We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sauce
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is ideally placed for the centre of Zaragoza, withing 5 minutes of the Basilica and on the doorstep of Il Tubo for places to eat. I slept with the window open but was not disturbed by noise. Rooms are smallish but clean. Breakfast was typical continental style freshly made and simple - special mention should go to the the tortilla, some of the pastries I tried and the fresh bread with tomato and garlic - all were delicious.

What marks this hotel out however, are the people; everybody was always helpful, always did that little bit extra to make sure you got what you needed and every time with a smile. If I ever go back to Zaragoza this would be my hotel of choice

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Simon,
We are very happy to be your first choice. We always think that a smile makes sense. Work is a very important part of life so is good to enjoy. Our attitude is to share that joy with our work mates and our guests.
The tortilla is a Classic dish of our hotel, and the ingredients are : potatoes, eggs and olive oil. You can find in our Website the detailed steps of the recipe. Mmmm. :-)
Warm regards from all the team,
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    361
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
273
450
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Romana, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

What an amazing find, a true gem of a hotel.
A stunning hotel in a truly stunning city.
Decent room size, a fantastic shower and a location that offered easy access to all the local attractions.
Certainly this hotel just oozed charm. Yes, not the newest, it didn't have everything, but it did not matter, such was the wonderful ambience.
But what really made this place a five star review was the staff. It does not get any better than this and many many hotels that I have stayed in should send their staff here to get an understanding of how a hotel should be run.
Delightful.

Thank you all. You made a lovely stay into an amazing stay in what is one of the most delightful cities I have ever stayed in.

Will I return? Oh yes indeed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BallouBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Andrew, we have no words. We just LOVE your review.
Now each member of the team knows that they are brilliant, because they have all read your opinion. They feel admired for their dedication, service and passion for their work.
And a happy united team makes a hotel that shines.
THANK YOU for your support!
Best regards,
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

But really only because I used an old account. This review is remarkably similar to the one below!! Stayed only one night in early April at this great little hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location just tops and was just round the corner from the Basilica and although the hotel is amongst the bar district, we had no problems with noise at all. Rooms are comfortable and I would say modestly sized rather than small but very clean and cosy. Breakfast was a buffet and great value and the ladies were very helpful (even tried to teach us a little Spanish). Zaragoza is a great place to visit and the Basilica was astounding. Only had time for one night as we were passing through but for sure somewhere I would recommend and I will be coming back to for longer. Thanks to the Sauce team for making our stay a good one.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Ha ha, thank YOU twice Mike :-)
Warm regards from all the Sauce team!
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed only one night in early April at this great little hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location just tops and was just round the corner from the Basilica and although the hotel is amongst the bar district, we had no problems with noise at all. Rooms are comfortable and I would say modestly sized rather than small but very clean and cosy. Breakfast was a buffet and great value and the ladies were very helpful (even tried to teach us a little Spanish). Zaragoza is a great place to visit and the Basilica was astounding. Only had time for one night as we were passing through but for sure somewhere I would recommend and I will be coming back to for longer. Thanks to the Sauce team for making our stay a good one.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guests from Edinburgh,
One more time we think that our guests from the UK are adorable :-) . We love the words " great little hotel" because as you say, most rooms in our hotel are not very spacious. Our cafetería, reception and lounge are small as well, but with a personal, cosy and warm decoration. It is not a Sheraton chain :-) but Sauce is a special experience worth living once in your lifetime :-)
Thank you so much for recomming our hotel to other travellers and we would love to see you again in the near future . Best regards,
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

A really excellent, family run hotel. Stayed two nights whilst attending exhibition in Zaragoza.
Staff are excellent, and very friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Parking is underground, but very tight.
When we arrived, parked outside, and the guy on front desk offered to park car for me, and I picked up the keys in morning.
The following evening one of the girls came to car park to guide me in.
Room was lovely, comfortable double bed, and free wifi. No noise at all during night.
Breakfast to die for - worlds best tortilla, fruit, cheeses, hams, fresh bread. Superb coffee.
All in all a lovely hotel, and lovely people. And very reasonable rates too !!! Cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank timbo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guests from Kent,
Thank for your kind lines. Everyone of us in the Sauce team feels very supported by your words. Frankly, we feel very close to most of our guests, because in our small hotel you can breathe a happy and familiar atmosphere. And we know that our British guests really appreciate this quality of our business and at the same time our personal and professional customer service.
Sincere thanks and hope you can come back and visit us again.
Best regards ,
Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a great experience !
We would never have visited Zaragoza if not our daughter was living here. And we would have missed not only a great city full of attractions - we would have missed this cozy hotel and it's splendid staff !!!
It may not offer the latest in technology, no spa or pool, no sterile business athmosphere, no pure show - but honest and friendly care for the guests.
In fact, feeling welcomed already started with the communication during booking and it remained as such throughout our whole stay. If you don't feel at home with these great people, you can not be helped.
We had brilliant five days here. Muchas gracias to the whole team !
However, a positive feedback is not complete without paying a special tribute to the fantastic Pilar:
What a start into the day with you at the breakfast buffet !!!
Muchos saludos a todos !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guests from Germany,
We love your headline! And we are happy to know those five days in Zaragoza were wonderful holidays for you. Hope your daughter is enjoying her experience in our city.
Thank you for your enthusiasm, for your kindness and all the friendlyness in your words. Pilar feels very flattered. And it is true Pilar is pure happyness and sweetness, 24 hours a day, 365 days of the year! Fantastic woman! The rest of the team was also very pleased to serve you and to meet you!
Best regards, :-)
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Have just stayed at Hotel Sauce for 3rd time. The team in this hotel are unbelievable- friendly ,attentive ,fun and helpful. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel is comfortable and well located. I loved it

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suchal1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest from Newcastle,
I have passed on your words to the rest of the team to congratulate them for the excellent work the do day after day. It is very rewarding to know that we have a magnificent and best team to rely on. Always with that personal human touch and professional all at the same time. For all the team, each day is a new challenge and we face work with excitement and passion. We also feel very lucky to host the nicest guests in the world :-) Thank you for choosing us again. It would be a pleasure to host you again if you have the chance to come back to Zaragoza.
Kindest regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Zaragoza Centro
#14 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#8 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
San Pablo
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#11 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Property: Hotel Sauce
Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 33, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing