We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location”
Review of Catalonia El Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia El Pilar
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Zaragoza is a wonderful city with much culture and this hotel is right in the middle of all the action. This centrally located hotel offers friendly service, a clean room and a solid breakfast at a very reasonable price. Overall, the price and quality makes this a no brainer when staying in this city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickbcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    346
    55
    12
    6
See reviews for
167
494
40
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is very clean, very central and in many ways ideal. The rooms were slightly impersonal, but absolutely fine. We got an extremely good deal, it was a Sunday night, and they offered a deal on breakfast too, although we didn't take it up. My personal view is that the 'Modernista' style is slightly over-played, but that's a personal view, certainly not a criticism.
The staff were good and helpful.
Really close to the cathedral area (unless you're really interested, don't bother with the cathedral, especially on a sunny Sunday afternoon) and the market, which looked interesting, but was closing up by 10 a.m!
The only real improvement I could suggest is for the hotel to try to get a deal on parking, which was quite expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Located at the heart of the old city, Catalonia El Pilar was just a mere 70 meters away from all the attractions. We managed to secure a very comfortable and spacious room, the bed was soft and comfortable and the front desk service was friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Zaragoza.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger with more natural sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Ingky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

There's nothing to fault about this hotel, comfortable room, sound proof from road outside, black-out curtains, friendly staff and excellent value. Good tapas bar just over the road and well situated for the main square.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at El Pilar for a wedding. The staff was very helpful in ironing my suit the same day. They were similarly attentive to a maintenance request we made regarding the shower head in our room. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. Our room on floor 2 was very quiet thanks to double glass doors and effective blackout curtains. The room also had an extra door blocking off the entryway & bathroom which blocked noise from outside. The bed was comfortable but we found the pillows were a bit too hard; we used the accent pillows for sleeping. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osogris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights stay at this pleasant and excellent value hotel which is close to the historic area and the major sights. It is located in a quiet square so very little street noise . The room had double doors so noise was blocked out well but it did mean the air conditioning was necessary.
The front desk staff were helpful especially with establishing my wi fi connection which kept vanishing.I had to log in repeatedly on an iPhone so the signal was weak.
They also recommended a good restaurant, La Mathilde, close by for a special birthday meal.
We didn't try the breakfast choosing instead to have coffee and croissant on the main street.
The city has recently developed some excellent museums to showcase the major Roman sites that have been uncovered . They were great value at 7 euros for 4 museums.
The Goya gallery, iberCaja, was also very good . No other visitors when we were there and it was free!
Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: Facing the square is an attracive outlook. We had 207.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Zaragoza won my heart and the hotel was perfect to continue the mood of rich history. The hotel was very close to the main Plaza and cathedral, yet quiet with a lovely small plaza outside the front door. The room and bathroom were well appointed and spotless. The lobby was very modern, but elegant and blended into the past of the building. I could not have chosen a better place to stay while exploring the oldest parts of the city.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravellingB700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Palafox Hotel
Palafox Hotel
#14 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
San Pablo
Melia Zaragoza
Melia Zaragoza
#6 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#16 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia El Pilar

Property: Catalonia El Pilar
Address: Calle Manifestacion 16, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Zaragoza Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#5 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia El Pilar 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent hotel is situated in the historic centre of Zaragoza, a few metres from the Basilica of El Pilar. It is situated in a modernist building from the beginning of the 20th century. Besides offering guests a very pleasant stay, the hotel is considered as a tourist attraction in the city. It has 3 facades with decorative elements in wrought iron. The walls are made of brick, except for the lower part of the building, which is made of stone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia El Pilar Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing