We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Aviles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Palacio de Aviles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
NH Collection Palacio de Aviles
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aviles
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Aviles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 days at this great hotel on business in February 2014. Great location in the old part of Aviles, close to numerous bars & restaurants, this hotel really was a pleasant surprise. Room was spotless, bed was very comfortable and the buffet style breakfast was varied and set you up for the day. If you find yourself in the area you must stay here (was very quiet out of season but I understand from speaking with the friendly reception staff that it's a popular wedding venue so this may not always be the case !)

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Say_Cheese2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Concepció... G, Director de Recepción at NH Collection Palacio de Aviles, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Costumer

We want to thank you for your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor, it encourages us to keep improving every day

We appreciate your comments about our breakfast service,our priority is that our guests enjoy and exclusive service

We hope you'll enjoy our hotel or another NH hotel in future trips

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    289
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
201
450
33
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
259 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is situated in the old Palacio de Ferrera and has an old part with suites and a modern part with sizeable rooms. To the back of the modern part is a park which used to be the gardens of the noble family that used to own the palace. In February there are plenty of special offers and we opted for a room upgrade which gave us a very large room, another room for the wardrobes and a bath room. Altogether it was a pleasant stay and we will come back - in fact we have stayed here before on a few occasions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Best hotel staff anywhere in world.

Excellent hotel in all aspects .

Room

Amenities

Location

Food

Staff

Everything was excellent & cannot fault any part of our stay in this hotel.

We have been using this hotel at least twice per year since the hotel opened & have always found the facilities excellent .The staff members have always been the most accommodating , helpful and pleasant staff we have ever met on our world travels.

We consider this hotel like our second home


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

An excellent hotel, and fantastic breakfast. I was amazed there is no iron or ironing board available in the room, or indeed the whole hotel! I was forced to use the laundry service which is ridiculously expensive - it would have been cheaper to buy new shirts and socks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank evendapto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Reviewed this place six months ago purely as a diner at the gorgeous La Capilla restaurant. We always promised ourselves a return visit to stay as guests – we have just returned from that trip.

We treated ourselves to a junior suite in the more modern annexe at the rear of the property. It was offered at a very attractive rate on their own website. It was light, spacious and well equipped yet still carrying the tradition of dark wood furnishing common to this area. Noise insulation from the outside world was good, also room to room and room to corridor. Free wi-fi was provided with a good strong signal all around the hotel.

Parking is underground, part of the main Plaza Espana car park beneath the main square. Entry is via Calle Ruiz Gomez. The rate is EUR15 per 24-hour. The car park is well lit and has a permanent security presence. There is direct lift access to hotel reception.

La Capilla restaurant, as previously reviewed is a very pleasant treat but with typical late Spanish dining hours i.e. 1330-1530 and 2030-2330.

My only issue in an otherwise delightful stay was the lack of a conventional lobby/lounge/bar arrangement. There is an “open bar” whereby soft drinks, coffee, tea and crisps & nuts are available self-service but if you want a beer in the early afternoon or evening you will be going elsewhere ! I find that odd as although this is very traditional small town Spain, this property is a major business player hosting conferences and functions with a wide European clientele. On that basis – it sure is not a five star.

We used it as a touring base for the stunning Asturias coastline. For that, it was perfect. Aviles is a pleasant destination in its own right – despite rather harsh comments from other reviewers. Very little English is spoken and you will need to make some effort. Very basic English is spoken by a couple of the reception staff and the Maitre D’ at the hotel. Despite that, we felt safe, very welcome and found local people to be most courteous and generous.

Room Tip: More modern annexe rooms to the rear will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tromsopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very good value for the level of comfort and location is totally unbeatable in Aviles. Staff are very helpful and speak good English. The 'old' part of the hotel is very beautiful - like walking through an art gallery. I liked the complimentary coffee, soft drinks and snacks available to guests. Stayed there during a local fiesta taking place in the Playa and were not disturbed by the noise. Large comfortable beds and good sized rooms. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zinfandel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel was welcoming from the moment we stepped into the lobby. Desk clerk was ready with helpful area information, showed us to the Complimentary open bar which include coffee, water , soft drinks, cava nuts and chips.

The building is a former palace converted into a hotel, much like Spain's paradors. The major difference was the reasonable price. Great value!!!




  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank TampaHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviles
1.6 mi away
Hotel Zen Balagares
Hotel Zen Balagares
#3 of 12 in Aviles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silken Villa de Aviles Hotel
16.2 mi away
Castillo del Bosque la Zoreda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro
Hotel Don Pedro
#2 of 12 in Aviles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
14.0 mi away
NH Gijon
NH Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Valdes
Hotel Palacio Valdes
#5 of 12 in Aviles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Aviles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Aviles

Property: NH Collection Palacio de Aviles
Address: Plaza Espana 9, 33402, Aviles, Spain (Formerly NH Collection Palacio de Ferrera)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Asturias > Aviles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aviles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Palacio de Aviles 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Collection Palacio de Aviles in Aviles, Spain, a Collection hotel, is situated right in the heart of the old town on the city's main square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Aviles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Avilés

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing