We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Catalonia El Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia El Pilar
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Clean, lovely rooms, courteous, helpful staff, and excellent complimentary breakfast. Best hotel we staying in, while in Spain. It is also a great location for sightseeing. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipyFelipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    350
    56
    12
    6
See reviews for
171
511
41
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leiria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for two nights in work, found the hotel very good with a great location, right in the midle of the comercial city center.
The rooms are nice, with free wifi, Good breakfast
However be advised if you travel by car you should add 20eur per day for car park on adjacent parkings.
If in Zaragoza I will stay again at El Pilar

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monteirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We only spent an over night here but would have stayed longer had our plans been different. The hotel is in a restored historical building near the central attraction in Zaragoza, the Pilar. It's also right down the street from the central market. Parking is in the public parking near the market. I wish there had been a place to pull up in front of the hotel in which to drop off people and luggage, but the nature of the area doesn't allow that. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in and check out was a breeze. The hotel restaurant has a wonderful breakfast spread for a very reasonable price. The hotel itself, on the inside, was modern and very well maintained. Temperature was comfortable, even though it was very cold outside. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Zaragoza.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kd4dna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaelpilar, Gerente at Catalonia El Pilar, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guest,

We are thankful for your comments. We are glad that you have a good impression of our Hotel.
Regarding your comment, we inform you that there is a reserved area to park the car for a while (10 minutes maximum) at the Street "Manifestacion" (right in front of the Reception Desk). There 3 cars can fit, in order to help our guets drop on and off the car.

We wish to see you again in our Hotel soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent value for money. Helpful staff, very clean establishment. Lovely beds, good night's sleep. Didn't try the breakfast. Very centrally located. Free wifi and internet. Only comments are that in spite of hanging do not disturn sign on door for all three nights, I would find that room had been made. This seemed a little strange to me. I was in Room 214, which was large and spacious, would recommend, but on nights when people congregate in the plaza below, you might be woken up at night. Not hotel's fault, as triple glazed, but just beware.

Room Tip: Choose room 406 for a larger corner one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvear24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaelpilar, Gerente at Catalonia El Pilar, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guest,

We are truly grateful for your comments. They help us improving. We are happy to see that you have an overall positive impression of our Hotel.

In refer to the housekeeping service, we must say that quite often the guests forget to remove" the "do not disturb sign" when they leave the room in the morning. When the housekeeper sees the sign, we try to contact the guest to check if it is a mistake or if he/she really does not wish anyone of the staff coming into the room. In the very special cases that this occurs, we always recommend our guests to advise the reception staff, so they will make sure that nobody of the Hotel personnel enters into the room.

We hope to see you again in our Hotel soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Everything about the hotel was excellent, especially the staff very helpful and friendly, lovely bed and mattress. It was a great location and best value for money for our trip in Spain .
We should of stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

we were given room 414 with a nice view of El Pilar, but the room smelled of smoke and it's a pretty small room. I told the gentleman at the front desk, he sent housekeeping with air freshener -- not successful. In the morning, a new gentleman came on duty and allowed me to check out room 407 facing the square -- much larger room. We moved right away. This place is only 5 mins. away from the tram in one direction, the El Pilar(the main attraction) in another direction and the main drag (ALFONSO); an amazing selection of restaurants and cafes. I paid attention to the other hotels in the area like Hotel Sauce, Hotel Alfonso and hotel Maza. This place is in a better location(not sandwiched between many buildings.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The two good things about this hotel are its location and the value. It says it's a 4 star hotel, but it certainly has no more than three star prices. Book via the hotel website and you get a welcome drink, bottle of water and early/late check in and out. It's very well located, being about 2 to 5 mins from just about anywhere you want, be it sightseeing, shopping or even access to major roads. Moreover, the whole hotel is a well converted old building and our room was smart, modern, well maintained and had just about everything you need. The only thing I would have liked was a hook or two for coats. The breakfast was extra and seemed expensive, but when we saw what was on offer, realised it represented good value. The choice was extensive and varied and if breakfast is your thing, then it would be easy to stock up for the day. Every morning, we kept finding extras we had not noticed before, more jams, more cakes, more pates, more breads etc etc.
The public areas were a bit stark in a minimalist modern way, but more than adequate and the staff very cheerful, polite and helpful.
Overall, highly recommended.

Incidentally, the airport bus service at 1.85 euros is good value, goes every 30 mins and drops you about 10 mins walk from the hotel, though the bus is a bit slow and gives you a guided tour of the shopping malls, industrial areas and main railway station. Going back we took the taxi which was 17 euros (much less than the figures of 22, 25 or more euros quoted previously).

Nice city, nice hotel, nice prices (drinks, food etc seemed excellent value) and even the people were nice.

Room Tip: Should not matter where your room is, as the rooms all have double sets of doors to small balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,103 reviews
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 78 in Zaragoza
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pablo
Melia Zaragoza
Melia Zaragoza
#6 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,397 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Palafox Hotel
Palafox Hotel
#14 of 78 in Zaragoza
602 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Alfonso Hotel
Alfonso Hotel
#10 of 78 in Zaragoza
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia El Pilar

Property: Catalonia El Pilar
Address: Calle Manifestacion 16, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Zaragoza Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
#5 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia El Pilar 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent hotel is situated in the historic centre of Zaragoza, a few metres from the Basilica of El Pilar. It is situated in a modernist building from the beginning of the 20th century. Besides offering guests a very pleasant stay, the hotel is considered as a tourist attraction in the city. It has 3 facades with decorative elements in wrought iron. The walls are made of brick, except for the lower part of the building, which is made of stone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia El Pilar Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing