We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel in Convenient Location”
Review of Hotel Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sauce
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
469 reviews
345 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel in Convenient Location”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a problem finding this hotel. Our room was clean, simply furnished, and clean. The staff was professional, but not ingratiating. Breakfast was good and served in a cozy room. The garage is about half a block from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear friends from Seattle,
We really sorry because you had some problems finding our location.
Our reception 24 hours and our staff is in your disposal to guide you with all information that you need: location in your arrival, places to visit, timetable of monuments, restaurants, etc.
We are a little family hotel and we work every day for comfort and relax of your customers. Our rooms and facilities are simple but details, warmth and human treatment is in every corner.
Thanks for share your commentaries with us and the rest of travelers!
Saray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    389
    73
    8
    6
See reviews for
300
480
43
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
424 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We read about this place on TA and thought it looked OK...it was. Nothing special, nice people, thought they were more hip than they are.
Location is fantastic! Room is average..could use face lift...cost in line with what it is.
We LOVED Zaragoza...went there because it's between San Sebastian/Barcelona.
Everything about the old part of City is wonderful. TA won't let me just write about Zaragoza so I will try to do square Plaza del Pilar..Church...Basillica del Pilar and the area all around here. One of our favorites of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear friends from Chicago,
We are glad reading about your fabulous stay in our city.
In fact, Hotel Sauce is in a privileged location in the heart of the city, very near of the best cultural attractions of Zaragoza: the Cathedral of la Seo and the Basílica del Pilar. Best location to visit our city!
Thanks for your commentaries,
Saray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I booked here as the reviews were good and I liked the fact that the manager was taking notice of negative feedback and trying to address customer complaints. Always a good sign. From first email it was a positive experience. Staff are helpful, rooms are clean and the breakfast is good. The lady who serves the breakfast is a gem. A young grandmother who loves children. The location is ideal. For great tapas just walk out the front door, turn left, walk thirty metres and turn right. You are in a lane of tapas bars. Go inside and enjoy. By the way, I had a car so I took the parking and was very glad I did.

Room Tip: Take the breakfast and use the parking if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phidipidies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guests from Australia,
Thank you so much for you feedback! It is very important for us to take care of our guests from the very beginning till the end when they leave our hotel. I don't know in other hotels but at Sauce hotel there is a permanent atmosphere of HAPPINESS. Our guests and the team that we work here we all have fun together. No boring routine, we enjoy life!
Best regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel is very centrally situated in central Zaragoza. It has an odd, rather tight, parking arrangement down the street a little but you do not need a car after arrival as the hotel is easy walking distance to tourist sites, restaurants and tapas bars. Our bedroom was clean and tidy if not particularly spacious or sound insulated, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly. Good value for money too.

Room Tip: Possibly a top floor room would have less noise from fellow visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guest from Glasgow,
It is very funny, because in English and in French, "Sauce" means the dressing for the food. But if you translate it into Spanish the name for the hotel is "Willow Tree hotel" .So many times our foreign guests ask us with a smile on their faces and sense of humor that it is an amusing name for a hotel. When we chose the name in 1988 and my parents inaugurated the business, we were not aware that this could happen. But now, our name makes us different and attracts foreign travelers.
Thank you so much for your time and for you priceless opinion.
Kindest regards from all the Keptchup team :-)
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We (family of four) stayed in this hotel for a one night stopover from Bilbao to Barcelona. Our campervan was too big for their car park and we had exchanged emails about this before arriving but they allowed us to park right outside the hotel entrance for the night. The staff were really helpful, the hotel was clean and everyone was very friendly. We had a good night's sleep in the family room which was like a mini apartment - two separate bedrooms and shared bathroom. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Fantastic central location for touring Zaragosa. We really enjoyed out stay :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rknox2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guests from Oxford,
It was a pleasure to host you in our hotel. Let us suggest those travelers that may be reading these lines and travel with a van or a car with a roofbox to inform us in advance when making the reservation, so that we can assist you in a better way with you parking needs when you arrive. At the same time, our hotel is also very convenient for families with children. Thank for the photo :-) what an adventurous family!
Kindest regards from Zaragoza from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Took a week out driving around northern Spain and came across Hotel Sauce in Zaragoza. As per other comments the hotel has a perfect location just minutes from the impressive Basilica and Roman bridge as well as the small town centre. Hotel provides underground car parking opposite although a bit of a tight squeeze if you have a big car. Rooms were large, clean and bright with nice furniture and likewise the breakfast area was of a good standard. The staff were helpful with directions, etc and the lady serving breakfast brought out more food when she saw our three boys. Overall one of the best hotels we stayed in during our journey through Spain

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Simon,
Thank you so much for the highest 5 star score and nice description about your stay with us! Yes! We are situated in a priviledged location. And we are very proud of our city because there is so much to see and discover...you will be delighted if you come and visit Zaragoza, a real treasure. We get so happy and flattered when you say that we are one of the best hotels you stayed in during your trip!This fills us with satisfaction and enthusiasm!
Kindest regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is well located in the middle of the old town. There are lots of restaurants and sights nearby.

I had requested a quiet room but got one facing the street. Actually, traffic was not a problem but the noise inside the hotel. There was a lot of door-slamming during the night, and it was easy to hear what people spoke (or shouted) in the corridor. The room was air-conditioned but I didn't manage to change the level (pushed some buttons but nothing changed). The room was never hot but slightly too wam during the night.

Otherwise, the room was fine - rather small but with all the basic furniture and even a little balcony. The bathroom was nice and clean. I didn't find a socket in the room, so I had to charge my mobile phone in the bathroom, which was not so practical.

The breakfast was the best one I had during my stay in Spain - all the basics and some local specialities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maril_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guest from Helsinki,
One of the most important requirements that a hotel should guarantee is a good rest and sleep, so we are very unhappy and we really apologize because this was not the case. The only solution would have been to phone directly to front reception desk so that our receptionist may have called the attention to your noisy neighbours. In relation to the air conditining and the socket, It would have been a good idea to phone front desk dialing number 9. We offer 24 customer service. We think of you and we find inmediate solutions to your needs.
Hope you have the chance to come back and compensate you with a better stay.
Kindest regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,026 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 78 in Zaragoza
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pablo
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#11 of 78 in Zaragoza
621 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#16 of 78 in Zaragoza
461 reviews
Ibis Zaragoza Centro
#15 of 78 in Zaragoza
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Property: Hotel Sauce
Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 33, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zaragoza
#2 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing