We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good deal”
Review of Catalonia El Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia El Pilar
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really good deal”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Really good hotel, extremely well located in the old district, clean and confortable. Rooms are bit and confortable, extremly clean. Good hotel for business or leisure. No parking but free parking 10 minutes away

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    359
    59
    12
    6
See reviews for
176
527
41
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here as part of an escorted tour. It was great. The rooms were modern & comfortable. The location very central with a short walk to the cathedral & pedestrian streets. The breakfast provided was delicious and the staircase or elevator approach to its serving room stunning and contemporary. Would definitely stay here if we were in the vicinity in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabciH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Zaragoza is a wonderful city with much culture and this hotel is right in the middle of all the action. This centrally located hotel offers friendly service, a clean room and a solid breakfast at a very reasonable price. Overall, the price and quality makes this a no brainer when staying in this city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickbcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is very clean, very central and in many ways ideal. The rooms were slightly impersonal, but absolutely fine. We got an extremely good deal, it was a Sunday night, and they offered a deal on breakfast too, although we didn't take it up. My personal view is that the 'Modernista' style is slightly over-played, but that's a personal view, certainly not a criticism.
The staff were good and helpful.
Really close to the cathedral area (unless you're really interested, don't bother with the cathedral, especially on a sunny Sunday afternoon) and the market, which looked interesting, but was closing up by 10 a.m!
The only real improvement I could suggest is for the hotel to try to get a deal on parking, which was quite expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Located at the heart of the old city, Catalonia El Pilar was just a mere 70 meters away from all the attractions. We managed to secure a very comfortable and spacious room, the bed was soft and comfortable and the front desk service was friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Zaragoza.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger with more natural sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Ingky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

There's nothing to fault about this hotel, comfortable room, sound proof from road outside, black-out curtains, friendly staff and excellent value. Good tapas bar just over the road and well situated for the main square.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at El Pilar for a wedding. The staff was very helpful in ironing my suit the same day. They were similarly attentive to a maintenance request we made regarding the shower head in our room. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. Our room on floor 2 was very quiet thanks to double glass doors and effective blackout curtains. The room also had an extra door blocking off the entryway & bathroom which blocked noise from outside. The bed was comfortable but we found the pillows were a bit too hard; we used the accent pillows for sleeping. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osogris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,122 reviews
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 78 in Zaragoza
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Alfonso Hotel
Alfonso Hotel
#11 of 78 in Zaragoza
610 reviews
San Pablo
Melia Zaragoza
Melia Zaragoza
#7 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,408 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Palafox Hotel
Palafox Hotel
#13 of 78 in Zaragoza
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia El Pilar

Property: Catalonia El Pilar
Address: Calle Manifestacion 16, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Zaragoza Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
#5 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia El Pilar 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent hotel is situated in the historic centre of Zaragoza, a few metres from the Basilica of El Pilar. It is situated in a modernist building from the beginning of the 20th century. Besides offering guests a very pleasant stay, the hotel is considered as a tourist attraction in the city. It has 3 facades with decorative elements in wrought iron. The walls are made of brick, except for the lower part of the building, which is made of stone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia El Pilar Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing