We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue Santa Rosa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were very impressed by the room which was a good size for a city hotel.the breakfast,staff and location would certainly return if we revisited gijon.this hotel was certainly good value and the complimentary breakfast was a great bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

The rooms although smallish are really clean and tidy. The location is perfect for the town but it can get very noisy at night on the weekends ( but that is Spain for you ...they just love to party!). My only slight unhappiness was that the shower was not very powerful. Otherwise a perfect 3 night stay. Breakfast is fantastic! And I think wonderful value.

Room Tip: Try one at the back? It may be quieter away from the bars?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel has a great location which is very near the old city, the port, the beach, shopping and bars and restaurants. It is clean and the breakfast was good and there was parking (for a fee) under the building. However, the rooms are very small and not comfortable for relaxing during down time. The bar of soap is not even big enough for two people to shower, and we had to ask for 2 bars for the remaining days which were supplied. Tissues were not replaced, even thought they were gone. We inquired at the desk about how to get to the Botanical Gardens, and were directed how to get there. When we arrived, they were closed. Apparently the desk staff did not know that they were closed on Mondays. I would expect more and would not stay there again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Regardless of price this hotel has the lot .... Excellent city central location in an area of the city packed with character and life .... Yet 150 metres from a fabulous bay / beach with a huge open promenade to enjoy.

The staff were happy and well trained ... We both thought a lot of care and thought had been put into how the hotel looks, feels and functions.

There is a lively all day cafe attached to the hotel. Your excellent breakfast is taken there amongst the locals starting there day. The rooms were on the large side and airy and the bedding a delight and the mattress gave us a solid nights rest.

Easily qualifies in our opinion for an excellent review ... BUT then, when you factor in the price of the room including the breakfast .... We paid just over £35 for two persons in April ... A correct review title should be excellent Plus plus plus!

The parking is on the expensive side .... 11.50e per night ....But you get a completely secure underground car park accessed via the Hotel lift and over all the cost for the room and car park is such good value. Please see my tips re arrival with a car..... Last word don't think about trying to park elsewhere ..... Parking in the city in general is probably the hardest I have ever come across.

Room Tip: If you arrive by car .... Set the sat Nav to Calle Santa Rosa where the Hotel is situated. This appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DannySE16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRACIA A, subdirectora at Hotel Blue Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear DannySE16
Thank you very much for your comments.We hope to see you again in future times.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Hotel Blue Santa Rosa is a lovely hotel in city centre Gijón. We only had one night in the city and chose Hotel Blue for its location as well as parking. Parking at the hotel cost €11.50 but was well worth the price as space is limited in the city. The rooms were spacious and clean and appeared to be newly refurbished. Our room on the 3rd floor had a nice little balcony which looked on to the main street ahead. Breakfast came included in the price as well as free wifi which worked well from our room. The continental selection was very good for a Spanish continental breakfast (various toasts, muffins, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese), however there was not a hot breakfast option for those looking to have eggs etc. We had a wonderful trip to Gijón and would recommend this hotel as it's great value for money, clean and very central. Will stay again!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRACIA A, Adjunta a Dirección at Hotel Blue Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Estimated Laurin L

Thank you so much for your comment, we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
We would like to welcome you on your next visit to Gijón.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We agree with most of the comments/reviews previously posted. Location is very good and clean and funtional. Hard to know what else is available in Gijon, but this hotel was a good alternative for us on our recent trip. Location is very good and allows one to walk to the old town, the port and the beach. Gijon gets more interesting the more time you wander around. The hotel offers parking which is important in the small town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhardyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRACIA A, Adjunta a Dirección at Hotel Blue Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Thanks you very much for your comments. It is a pleasure for us to get your satisfaccion.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Everything you will read is true. Location is perfect, service is excellent and very friendly, free wifi and the fun experience to put the car in the lift to park it in a secure place! We spent the extra 25 euro per night to get the brown room on the top floor with a celling window and a lot more space and it worth every penny!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passeportplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#2 of 47 in Gijon
521 reviews
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
747 reviews
AC Hotel Gijon
#12 of 47 in Gijon
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Gijon
#3 of 47 in Gijon
743 reviews
Centro
Hotel Blue Marques de San Esteban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Santa Rosa

Address: Calle Santa Rosa 4, 33206, Gijon, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Price Range: £40 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern and comfortable hotels are fully-equipped and conveniently located in the city centre.All Blue establishments offer free high speed WIFI connection.Blue establishments are characterized by service quality, strategic location and top-level facilities and have been certified by the main tourist quality programmes.Enjoy the unbeatable price-quality relation of Blue Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Blue Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing