We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, but now called "Las Torres"”
Review of Hotel Pilar Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pilar Plaza
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Perfect, but now called "Las Torres"”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Cannot fault this hotel. Right in the centre, opposite La Pilar, so really quiet, as it's all pedestrianised. Despite the rain we had a fantastic time -hotel lent us umbrellas. Spa was small, but fine for us. (Maybe they should make more publicity about having a spa - we, like many others, choose hotels with spas!) Staff friendly and helpful, price really reasonable. We didn't bother with breakfast in the hotel, as there are so many bars and cafés nearby. Would definately return, if ever in Zaragoza again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    180
    98
    31
    17
See reviews for
57
282
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, NJ
Level Contributor
297 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

You can't beat this place for location!! It is smack across from the Cathedral.
Our room was in the front, and there was a small demonstration going on - hence the loud noise when going to sleep. But we managed just fine.
This hotel is quite charming, but lacks a bit on the service side. The room did not have a hair dryer. When I asked at the desk if I could have one, I was given a look as if I asked for a UFO!!

But - the staff was helpful in directing us to where we could fine a restaurant and also how to leave the morning we were to drive out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLiv-NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel is in a superb location, directly across from the magnificent Basilica El Pilar. It offers very good value for money. Rooms in the front overlook the attractive plaza and the Basilica, a first class view. We opted for a room in the back to enjoy a more quiet night's sleep. We were on the third floor (room 319), and it was indeed completely quiet at night. The airconditionng worked very well, and to our delight was completely quiet. The room featured a huge king size bed which was very comfortable. The room was relatively compact, but very functional in terms of storage. The bathroom has a dated look, but also fully functional. There were a few missing tiles on the floor, not sure why they don't just replace them? Staff were very friendly. The hotel is within short walking distance of all the sights, and the main bar and restaurant streets. If arriving by taxi, ask to be dropped off behind the Basilica, the hotel is a short 100 meters directly across the pedestrianised plaza (next to the Toursit Office). We thoroughly enjoyed Zaragoza. It's a beautiful city and in addition to the religious landmarks there are some top notch museums. We stayed two nights and would have been happy to stay a third if our itinerary had allowed. We would definitely return to Hotel Las Torres. It is in the very best location, and we slept great in the super comfortable huge king size bed. Also, WiFi (free) reception was very good in our room. The only negative was the very slow elevator.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front overlook the attractive plaza and the Basilica, a first class view. We opted for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alixz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is an old hotel with modern rooms. Immediately across from Cathedral of Pilar and so on that famous plaza. Parking forty yards away under the plaza. As we are not persnickety this hotel fit our needs perfectly. We loved Zaragoza - the only city in Europe named after Caesar Augustus. If you like Spain and haven't made it here yet, if you do on next trip you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felipepelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

we walked in and got a room in mid day , the room is black and white ,very fancy and the bathroom has a shower had multi shower heads from walls and sides and top. very cheap for the look and comfort.it was located just cross walkway from basilica De pillars. sounds of cathedral was enchanting.american travelers, remember basilica was there before us and will be there long after us. enjoy this city has a lot to offer, will stay at this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougndoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Location was great with views from the room unbeatable. Found room to be funky and adequate-we got out on to the Square asap after arrival. Great tapas scene just behind the hotel. The midnite bus tour starts here as well. We stayed out till 2 pm on the Square- it was simply beautiful.
Maybe when the hotel is fully renovated and all, we will have to pay double but for now, we definitely recommend it to everyone.

ps: despite the dark gothic reception, the hotel was completely safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square if available-the view of the pilgrims will astound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IkeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

On the good side, the location is central.

My Lonely Planet guidebook recommended this hotel. That was the one and only time we picked a hotel from that particular guide book.

The staff were unfriendly. I asked if I could have a room with a view of the Plaza and was told "No". No explanation as to why not.

The decoration is black and white. If you have teenagers who are Emos or Goths, they will love this place. If you are anywhere near grown-up, you will perceive it for what it is: - a tatty hotel that has been painted with the hostel crowd in mind.

Lots of things in the room were broken, scratched or dented. There appeared to be no fire exits.

The spa in the basement is rubbish. It is a whirlpool bath and a tiny "not very hot" sauna, along with some random pebbles thrown everywhere. It is so dark it feels more like a cannabis den than a spa.

The spa shower with radio in the rooms was to say the least, naff, although I did like the "Rock & Roll Radio" station.

If you are 16, stay here. If you are adult, find a different hot

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockabilly-Raz-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,023 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,104 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#16 of 78 in Zaragoza
461 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#9 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,097 reviews
Ibis Zaragoza Centro
#15 of 78 in Zaragoza
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pilar Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pilar Plaza

Property: Hotel Pilar Plaza
Address: Calle Nuestra Senora del Pilar 11, 50720 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Hotel Las Torres)
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pilar Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pilar Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Torres Hotel
Las Torres Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing