We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Catalonia El Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia El Pilar
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent value for money. Helpful staff, very clean establishment. Lovely beds, good night's sleep. Didn't try the breakfast. Very centrally located. Free wifi and internet. Only comments are that in spite of hanging do not disturn sign on door for all three nights, I would find that room had been made. This seemed a little strange to me. I was in Room 214, which was large and spacious, would recommend, but on nights when people congregate in the plaza below, you might be woken up at night. Not hotel's fault, as triple glazed, but just beware.

Room Tip: Choose room 406 for a larger corner one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alvear24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaelpilar, Gerente at Catalonia El Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear guest,

We are truly grateful for your comments. They help us improving. We are happy to see that you have an overall positive impression of our Hotel.

In refer to the housekeeping service, we must say that quite often the guests forget to remove" the "do not disturb sign" when they leave the room in the morning. When the housekeeper sees the sign, we try to contact the guest to check if it is a mistake or if he/she really does not wish anyone of the staff coming into the room. In the very special cases that this occurs, we always recommend our guests to advise the reception staff, so they will make sure that nobody of the Hotel personnel enters into the room.

We hope to see you again in our Hotel soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Everything about the hotel was excellent, especially the staff very helpful and friendly, lovely bed and mattress. It was a great location and best value for money for our trip in Spain .
We should of stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

we were given room 414 with a nice view of El Pilar, but the room smelled of smoke and it's a pretty small room. I told the gentleman at the front desk, he sent housekeeping with air freshener -- not successful. In the morning, a new gentleman came on duty and allowed me to check out room 407 facing the square -- much larger room. We moved right away. This place is only 5 mins. away from the tram in one direction, the El Pilar(the main attraction) in another direction and the main drag (ALFONSO); an amazing selection of restaurants and cafes. I paid attention to the other hotels in the area like Hotel Sauce, Hotel Alfonso and hotel Maza. This place is in a better location(not sandwiched between many buildings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The two good things about this hotel are its location and the value. It says it's a 4 star hotel, but it certainly has no more than three star prices. Book via the hotel website and you get a welcome drink, bottle of water and early/late check in and out. It's very well located, being about 2 to 5 mins from just about anywhere you want, be it sightseeing, shopping or even access to major roads. Moreover, the whole hotel is a well converted old building and our room was smart, modern, well maintained and had just about everything you need. The only thing I would have liked was a hook or two for coats. The breakfast was extra and seemed expensive, but when we saw what was on offer, realised it represented good value. The choice was extensive and varied and if breakfast is your thing, then it would be easy to stock up for the day. Every morning, we kept finding extras we had not noticed before, more jams, more cakes, more pates, more breads etc etc.
The public areas were a bit stark in a minimalist modern way, but more than adequate and the staff very cheerful, polite and helpful.
Overall, highly recommended.

Incidentally, the airport bus service at 1.85 euros is good value, goes every 30 mins and drops you about 10 mins walk from the hotel, though the bus is a bit slow and gives you a guided tour of the shopping malls, industrial areas and main railway station. Going back we took the taxi which was 17 euros (much less than the figures of 22, 25 or more euros quoted previously).

Nice city, nice hotel, nice prices (drinks, food etc seemed excellent value) and even the people were nice.

Room Tip: Should not matter where your room is, as the rooms all have double sets of doors to small balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in mid October and loved the hotel. We had balcony room on the 4th floor (#406) facing the Basilica (actually the spires of the Basilica)... the room was comfortable and in excellent condition. Zaragoza is a wonderful city and we were within walking distance of many restaurants and major attractions. We would highly recommend this hotel ! ! !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suncityga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Really good hotel, extremely well located in the old district, clean and confortable. Rooms are bit and confortable, extremly clean. Good hotel for business or leisure. No parking but free parking 10 minutes away

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here as part of an escorted tour. It was great. The rooms were modern & comfortable. The location very central with a short walk to the cathedral & pedestrian streets. The breakfast provided was delicious and the staircase or elevator approach to its serving room stunning and contemporary. Would definitely stay here if we were in the vicinity in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabciH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,241 reviews
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 79 in Zaragoza
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#18 of 79 in Zaragoza
527 reviews
San Pablo
Melia Zaragoza
Melia Zaragoza
#8 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,527 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#6 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia El Pilar

Address: Calle Manifestacion 16, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Zaragoza Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#5 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#5 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range: £51 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia El Pilar 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent hotel is situated in the historic centre of Zaragoza, a few metres from the Basilica of El Pilar. It is situated in a modernist building from the beginning of the 20th century. Besides offering guests a very pleasant stay, the hotel is considered as a tourist attraction in the city. It has 3 facades with decorative elements in wrought iron. The walls are made of brick, except for the lower part of the building, which is made of stone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia El Pilar Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing