We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How is this a 5 star hotel??? ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Reina Petronila
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How is this a 5 star hotel??? ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Uugh where do I begin! First of all it is not in a good neighborhood. I felt safe walking around at night everywhere I went in Spain EXCEPT for here. In addition to that, it is pretty far from the few attractions in Zaragoza.

The room and hotel were no where near 5 stars. 3 stars would be extremely generous. Anyone who gives this a 5 star has never been to a 5 star hotel. The rest of the hotels I stayed in Spain were 4 stars and they were WAY better.

The whole building needs renovation. When we arrived we immediately noticed it smelled weird. Like burnt coffee and sewage. Then upon entering our room we noticed that the old wood floors seemed dirty, like they hadn't been vacuumed. Then the shower (that was just so awkward and the dumbest design ever) had hair in it (shower and toilet area). We told the staff and they said they would take care of it and they did and when we came back they had left us some chocolates. So we like "hmm ok, they tried.." But within 20min of being back in our room the water in the shower just randomly turned on for like a good 30sec. This happened 5 times and pretty late at night. We got up early the next morning only to find there was no running water!!! We complained and their response was that there was a problem and that they were hoping to get it fixed before 7am. No apology or anything. I guess this explained the smell, yuck!!!! I honestly couldn't wait to get out of there. When we checked out we told them not to charge us the water from the mini bar we had to use to brush our teeth and wash our face, when there was no running water. "Oh sure." That's it. No apology, no discount, nothing. I was just so glad I was leaving.

I was there with my younger sister who is in Spain studying abroad. She has been traveling through Europe and staying in Hostels. Even she was shocked at how bad this hotel was! She said even the hostels were way better! That should sum it up! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Aadriana81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Hotel Reina Petronila, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear guest,
First at all, thank you for giving us your objections about our hotel, all the suggestions of our guests give us the opportunity to improve.
The Hotel Reina Petronila was built in 2010 and designed by Rafael Moneo who was “Premio Principe de Asturias” in 2012; the area around the hotel is one of the best residential neighborhoods, for that reason we are really surprised with your experience and perception.
In regard to the incident with the water, we apologize for the inconvenience this may caused to you; we know those kind of technical situations are so disgusting for our guests and unfortunately it took place during your stay.
That punctual situation could not be controlled by our maintenance department because that break down was caused by an external factor.
All our human team want to transmit you their apologies and we hope to welcome you in a next visit to our city.
We remain at your disposal to assist you with any further information.
Once again, thank you very much.

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    161
    42
    7
    6
See reviews for
89
209
12
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel and forgot something in the safe box. Called next day to see what can be done- very polite service did all the necessary, was very efficient and fast and I got my things back fast and super convinient. Thank you, excellent staff ready to go beyond for the client.

In general: nice clean hotel, good for business trips, close to the tram station to go to the center and has several restaurants around. Positive experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_amita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Hotel Reina Petronila, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are glad everything arrived properly and in good conditions. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding to the Reina Petronila staff. I will personally inform them.

Kindest regards.

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent a weekend in Zaragoza with our baby and wanted a good hotel with big and comfortable rooms and indoor pool although not so central. This hotel was built around 2009-2010. When we arrived room was already arranged (with cot as requested) but saw an offer to upgrade to junior suite for 25 euros and as we were with our baby did so to have more space for us. The room was great, located in the building corner, with big space for the bed and an small living room with huge TV, sofa, etc. Bathroom is very modern with both bathtub and shower. The cot was very good considering is a hotel cot. Only things we missed is more light in bathroom and water boiler (should be typical for a 5 star hotel) to prepare tea or in our case heat up water for baby milk.
We visited spa a couple of times and it has an steam bath and an small pool. Located on the top floor there are nice views to the city.
Breakfast was quite good with big selection of warm and cold food, fresh juices, etc. We only missed salad, tomato, ... although we got it on request.
Staff is very friendly and the service is good.
The location is not so convenient if want to visit the city, although tram is not far away. We preferred to use our car. Parking ourside can be difficult at nights as hotel is next to cinema and shopping center. Hotel has indoor parking which is a bit expensive (over 20 euros I think), but we were lucky to find place in front of the hotel.
We would choose this hotel again if we come back to Zaragoza. If you prefer to stay in the city center Hotel Palafox from the same chain would be as good as this, although maybe not so big and modern rooms.

Room Tip: you can ask for room upgrade on arrival. Suites are bigger and in the building corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Hotel Reina Petronila, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your opinion. We´ll hope you will come back to visit us in the near future.
Best regards,

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
214 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We basically love in hotels and have to say that we certainly liked this one a lot. We had a suite so the rooms was a great size but even the standards were good too. The staff were ever so friendly during our seven nights stay. A special mention to Sergio at the front desk who went out of his way to help with everything we needed. The bar was nice and the breakfast was good to with reasonable prices.

One thing that I absolutely must emphasis about this hotel is that it has by far and away the best beds we have ever found in a hotel. The pillows, mattresses and linen were superb and nearly all of our group of 100 (we work with Cirque du Soleil) thought the same. Congratulations to ever was responsible for putting this together!

My only slightly negative point would be that the internet could be slow at times. There is an ethernet cable in the room but I could not get that working with my Mac.

The hotel is conveniently located to a decent little shopping centre which was useful at times and had a couple of good restaurants.

If you have to be in Zaragoza then I would certainly recommend this as a place to stay!

Room Tip: We were in 402 which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rougeradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Hotel Reina Petronila, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
We want to thank you for your generous comment on Trip Advisor, your words motivate our team to continue working in that direction.
Regarding to the internet connection, we have forwarded your comment to the appropriate department to improve in that sense.
All the human team thanks you for your visit and for taking the time to write such as a good opinion.
We wait for you in our hotel in your next visit to Zaragoza.
Thank you and see you soon!

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Reina Petronila for one night on our way from Asturias to Valencia. We needed a clean, comfortable, affordable place to get a good night's rest. This hotel met our needs and our expectations.

Easy Access from the highway, easy parking, good service. We consider this more a business hotel than a vacation hotel. It is a bit far from the city center with no interesting sites in the immediate vicinity. So if we return to Zaragoza on business we will definitely consider this hotel but may look at other more central places if we return on vacation.

The reception staff offered service with a smile, they spoke clear English although we are fine with Spanish, were efficient at getting us checked-in, our car parked, our luggage delivered to the room and providing information and recommendations.

The room was clean, well maintained and properly furnished, the hotel is quite new. The "modern" design layout with an "open" concept bathroom (the toilet and shower are behind partially frosted glass sliding doors) is not for the prudish and will make some people uncomfortable. We liked it. The bed and pillows were top-notch and comfortable.

We had a satisfying customer experience and our expectations were met.

We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the quality of the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericdumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección Hotel at Hotel Reina Petronila, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us. I would like to thank you very much about your lovely comments you made about our Hotel and staff during your stay.
Kind Regards,

Isabel Sancho
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Generally a very pleasant stay with a few niggles. The hotel seems to have been designed primarily to look trendy and modern, with bright primary colours, mainly red and a lot of faceted glass. Fine, however in the bedroom because everything has integrated handles it was very confusing trying to work out where cupboards were, I had to phone reception for help to discover where the hairdryer was - after I attempted to get through the connecting door into the next room. When I did find the hairdryer unfortunately it only blew cold air and needed a very heavy pressure to make it function. The bathroom gave me the shudders, don't come here with someone you don't know well, it is designed for maximum embarrasment, the walls dont meet the ceiling and the sliding doors between bathroom and bedroom (there are two) dont meet - there is a two inch gap - ditto toilet door. This means a light in the bathroom lights the bedroom too. There was nothing in English ( I think there was a pillow menu but cant be sure) and they left two tiny sweets the size of full stops. Everything is tiny and shaped like pencils including lights and the shower head, which pulled out from the wall several times leaving water gushing. The lights system was very odd, lights turned out by one switch then didnt turn on from the same switch so working them was quite a challenge. Some of the hinges and knobs are a bit clunky, do-it-all meets Ikea and the glass in places like the bottom of the bedside table is a bit unnecessary, and made me wonder if it was for the satisfaction of the designer rather than the user. Those niggles aside the bed was incredibly comfortable, like sleeping in a cloud, the towels were huge and fluffy and there was a push button mechanical blind which acted well as a black out blind, coming down over the floor to ceiling window. A sign says the window glass is bullet proof and you can ring to open it - however it would have been great to have had a small air vent - the room was very stuffy and the air con did not seem to function. The toiletries are very pretty and plentiful. The tv is absolutely massive.

The breakfast room was totally white - floor, very low ceiling, tables chairs and table cloths - it was like being in a drawer. The food at breakfast was good and generous. Children were well catered for with their own selection of food, tables, games etc. The background music was dull and dreary - is this supposed to make the ambience "posh?"
We were in room 701 - totally quiet.
The indoor, upstairs pool area looked wonderful and was deserted. We had great fun photographing the cafe and stairs, the colours are fun to play around with.
The staff were all very smart indeed, pleasant, smiling and helpful. From the hotel it is easy and convenient to take the bus opposite which goes regularly to and from the wonderful city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Hotel Reina Petronila was all that it was touted to be. My wife and I stopped in Zaragoza en route from Madrid to Barcelona (and again on the return trip) and found Reina Petronila to be well-located, friendly, and nice. When we saw our room, we were surprised at the value we received at the hotel. The breakfast was well-appointed, with a full range of beverages and various foods. Try the local chocolate-covered-fruit-candies! Parking was reasonable and the wifi was complimentary when we stayed. We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Casco Antiguo
Palafox Hotel
Palafox Hotel
#13 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Alfonso Hotel
Alfonso Hotel
#10 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reina Petronila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reina Petronila

Property: Hotel Reina Petronila
Address: Avenida Alcalde Ramon Sainz de Varanda 2, 50009 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Romareda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Reina Petronila 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Reina Petronila is a 5-star hotel located at one end of the shopping and entertainment center Aragonia in Zaragoza. Near the Concert Hall, the Conservatory and his own Concert Hall, the stadium of La Romareda, Miguel Servet Hospital and University Clinic, with 185 rooms and a wide range of suites. Meetings & Conventions auditorium equipped with the latest technology. Conference rooms and meeting rooms with various capacities up to 600 people. The Royal Society of Queen Petronilla Zaragoza offers here his most sophisticated product and business center. Spa and gym for guests staying. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reina Petronila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing