We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Far out of the way”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zaragoza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Too Far out of the way”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our travel agent found this place for us to stop on our way from San Sebastian to Barcelona. It says Zaragosa, but it is no where near the city, about an hour southwest, and in a nature preserve which is very popular. Nice location in the country, gorgeous buildings, bare bedrooms with a modern, if small bathroom. Our problem is that the beds are small with footboards and my husband is 6'4" tall so we need big beds and had to change our room to a smaller one with no footboards. We had eaten a huge lunch so food wasn't important and their nice garden area off the bar was perfect for a light dinner and some drinks. But for our purposes this hotel just didn't work.

Room Tip: Everything is quiet! However, some rooms are up a flight of stairs with no elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    212
    87
    30
    25
See reviews for
155
296
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to the Monastery because of its historical importance and paid the 15 euro each to see it and the grounds because we had driven 1 1/2 hours to see it and were meeting with a local family of four. The cloister is in very good condition, having been renovated. The church is three walls in disrepair. The entire property, to include the church, nature area and museums (displays), are privately owned. It is outrageous for six people to have paid 90 euros for a three hour visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank FFTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

An impressively beautiful and charming hotel with a great history, very well worth the overall pleasant detour. A popular tourist destination, which means that the hotel grounds can be somewhat overcrowded. The rooms are very nice, well equipped, with a surprisingly modern bathroom. The service in the restaurant was somewhat surly, but the quality of the food largely compensated for this. A must is to participate in the guided tour and a visit to the wild birds park with a great fly-by demonstration.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EurobMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Monasterio de Piedra is a perfect mixture of beauty, comfort and history makes it a unique place to stay. The surrounding area has an extensive garden with waterfalls.

Room Tip: We were given a small room but requested a larger one,which we were offered at no extra charge. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybilevelyn143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I was intrigued by the comments about the rudeness of staff at the hotel. My wife and I stopped there last year on the way from Madrid to the Pyrenees and really impressed by the beauty of the location and the building went to ask about a room for the night. The reception area is hugely impressive as is the rest of the building and as the desk was busy we were tempted to walk along the main corridor to admire the ceilings and other architectural gems on view. We hadn't quite reached the end of the corridor, perhaps thirty metres from the reception desk (big long corridors) when we were confronted by a member of staff who simply ordered us out of the building! My wife, a fluent Spanish speaker, tried to explain that we were waiting to check room availability for the night but "Jobsworth" wasn't interested. We were, according to him, trespassing in an area where only guests were allowed, and despite still being comfortably in view of staff at the reception desk and not interfering with anything, we were rudely ushered off the premises. Now I see that our treatment may not have been exceptional. Very, very different to all the wonderful experiences we have had in many years of wandering across Spain, picking hotels by and large at random and almost invariably being delighted with the hotels and the wonderful people we met. Certainly we have never had such atrocious treatment.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank donnieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The hotel is amazing with very long corridors and spectacular architecture, once part of the monastery. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. We had one overlooking the cloisters which was quite small but it had once been a monk's cell! The reception staff were quite helpful but the rest of the staff were quite surly and rude. The restaurant was very poor in the evenings but because of the location there are very few other places to go. As a resident in the hotel you get free access to the Park, monastery and museum, all worth a visit. Weekends are very busy and noisy!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mandak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Monasterio de Piedra was our choice for a one night stay to break our journey from the Pyrennees to Madrid. Apparently an atmospheric ex-Monastery in beautiful waterscape surroundings. After reading in a guide book that the wooded waterfall area around it was somewhat theme-parkesque I had a gut instinct we wouldn't like it which I should have stuck with.

First an incredibly rude and officious car park attendant shouted at us that where we were parking was reserved for the hotel - to which the obvious answer was "Yes that is why we are parking in it". A bored man in the cavernous hotel reception area doled out our key as if we were staying in some corporate airport hotel and on entering our room we were totally overwhelmed by the poisonous smell of room freshener/cleaning spray which was all pervading. Despite opening the balcony doors to the gloomy room and allowing the air in we could not actually stay in the room for any length of time let alone sleep in there. The bored receptionist merely replied to my request for another room with the probability that they all smelled the same but he did move us and the other room was better.

We had no real hope for the food in the restaurant but weren't actually prepared for it being both expensive and inedible. Dried out fish that may have been reheated several times, a soggy and aged vegetable platter, a dire lamb stew that had seen better months let alone days!! We left it all.

The Monasterio with its dim and melancholy cavernous corridors lined with rooms had all the feeling of the kind of institution for the infirm or insane that you get in horror films.

The parkland outside would have been impressive with its natural waterfalls and chutes, gorges and grottoes cut out of the rock if it hadn't all been overly set up like a man-made theme park. Despite our early morning entry into it when we did at least "enjoy" it on our own, a photographer leapt out on us the minute we stepped foot inside the boundaries pestering us for our custom. Somehow a beautiful natural phenomena of a waterfilled oasis in otherwise fairly barren countryside had been ruined.

It always seems that on a touring holiday there is a one night hotel stay which goes pear-shaped. This was the one.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Lorelei-Lemaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaragoza
Hotel Balneario Alhama de Aragon
#1 of 4 in Alhama de Aragon
634 reviews
Hotel Las Truchas
#52 of 78 in Zaragoza
146 reviews
Balneario Sicilia
#2 of 3 in Jaraba
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 78 in Zaragoza
823 reviews
Eurostars Rey Fernando
#17 of 78 in Zaragoza
411 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#14 of 78 in Zaragoza
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa

Property: Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa
Address: Calle Afueras s/n | Nuevalos, 50620 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Monasterio De Piedra Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing