We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nicely spent hour. Open on a monday all other galleries/museums closed”

Museo Goya Coleccion Ibercaja
Ranked #23 of 150 things to do in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Figueres, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nicely spent hour. Open on a monday all other galleries/museums closed”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I came to this gallery on a Monday, when pretty much all of the other mueseums/ galleries were closed for the day in Zaragossa (as is the case in most of Spain). I was given free entry which I was not expecting.

The main draw of this gallery is collection of work from Goya, who was born in the city. The bulk of the collection is a series of sketches that he did. There is a whole room dedicated to this section, and they must amount to over 100. They were interesting to look at, but there are only so many pencil sketches you can take in in one go. It probably takes a couple of visits.

I much prefer the Goya paintings that were on another floor. He was revered as a master portrait painter and you can see why. Acompanying his paintings is a range of work from his contemporaries and more recent artists.

On another floor there is a good collection of 16th century art, and some modern art on other floors. It took me about 45 minutes to do the whole gallery, and I was impressed by the range of art I saw in that time.

Certainly a worthy stop on a trip to Zaragossa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bawdseyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    112
    23
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Very nice collection, especially as it was free to get in! Bigger than it looked, with I think 5 or 6 floors, the topmost being 20thC stuff which I hadn't expected. If for no other reason, worth a visit for the very nicely displayed Goya stuff which I think is their main boast, although the rest is good too!

Only problem, when I went it was packed with school kids! This was probably my fault because I went at about 11oclock on a Tuesday.. So definitely go, but maybe at the weekend! :P

And if you do have kids, I suppose it means it's sort of a child-friendly place? So maybe that's a positive, I'm not sure!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank D_N0tts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, kent
Level Contributor
411 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Lovely gallery worth a visit for the goya etchings”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The room full of goya etchings was memorable and inspiring, though his paintings were not, and the rest of the exhibition was a bit dull to be honest. Lovely building.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcovanbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a story of love, riches, and reconstruction”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

On business for a day in the wonderful city of Zaragoza, I stopped at the little known Patio de la Infanta quite perchance. This fabulous Renaissance gem (circa 1550) is hardly obvious from the street or even advertised in most travel guides. A wedding gift to his bride, this beautiful small museum is what remains of the original house and now the home of several paintings by Goya and houses a restored Iberian organ with a split keyboard (each hand can play only two and half octaves). A must see

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank xbarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,889 reviews
921 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
“Beautifully laid out gallery”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

The main feature of this gallery are the approx 200 etchings by Goya. The etchings are dark in nature, displaying ghoulish qualities and the macabre. Some of The Goya etchings are based on a series of paintings by Eugenio Licas Velazquez, some of whose original paintings are also on display. Some Goya original paintings are also on display.
The Gallery has free entry and incredibly helpful staff. It is beautifully laid out in an uncluttered manner. And it has free entry!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Goya Coleccion Ibercaja also viewed

Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 

Been to Museo Goya Coleccion Ibercaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing