We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sauce
Nearby Hotels
US$81
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$102
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Diagonal Plaza Hotel(Zaragoza)(Great Value!)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Zaragoza Centro(Zaragoza)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palafox Hotel(Zaragoza)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alfonso Hotel(Zaragoza)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pilar Plaza(Zaragoza)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Catalonia El Pilar(Zaragoza)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,318)
Filter reviews
1,318 results
Traveller rating
759
454
87
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
759
454
87
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtortillassmall hoteltapasexcellent valuegreat coffeespanish omeletterecommend hotelold townsuperior roomlight sleeperspent nights herea lovely staycharming hotelcar parkaround the cornerfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 1,318 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Leaving Madrid on our way to Barcelona we wanted to break-up the long ride with a stop-over in Zaragoza--great choice. On arrival to our hotel there was a mix-up on the reservation, but not to worry because the hotel also manages an apartment complex just two blocks away. They gave us a fully equipped apartment for the same price of the room. The apartment was beautiful, and close to the main square where there is a wonderful cathedral and river walk just on the other side of the cathedral. The staff at the hotel was great and gave us several choices to find Tapas later that evening. We found a good spot where we ate outside, under the clear sky with a waxing moon---perfect. The hotel offered breakfast the next morning, and once again the staff was great and the full breakfast gave us a healthy start to our next destination in Barcelona. We only stayed the night in Zaragoza, but it was a good night and I would return here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfer02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear guest from the US,
We love the headline of your review! And it is wonderful that by reading your lines, sounds very tempting to come and visit Zaragoza. Thank you for inviting other travelers to discover our beautiful city, and in this case with a very romantic point of view. The moon, a river walk, the cathedral at night....beautiful, like a little Paris :-) !!....and TAPAS! Just next to the hotel there is a maze of narrow street called " El Tubo" full of tapas bars and small restaurants.
We take you word and hope you return back for a longer stay :-) .
Kind regards from all the team!
Isabel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

As is the case with a lot of the reviewers here, we chose to stay at Hotel Sauce because the reviews were excellent. We were delighted to find that all of the reviews were well founded!

After we had booked (using the hotel's own website where there are great offers available), I emailed Isabel to ask about accessibility, as I am disabled (walk with a cane), and to query if we could check in a little earlier. Isabel was friendly and gracious, she sorted out a decently accessible room for someone with a mobility impairment and since we were staying in the low season she was able to allow us to check in a bit earlier. Her emails were warm and friendly, everything a chain hotel is not.

We arrived, tired from our journey, and were greeted warmly. The room we stayed in was simple, clean and comfortable, nicely decorated and immediately relaxing. We had a lovely time with family in Zaragoza before returning to get some rest. The beds and pillows were eminently comfortable and we had a really good night's sleep.

In the morning we were greeted with a smile, fresh coffee and a buffet of wonderful breakfast foods! The tortilla Española was stupendous and made fresh, the pastries light and delicious, and there was yet more choice in the way of fruits, breads and cheese.

Hotel Sauce is in the middle of the 'old' city so pretty much all of the interesting historical sites are within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. It is superbly situated and on the same street as the art gallery. There are also a number of nice bars and cafés very close by and possibly the best ice cream shop I have ever seen just around the corner.

From start to finish the staff at Hotel Sauce were friendly and helpful and our stay in their hotel was delightful. I have stayed in many chain hotels, in the UK and Spain, and I have never experienced such a lovely and affable attitude.

We will be staying there as our hotel of choice whenever we visit Zaragoza. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Francesca and James from Birmingham:
Thank you so much for your lovely description about your experience in our hotel.
We are a "humble", small, family run hotel, and we are very lucky to host the best guest in the world :-) We love them and they are the reason why we feel happy every working day.
And definetely, if you come to our hotel you can´t miss the opportunity to taste our Tortilla Española at beakfast time. Made with love and care.
Best regards to all our English guest and friends, that are many.
All the Sauce Team and Isabel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The hotel was absolutely fantastic for 55 Euros a night it is unbeatable, The staff where more than helpful and the ladies are very Guapa :)

I wouldn't change anything at all and would class it much higher than a 2 *

If we ever visit Zaragoza again we will definitely stay in Sauce

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaandjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Fiona and Jason,
And thank you Jason :-) All the girls in the hotel we feel very flattered when you say that we are " guapa". haha and I add that we are also " simpática" :-). Hope you have the chance to come back because I owe you a beer for that :-) .
Thank you for giving us such a good mark!
We say hello to all our friendly guests from the UK that are always more than welcome in our hotel. Best regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed in the hotel as part of the commemorations of the Siege of Zaragoza. It was our second time and once again the really friendly and cheerful staff, the comfortable rooms and ideal location made it a good experience. Central Zaragoza can be noisy, but if that bothers you just go outside and join the party! The hotel is only a minute from the Plaza Pilar, close to some good tapas bars and just twenty minutes by taxi from the airport. The breakfast room was being rebuilt on the morning we left so that will be modernised for your visit too. (Plenty of meat, tortilla, cheese and pastries) We'll certainly use the Sauce for our future visits to the city. Hasta la proxima as they'd say locally.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be a bit noisy but there is good air conditioning so you can keep the windows shut if that bothers you.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJRDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear guests from the UK,
Thank you so much for your warm lines. It is very rewarding for us you sent us your feedback and to know that you had a pleasant stay one more time. Thank you for choosing us again!!
That is right, our cafeteria and reception have been rebuilt. Now, new furniture and new decoration. Hope you like it when you come back!!
Best regards to all our guests from beautiful UK from all the Sauce team.
Isabel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We found the Hotel Sauce thanks to Trip Advisor. It has an excellent, central location in the heart of old Zaragoza in a traditional building. Although the hotel itself is a little old fashioned, it is clean and has very comfy beds and our room had a nice bathroom. We stayed in the 2-bedroom family suite, which was perfect for us with our two young children, and excellent value. The breakfast was also good - simple, but obviously home made and served personally by the lady on duty. It was also great to have a real coffee for a change, instead of a nasty powdered thing out of a machine! The thing that really sets the Hotel Sauce apart is the level of staff - all of the people that we met were extremely attentive and not just happy to help, but intentionally putting themselves out to make our stay run smoothly. As other reviewers have said, the parking is tricky and very difficult to find, but when you have someone accompany you in person, and guide you down each ramp, you can hardly complain! Highly recommended if you want good value for money and excellent service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom family suite, which was great value and perfect if you have young children
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountainbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Dear guests, We are more than happy to know that we have succeeded your expectations after reading our reviews on TripAdvisor. We should like to thank you for the invaluable trust you place in us and your support in recommending our hotel to other travelers. Hope you and all the family have the chance to come and visit us again. Kind regards from Zaragoza,
Isabel and all the Sauce Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews