We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes and no”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“yes and no”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

silent location of the city, not far from the coast and city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aktan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    351
    113
    21
    20
See reviews for
146
283
20
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The hotel is very nice and the staff is friendly. The room is also nice and has the usual amenities of the Tryp hotel chain. It is not located in the city center, but it is a nice area, with a large park just in front. The soccer stadium is only 200 m away. My only criticism concerns extras, which are charged to high prices. I paid 63 euros for the room and the breakfast was 14 euros. Same for the internet: they offered approx. 10 euros/hour or 20 euros/day for wifi connection. I did not use the covered parking (I parked in the street) but there is also a fee for that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in February. We were warmly greeted by the hotel reception staff. We booked a tryp bedroom. We had a lovely view of the park across the road. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. We had a good size bathroom with a bath.
We opted for the bed and breakfast package and the breakfast was good, it was a buffett. Very helpful wait staff who bought us lovely hot coffee. There was plenty of different food to chose from, cereals, yoghurt, cooked breakfast, bread, toast, cake etc, all very good.
The hotel is in a good location, only a couple of minutes walk to the beach, shops, cafes etc. It is in a lovely area with the park just across the road.
We enjoyed staying at this hotel so much we have booked again for May and we are looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coops14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2005

Tryp Rey Pelayo is probably the best option in town. Official rates are quite high, but you can get a low rate in their website almost always. We have been there two times and we will stop there again if we visit Gijon in the future.

Roms are very comfortably and big, with nice furniture and big bathrooms, perfectly equiped. The Lobby and the Cafeteria are also comfortable and nice and the staff is always very kind and polite. But the best thing in this hotels is its impressive breakfast. It is usually included in room rates, but if you do not have it, book it eithout a doubt. It is the best breakfast i have tried in a Spanish hotel: regional cheeses, anchovies, a lot of differents pastries, cakes and puddings, salads, sandwiches, eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, fruits, regional desserts, Spanish omelette, fresh fruit juices, wine, local cider and also champagne.

It is not in the heart of the city, but it is in front of the park in a quiet area where you can find several cafes and tea tooms, 100 m. away from the stadium and at a walk distance (2 minutes) from the beach and a shopping and dining area (with lots of sidrerias, the local restaurants, italian restaurants and a mall). Downtown is 15 minutes away walking. A great place.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jorgegc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2004

We stayed at this hotel in conjunction with attending the Paul McCartney concert held in May, 2004. Sound from the set-up at the stadium was therefore heard--an event there might disturb if at the wrong time, though the rock music was probably much much louder than most events would be. Otherwise the hotel was very quiet--we heard no sound from the halllways at all. The unusual window gave us a nice breeze and we left it open the entire time we were there. The stadium was within walking distance--just a couple of blocks, there was a lovely park across the street, a grocery store and pharmacias within a block and 1/2. In a nice neighborhood. The room was modern but welcoming with nice wood touches and had very nice marble look bathrooms with bath, shower, and bidet. The breakfast buffet was quite good, and included in our package. Desk staff spoke decent English, and housekeeping staff were quick and responsive. Not too far from the beach or central shopping area, within walking distance for most. Closed garage was easy too use with hotel key access--but could use better lighting. Room service was also quick, though menu a bit limited. The hotel's "cafeteria" -- basically the bar area--served food all day, even during siesta. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nterview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2003

I have stay in this hotel in the last 4 years. Eventhough rates are above 4 stars average level, ($100.00-$110.00 US$) the facilities, location, security and service are above average to excellent. The hotel clientele are principally business people and some vacationers like us that spend 3 to 4 weeks every year.The ambiance is quiet and the facilities are modern with all commodities but not luxury. Is a 4 stars hotel. I highly recommend it.I look forward for better rates for extended stays, and room availability. Can you help?

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
673 reviews
NH Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
710 reviews
Abba Playa Gijon
#7 of 47 in Gijon
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Gijon
#13 of 47 in Gijon
297 reviews
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#4 of 47 in Gijon
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel

Property: Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel
Address: Avenida Torcuato Fernandez | Miranda, 26, 33203, Gijon, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Melia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Gijón

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing