We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zaragoza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Zaragoza
Barcelona, Catalunya/Catalonia (Spain)
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“it's worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

You should consider the Hotel and the surroundings as a whole. In the middle of an arid landscape you are surprised by a blow out of green and water, incredible. In a pleasant walk you can visit water falls and caves with an interesting wildlife.
The hotel is charming, quiet and quite luxury. It is an old convent suitably restored.
Breakfast, entrance to the park, a guided visit to the old abbey (in ruins) and to interesting wine and chocolate museums are included in the room price.
The breakfast is correct and the restaurant quite expensive but you have some offer in the near surroundings or you can use the outdoor restaurant, cheaper but only for lunch. Nice and quiet swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    202
    84
    29
    23
See reviews for
148
273
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We visited in May (2 nights) with friends. For the gardens May is maybe one of the best, and quietest, months: On Tuesday morning we were amongst only 30 others in the gardens which were immaculate and had vivid and fresh colours bathed in sunshine without it not being too hot. The kiosks were closed, but not a problem with the hotels 'multi-entry' ticket. The garden cafe was open but the restaurant closed - very much pre-season.

The hotel is in a 'Parador' type of building and run on similar lines. However, the rooms and bathrooms are poor; we changed ours from minute double-bed room (barely enough room between the bottom of the bed and the wall) to twin beds and doubled the size for the same price. However, the overall quality is poor and is about a one star level. Dinner is €27 for del dia and is modeled on the Parador idea. We ate in the town the following night for €9 and had a better meal! They score on convenience and accessibility to the garden. They fail on service and standards of private areas. On balance - one night would have been fine.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanninman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

We stayed at the Monasterio de Piedra hotel in May 2008. We booked the 'especial matrimonio' room (a suite, 157 euros+VAT ) and a "habitacion claustro' (cloister room, 105 euros +VAT) for one night. The price included free parking at the monastery, buffet breakfast and free entry to the gardens for 24 hours.

The suite room and its bathroom was very spacious and had a terrace twice as big as the other double rooms. The entry was from the first floor, then a flight of stairs and a little private reception area. The cloister room had nice views of the cloister, but unfortunately, the window was almost a the corner of the wall, so the view could not be enjoyed by more than one person.

Our main complaint is the little annoying things that one does not expect to happen when paying such prices.
1.We carried our suitcases all the way down the stairs to the main entrance to the hotel. Not very convenient for senior citizens or the disabled. Once at the reception desk, we were told we could have used a side door that leads directly to the 3rd floor of the hotel. There were no signs indicating that was the way to go, so only an old customer would know about it!
2.The air conditioning was not turned on in any of the rooms. Although one is supposed to be able to regulate the temperature in every room, the hotel assumes May is not 'hot' enough for us to be hot. So the aircon is off! That was not very pleasant as our rooms had been closed and hit by the sun for the whole day.
3. Free wi-fi is provided for ONLY two hours. Customers had to go back to reception to request their voucher. It may seem lazy to you, to complain about walking to reception desk, but once you have stayed at the Monasterio, you will realise you can get lost in its corridors, and spend most of your stay walking up and down corridors while you could be enjoying your time doing something else.
4. The gardens are badly signalled. We (and most other visitors) spend hours climbing stairs, going in circles, getting lost, trying to find our way to the famous 'horses' tail fall'. This was because the arrows pointed to the WRONG way! Not one sign but several, were pointing to the wrong direction. It is not fun and it is not fair again on the senior citizens and the disabled, having to waste their time and efforts climbing up and down without getting anywhere.

  • Liked — Staying in a monastery, the falls at the gardens
  • Disliked — Signs pointing at wrong directions, aircon off, wi-fi for 2 hours/day only, lack of consideration for disabled/senior citizens in general
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Horror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayreuth, germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2006

we arrived on spain´s national holiday (12.10.) after a drive through the dry mountains of Aragon. It was a real surprise to see a green valley full of ponds, waterfalls and brooks. It must be most appealing to spaniards who are used to desert-like landcapes. We really enjoyed the stroll in the park.
The hotel itself is a converted monastery, that means an impressive building. The former cells of the monks still are what they used to be, that means bare white walls, tiled floor without mattress, rustic rudimentary furniture (two beds, desk, two chairs) all recently renovated, but in a cheap manner not quite the class of the building itself.
the bathroom was functional, but i´ve never seen such a flush. Maybe designed for a vessel, it produced a lot of noise as all other flushes in the building did the night long. surprisingly the walls are thin which doesn´t matter as long as the adjacent rooms are empty. They weren´t. Atmosphere of a boarding-school. The night was cold down to 5° C but the heating was off. Not very pleasant to get up in the morning.
When you look at it as charming, you are right, but it´s obvious that the building was not conceived as a hotel.
we found 120€ without breakfast for a very simple room quite overpriced. The paradores are a better choice.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank shivaowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2006

This was our 3rd stop on our honeymoon in Spain (previously Barcelona and Cadaques). I picked the Monstery as a unique place to stay and based on the reviews and things I had read about the grounds. The gardens, waterfalls and grottos are amazing. You can spend the entire day walking around the park, the monastery and the ruins. What we were unprepared for was how far it is from the highway, a long, winding road through the mountains which, unfortunately, we made in the middle of the night. We arrived late and the monastery had a very eerie, deserted feeling. The rooms really are like monk quarters. The beds are typical European beds (hard, singles we had to push together). the balcony was large, but opened onto the woods. The monastery was having construction done, so work began early. Thankfully, the staff kindly warned me of this when I made reservations. We stayed two nights, which was more than enough. The nearest town is about a 5 mile drive and has two restuarants and nothing else(Although the very first one you encounter (on the right) when leaving the monastery is the best and we ate here for lunch and dinner a few times). The hotel's restaurant is nothing spectacular and is overpriced. I imagine to make up for the free breakfast--which was suprisingly good. Since the grounds take a little over a half day to see, I would recommend arriving late, stay that one night, see the grounds early and leaving early that afternoon for your next destination. Two nights is only for the devoted.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2004

The Monastery was the Jewel of our trip! We stayed at some amazing Paradores including the Granada at the Alhambra (which was wonderful) but the Monastery was phenominal. You really feel like you're experiencing history and the gardens ... all the waterfalls ... absolutely beautiful! I can only imagine it in the Spring. I can’t say enough about it ... if you have an opportunity ... stop and spend the night!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mjmj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2004

September 2003: During the period that we lived in Holland for 5 years we travelled extensively around Spain. The last large region of the country that we hadn't visited was the northern third above Madrid. We came upon the Monasterio in the Special Places travel book and were completely awestruck by the property and its location next to the park. Driving through the nearby countryside, one would never guess that such an oasis existed. Our only regret is that we only spent two nights. We ate both nights in the dining room and I had the best duck confit of my life! There aren't many places that one visits that they would return to. The MdP is an exception that I have already recommended to several people.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaragoza
Balneario Sicilia
#1 of 3 in Jaraba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Eurostars Rey Fernando
#16 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Hotel Las Truchas
#48 of 80 in Zaragoza
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#7 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa

Property: Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa
Address: Calle Afueras s/n | Nuevalos, 50620 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Zaragoza
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monasterio de Piedra & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Monasterio De Piedra Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing