from the local dialect of Aragonese that means "the spirit of the wine." And nothing quite captures the spirit of Aragon like this beautiful place and its owner, José .

Even though the hotel is new to its surroundings, it fits into the hillside like it has always been there. It is a microcosm for all of the plants, lavender, roses, olive and almond trees, birds, and all of the things which make this part of Spain unique.

It goes without saying that the physical component of Alen d' Aragon is of a very high standard. The rooms are large and very comfortable, and each appears to have unique views of the beautiful countryside. In the Summer, breakfast is served outside in the cool morning air. Locally produced fruit and cheeses are highlighted, as you would expect from an inn which embodies its surroundings.  We stayed three nights at Alen d' Aragon and enjoyed dinner there each night.  Each dinner was different and each dinner was excellent. The menu is not complex, but do not be fooled by its simplicity. Each meal is prepared simply and by using fresh local products. The wines offered are those which José enjoys himself, and those that were served at dinner were excellent.

The staff could not have been more pleasant or more accommodating. But it was José who stood out as one of those rare innkeepers whom you will always remember. José is in love with Aragon and its people. When we expressed an interest in learning of local wines, José accompanied us to meet the winemakers from the Fiŕe de Pegalaz and Edra wineries. The winemakers were from two different generations, yet their passion for producing the highest quality wines is as strong as anyone you would meet in Bordeaux or Napa Valley.  José spent several hours with us, talking with the winemakers and tasting their wines. Even though this was our first stop in Spain, we could not pass up the opportunity to stuff as many bottles in our suitcases as we could allow. If you plan to visit this part of Spain and you like good food and wine, Alen d' Aragon  is a hidden gem.

If this were to be our only visit to the beautiful country of Spain, we would consider ourselves fortunate to have experienced one of the best parts of it and to have met some of its finest people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ppm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here en route from France to Spain. After an amazing drive through the Pyrenees arrived to discover a gem of a place. So enjoyed it we stayed two nights on our way back. Then took our two teenage grandchildren there after their exams in July for an activity based holiday. Jose organised rafting, climbing and canyoning for us. Had a brilliant time - grandchildren thought it amazing. The food is excellent - always an important part of any holiday. It will certainly be a regular stopover for us. Elizabeth Grayshon

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMG1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Not easy to find, off "the beaten track" and a great surprise. First of all thanks to Alan and José, and their great service! We where lucky to get an upgrade, but as far as I could see all apartments where spacious with splendid views. A glas of the local white wine in the evening overlooking the Riglos, after a great meal in the restaurant is a perfect way to end the day. Asking the kids the only thing they missed was a pool - but then we would have missed the quietness :) We give it our highets recommondations!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We took a fairly big detour from our planned destination, the town of Zaragoza, to stay here because the reviews looked so good. I'm so glad we did... first of all, the place itself is worth the trip. It's gorgeous - the setting couldn't be better, the rooms are lovely. José is such a nice guy and made us feel really welcome. The food was delicious, and they were happy to cater to my annoying dietary requests. I usually don't think that much about scrambled eggs, but the ones we had at breakfast were really delicious. The other unexpected bonus of this trip was the surrounding area. We drove north the following day to San Sebastian and went through Huesca -- I wish we'd had more time to stay. It was some of the most spectacular scenery I've seen (you drive right by the Pyrenees), particularly from a car window. You also pass a couple really beautiful rivers, aquamarine apparently from glacial ice melt in the Pyrenees: the río Gállego, which is right near the hotel, and the río Aragón, further north. Lots of water sports going on in the Gállego, if that's your thing. Anyway, I highly recommend the area and the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed there for one night half the way going from Bilbao to Barcelona. It is not that easy to find, follow the directions the owners will send you, there are no road signs leading the way to the hotel!
We were really fascinated with the tranquility of the landscape and the beautiful surroundings. The little houses with the hotel rooms are spacious yet cosy, without a doubt the best rooms we had on that trip going through France and Spain. José was a perfect host. From the first cold beer upon arrival until the fresh fruit he supplied us with for breakfast. Very nice dinner.
I do not remember having seen so many stars in the night ... José, it was not me stumbling into your flowerbed because I had too much wine, it was your plants attacking me!
Loved to go there again.

Room Tip: Take one of the houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andibuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in Alen d'Aragon near Huesca this past April and we think it was one of the very best among our numerous stays in Spain. Location was fabulous, in spite of my initial reluctance through Google map which shows only near-by village streets. It turned out Alen d'Aragon is outside the village surrounded by orchards. The grand scenery out of our room/cottage was fabulous with 180 degree view of the Pyrenee foothills. The host was gracious and kind and their bread was excellent. We throughly enjoyed our stay and sincerely recommend this place as your base to explore the wonders of Aragon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that affords a view of Los Mallos de Riglos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Rey Fernando
#16 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#7 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alen d'Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alen d'Aragon

Property: Alen d'Aragon
Address: Caserio Moran S/N | Santa Eulalia de Gallego, 22806 Zaragoza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alen d'Aragon 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa eulalia de Gállego - a little Aragonese village perched on the terraces and hills surrounding the river Gállego where it cuts dramatically through the towering cliffs of the pyrenean foothills. ...Alén d´Aragón - a small and unique rural hotel, like a hamlet at the edge of the village, nestled among almonds, olives and holm oaks where you will find peace, a friendly welcome and a perfect base to discover....We have developed the idea of a “hotel village” to fit the Aragonese setting; various small buildings with nooks and corners, just like a hamlet in the Pyrenean foothills. The hotel offers eleven rooms, five of them large suites of over 500 sq ft each and six ample double rooms of 240 sq ft each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alen d'Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing