We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and close to everything”
Review of Hotel Via Romana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Via Romana
Ranked #57 of 79 Hotels in Zaragoza
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This place was very central - staff were helpful when recommending restaurants and were able to suggest places that were full of locals that were great value for money and the food was delicious. Also helpful in everyday ways - we parked our motorbike out front (under a tree) and in the morning had lots of bird poo all over it - they helped with getting soapy water and rags so we could clean it off (lesson learnt!)
It was a 5minute walk to almost everything in town. The room itself was clean, nice. no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yulia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Hotel is very central for all musems and local café etc. Car parking is in the local car park which is 19 euro per day and only a 2 min walk. Breakfast is in the next door cafe. Rooms are clean ample. Hotel seemed full but quite.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel first of all was a nightmare to find and get too, however it was in an excellent position close to the Cathedral and Basillica. Parking was in a Public car park nearby. The staff on reception were pleasant enough. The walls between the rooms were so thin, next door bathroom might well have been in our room. The hotel was very noisy all night from people making a noise in the corridors to noise in the street. The room itself was very tired with broken light shades, creaking bed every time you moved. It says Wifi throughout the hotel, NO!!! Cracks in the bathroom tiles with dirty grout, a shower which wouldnt stay on the hanger. so you had to shower yourself holding it! The hallway both last night and this morning was full of baggage. Give it a miss!!!

Room Tip: Ours was 303, no WIFI, broken shower, dirty bathroom cracked tiles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetCavershamReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The worst hotel of our 12 day trip -- luckily, it was for only one night. Not sure what happened between the time other reviewers stayed here and when we stayed, but we could not believe how bad this was. The lobby is totally depressing; the person at the registration desk was on the phone when I arrived; he ended his call and when I asked if he spoke English, he rolled his eyes and asked me to wait and then got on another very long phone call. Eventually, he helped us out. But the room was dirty, depressing, small. Everything was dingy -- the curtains were filthy, the carpet and the bedspread stained. Breakfast the next morning was one of the worst we experienced. No one to attend the breakfast room; very little choice; the quality of the food was very poor. The coffee smelled awful and when I did find an attendant and told her about it, she came back, poured some from the machine and said: Yes, this is the coffee. There is nothing wrong with it. Some fellow diners had the same opinion -- it was the worst breakfast of all the hotels, and they found the service lacking. We always try to find something good with a hotel or a restaurant - i.e., that silver lining. But this place had nothing going for it. Our room was pre-paid, so we had no choice or else we would not have stayed here as the bad impression greeted us the minute we walked into the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos p, Manager at Hotel Via Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear lambro,
thanks for your time. Very sorry that your stay at the hotel was not pleasant. We would like to inform you that we take note of each and every observation, complaint and comment made, always with the aim of improving.
We work to satisfy our guests and your opinions are always what guide us.
Warmest regards,
Carlos Palacin -Manager Hotel Husa Via Romana***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The location is excellent, as is near the Basilica, and the center of town, and a block from the River.....wifi was impossible in the room and also in the lobby it was very weak. The receptionist was excellent and very helpful, as there was a problem with my reservation, he cleared it very fast, and also arranged for the special price for the parking nearby. His recommendation for the restaurante El Fuelle, was excellent. As for the room was basic, clean and enough for the night, heating was good and the shower Ok....as for breakfast, nothing to write home about it, as it was hardly replenished but I got my breakfast and then could leave on my road, and it was priced very good. The elevator is tiny but fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Staff was great and very friendly, and location was great too. Rooms weren't too bad and cleanliness was good, but the facilities were a bit dodgy - e.g. the shower head was loose and the lift was a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos p, Manager at Hotel Via Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Maureen C,
thank you so much for your nice review about the staff, our location, our rooms and the cleanliness. We always try to give our customers a pleasant stay so I apologize for the incovenience caused, with the shower head and the lift. We would like to inform you that we take note of each comments made, always with the aim of improving.
We hope to see you back again,
Sincerely,
Carlos Palacin
Hotel Manager Hotel Husa Via Romana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Excellent location, very helpful staff, very good room. The only problem was with the WIFI which didn´t work in the room at all and sporadically in the lobby. Had to hang out in a restaurant down the street for internet access, which was very disappointing-

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Husa Hoteles
Thank CanadianExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Don Jaime 54
Hotel Don Jaime 54
#43 of 79 in Zaragoza
85 reviews
NH Sport
#26 of 79 in Zaragoza
411 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Tibur
Hotel Tibur
#47 of 79 in Zaragoza
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Plaza Feria
#36 of 79 in Zaragoza
195 reviews
La Magdalena
Hotel Ibis Styles Ramiro I
Hotel Ibis Styles Ramiro I
#24 of 79 in Zaragoza
540 reviews
Centro
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#41 of 79 in Zaragoza
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Via Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Romana

Address: Calle Don Jaime I 54-56, 50001 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Husa Via Romana)
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 79 Hotels in Zaragoza
Price Range: £34 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Via Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Via Romana Zaragoza
Husa Via Romana Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing