We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Happy with Our Stay at Alen d' Aragon!”
Review of Alen d'Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alen d'Aragon
Ranked #1 of 22 Zaragoza B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you're reading this review and thinking of booking a stay at Alen d' Aragon, DO IT! My husband, son, and I stayed in a Junior Suite for two nights in May 2014. Our room was extremely clean, magnificently spacious, and well-appointed. The huge soaking tub was a great bonus. The view of the Mallos de Riglos from our sliding door was a perfect reminder of the beautiful surroundings. We walked through the almond trees, explored the hillside, and indulged in a few glasses of wine on our patio. Amazing.

Of course, the real heart of Alen d' Aragon was our host Jose, who was so welcoming. His food and wine were excellent too! My normally very shy son (age 6) even made Jose a card for our departure.

When I told Jose that we made a huge, huge detour to visit Alen d'Aragon between stays in Granada and Barcelona, he told me I was crazy. I often find my craziest ideas yield the best memories, and our stay here was certainly no exception. What a peaceful, awe inspiring area of Spain, captured perfectly at Alen d' Aragon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGalRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I visited after seeing so many good reviews and now add my own - what a tranquil place. Tucked into the hill in the back of the town, this amazing B&B has well kept suites with great views at humble rates. The outstanding hospitality and cuisine of the owners makes this place truly special. Not to be missed!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Badger361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We got lost and rang Jose who drove down to the village to show us the way. The hotel building is quite unique and unusual in design. We had a little stone building with its own private terrace. The room was huge and comfortable, bed linen crisp & everything was immaculate. We were the only diners & nothing was too much trouble. Dinner, breakfast & wines were all lovely & our host was extremely friendly. It's off the beaten track but if we're ever passing this way again, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KH3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed just one night here but wished it could have been more. It was just lovely. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade which was fabulous. The rooms are amazing with spectacular views and Jose was so kind and attentive. The food here is wonderful too. We really can't praise this hotel highly enough. Oh, and if you like dogs, Foo Foo the Great Dane is adorable and welcomes everyone from her balcony as you pass by!! This is one hotel we would love to go back to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It was not until the morning of our departure that we learned the origin of the name "Alen d' Aragon." "Alen" is a word from the local dialect of Aragonese that means "the spirit of the wine." And nothing quite captures the spirit of Aragon like this beautiful place and its owner, José .

Even though the hotel is new to its surroundings, it fits into the hillside like it has always been there. It is a microcosm for all of the plants, lavender, roses, olive and almond trees, birds, and all of the things which make this part of Spain unique.

It goes without saying that the physical component of Alen d' Aragon is of a very high standard. The rooms are large and very comfortable, and each appears to have unique views of the beautiful countryside. In the Summer, breakfast is served outside in the cool morning air. Locally produced fruit and cheeses are highlighted, as you would expect from an inn which embodies its surroundings.  We stayed three nights at Alen d' Aragon and enjoyed dinner there each night.  Each dinner was different and each dinner was excellent. The menu is not complex, but do not be fooled by its simplicity. Each meal is prepared simply and by using fresh local products. The wines offered are those which José enjoys himself, and those that were served at dinner were excellent.

The staff could not have been more pleasant or more accommodating. But it was José who stood out as one of those rare innkeepers whom you will always remember. José is in love with Aragon and its people. When we expressed an interest in learning of local wines, José accompanied us to meet the winemakers from the Fiŕe de Pegalaz and Edra wineries. The winemakers were from two different generations, yet their passion for producing the highest quality wines is as strong as anyone you would meet in Bordeaux or Napa Valley.  José spent several hours with us, talking with the winemakers and tasting their wines. Even though this was our first stop in Spain, we could not pass up the opportunity to stuff as many bottles in our suitcases as we could allow. If you plan to visit this part of Spain and you like good food and wine, Alen d' Aragon  is a hidden gem.

If this were to be our only visit to the beautiful country of Spain, we would consider ourselves fortunate to have experienced one of the best parts of it and to have met some of its finest people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ppm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here en route from France to Spain. After an amazing drive through the Pyrenees arrived to discover a gem of a place. So enjoyed it we stayed two nights on our way back. Then took our two teenage grandchildren there after their exams in July for an activity based holiday. Jose organised rafting, climbing and canyoning for us. Had a brilliant time - grandchildren thought it amazing. The food is excellent - always an important part of any holiday. It will certainly be a regular stopover for us. Elizabeth Grayshon

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMG1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Not easy to find, off "the beaten track" and a great surprise. First of all thanks to Alan and José, and their great service! We where lucky to get an upgrade, but as far as I could see all apartments where spacious with splendid views. A glas of the local white wine in the evening overlooking the Riglos, after a great meal in the restaurant is a perfect way to end the day. Asking the kids the only thing they missed was a pool - but then we would have missed the quietness :) We give it our highets recommondations!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,248 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,286 reviews
La Magdalena
The Bridge
The Bridge
#4 of 22 in Zaragoza
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ESTANCIAS DEL EBRO
#7 of 22 in Zaragoza
15 reviews
Palacio de los Sitios
#2 of 22 in Zaragoza
44 reviews
B&B Siesta
#5 of 22 in Zaragoza
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alen d'Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alen d'Aragon

Address: Camino de Moran | Santa Eulalia de Gallego, 22806 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Zaragoza
Price Range: £65 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alen d'Aragon 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural apart-hotel of 8 apartments set out in the style of a small village amongst olive and almond trees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Alen d'Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing