We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok when you get there but tricky to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sercotel La Borona
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ok when you get there but tricky to find”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

A short distance (10 minute drive) from the centre of Gijon and convenient to town and port when you get there. An average hotel, clean, comfortable and decent service. Breakfasts are fine. My main issue was finding it- the address is a Road number with a hyphen which my satnav didn't have on the keyboard, The hotel name also has a strange symbol on the letter 'n' which I couldn't type. Also, every other Sercotel for 300km was in the satnav's memory system except this one. After asking at another hotel I found it. It is also on a one-way road adjacent to the main freeway which makes access even more tricky.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zotsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    53
    45
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
56
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We caught the ferry from Gijon to Poole and as a first time on this route we looked for a hotel close to the ferry terminal.
La Borona was ideal for this, about 10 mins drive.
The hotel is new, very helpful and pleasant staff. Very adequate breakfast and a good value dinner.
Built within a new industrial estate, the views were poor, but if a quick stay, in a clean environment together with underground free hotel parking is what is required it ticks the boxes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our second visit. Good location for traveling, safe parking. Close to large supermarket. Helpful staff. Breakfast, Dinner, Room service all very good. Would definitely use again. Thank you for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel after arriving on the ferry from Poole, got in at 20:00 so needed a stop over before driving on to Badajoz. The hotel is located on the outskirts of the town and is convenient for access to the major routes south, it is located in an industrial area so unless you want drive to a restaurant your only option is to eat at the hotel. We did and the food was okay and reasonable priced. It has wifi and secure parking and I would use it again as a one night stay before driving south.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calmfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed overnight. Food in restaurant was excellent and very good value. The drinks in the bar were also very reasonable. Free underground parking and spacious rooms. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is an OK hotel is you don't want any personality but just basic comfort. Don't expect any view. The parking garage under the hotel is like a dark cave - half the lights didn't work and it was hard to find your way around. Close to big supermarket where you can get a bus into Gijon (Mon-Sat) - better than a taxi which was very expensive. Go to the supermarket café for breakfast for a fraction of the price it is in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gijon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

When I read the reviews of this hotel on Tripadvisor I thought it was just the ticket for my fleeting visit to the town as I passed through. It has four stars; free parking; price reasonable; other reviews not too bad. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our stay.

The first challenge was finding our way to the hotel. The GPS took us around in tiny circles through little narrow streets and could not find its way. Not the hotel's fault, of course, but the address itself was virtually impossible to locate in the GPS - it took ages and quite a lot of guesswork. The road is AS-II - that is letter i + letter i. In the end I located it it using the postcode. There is in fact only one road which takes you to it so take great care when driving there.

Location: I was somewhat stunned to find that this bright shiny new hotel is located in a derelict commercial area - the building next door was literally a demolition site and this was one of the views from the bedroom window. It is actually in the middle of nowhere really, and placed at the side of the equivalent of an urban motorway which was particularly noisy in the night - no let up of traffic here I am afraid.

Parking however was free and there seemed to be plenty of it, both outside or underground.

The bedroom was a typical utilitarian room which you would find in the average three star hotel - yes three star not four but perfectly clean. The bathroom was all decked out for wheelchair access; I had not asked for a disabled room so I have no idea whether this was just an accident or whether they are all like that. However the problem was that there was absolutely no flat surface in the bathroom to put anything on except the top of the lavatory cistern and the sides to the wash basin - not even a glass shelf over the basin - so nowhere to put your wash bag etc etc. The shower ran straight on to the floor and into a drain, efficiently enough but the whole floor tended to get splashed and where to put the shampoo down after you had put some on your head??? And then you have to find the shower gel - where is that now?

So far so mediocre. The first real shock came when we decided it was our gin and tonic time and we needed some ice. So my partner went down to the reception to ask for some as there was no sign of any ice machines anywhere - something we would have expected from a hotel of this rating and which would have been provided de rigueur in the USA. Well this request proved to be a major incident! The receptionist could not understand at first what was wanted and obviously found this request somewhat annoying! The bar seemed unattended. Eventually she went off, midst the copious phone calls and other interruptions, and came back with a full bag of ice straight from the freezer to where it had been delivered from the wholesalers. As my partner walked away with the ice (which as it turned out to be the best ice we have ever had!), the receptionist commented "and I will put that on your bill for you". We were absolutely mortified by such a comment. We have stayed in many hotels worldwide but nowhere anywhere have we been charged for some ice for our drinks. We mithered over this all evening and it rather spoiled our visit. In the event no charge appeared on the bill - luckily for everyone as I was bracing myself for an international incident as I was not prepared to pay for it.

Sleep quality - not good. We needed the windows open as the air conditioning was not so good and accordingly had to put up with the traffic noise. More to the point I had to watch my partner attempting to catch the mosquitos which were eating us to death.

Food: the hotel menu was disappointing, limited and uninteresting, apart from being over-priced. We decided eat out and then realised why the menu was over-priced. Basically there is nowhere else to eat for literally miles! We decided to go to the restaurants listed in the GPS - the closest being about 2 km away as the crow flies but over 6 km by car. Good job we did not walk as it was closed, as was the next and the next and we ended up right down the other end of town, many miles away where parking was almost impossible.

On the good side, however, breakfast was a brighter moment. Notwithstanding that the dining room was in a windowless basement, the lady managing the breakfast service was a bubbly jolly person who was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast itself was okay, much the norm but no eggs and bacon. The orange juice however was real - actually tasted like oranges.

To sum up I think this is a very particular hotel, really a typical overnight commercial hotel for travelling salesmen and not for holiday makers, which is what we were on this occasion and most definitely not for visitors without a car - believe me you will need it! I do however feel that three stars would be more appropriate. And if you like a bucket of ice during your stay, this may be a bridge too far.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliasclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Villa de Gijon
#17 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Begona Park Hotel
#32 of 47 in Gijon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Gijon
#11 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
La Arena
Hotel Principe de Asturias
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sercotel La Borona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sercotel La Borona

Property: Hotel Sercotel La Borona
Address: Ctra AS-II, No. 1602 - Km 22.5, 33392, Gijon, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sercotel La Borona 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sercotel La Borona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing