We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I Could Have Seen More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wish I Could Have Seen More”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I spent only a few days here on a short business trip to Gijón. Unfortunately, I was VERY sick and I really got to spend a lot of time in the room. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. While not in the center of the town, there are plenty of little markets and a pharmacy nearby. The park next door to the hotel looked very pretty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlton858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola M, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Google Translation
Hola Carlton858!

Te agradecemos este maravilloso comentario que nos has posteado!
El equipo del Tryp Gijón Rey Pelayo desea enormemente que esté totalmente recuperado de su enfermedad y le anima a que siga confianzo en nosotros para sus próximas visitas a Asturias pues así podrá disfrutar del mayor pulmón verde de la ciudad, el parque Isabel La Catolica, situado justo enfrente del hotel Tryp Gijón Rey Pelayo.
Esperamos poder saludarle personalmente la próxima vez que visite Gijón,

Un Saludo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    341
    110
    21
    19
See reviews for
143
280
19
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This clean and modern hotel is located a short walk from the beach and just about anything in Gijon. There is a lovely park across the street and many cafes within walking distance. The room was spacious, the bath large, and the bed comfortable. There was a minibar in the room that we used as a refrigerator without complaint from management. There is a parking garage in the building but street parking is probably not hard if you can read and understand Spanish. The staff was pleasant, efficient and professional.

The two strikes for this hotel for me were that the room had no workspace at all, and the internet was so awful to be not useful. It worked inconsistently, was often down or would stop working, required constant reconnection, and only worked on the side of the room closest to the door; we had to move the arm chair to the entrance hallway of the room so that both of us could get any work done. It took 20 minutes simply to connect to Gmail and open one message, much less accomplish anything else.

When we complained at the desk we were told that there had been a problem and that it had been fixed. The only difference was that it occasionally would let us connect. I have used free community based wifi that was more consistent than the one provided here. The only thing it had in its favor was that it is free to all guests; had I been paying for this wifi, I would have demanded a refund.

When I checked in, I made a point of mentioning that we were here on a business trip and that we were working, in the hopes that the room that we would be given would be appropriate to those needs. To be fair, I don't know if any of the rooms have work space at all but ours certainly did not. Trying to prop ourselves up with pillows on the bed caused the bed to slide forward gradually, meaning that we had to get up every 15-20 minutes and move it back.

If you are coming to the city for a concert or football match or other purpose that does not require you to spend a lot of time in your room, this will be a fine hotel for you. But it is not an appropriate hotel for the business traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR_NYC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Modern hotel, designed for those on Business. Car parking is below the hotel and there it is secure as at check in I could see that it was monitored by cctv. Reception was quick and efficient from very pleasant staff.
The room was what you might expect from such a hotel. It was clean, reasonably well appointed and had all the items you may need, toothpaste, razor etc.
I had no problem with the slight distance from the centre of town as this meant that the area was quiet. However there were bars etc within a very short walk and the beach was but 10-15 mins away with the centre of town about another 10 mins. The football ground for Sporting is about 400m away. A park is nearby. Gijon did not show its best face when we were there due to the weather but all in all the hotel is a very good choice, vast breakfast room with lots of choice. About 30m by car to the airport at Aviles so if looking for somewhere to stay the night before a flight this is ideal. Would have been 5 stars but just didn't like the tobacco smell in the corridors which were set up for smoking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruffwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAVillanueva, Gerente at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for giving your opinion about our hotel.
We are very happy to know you have enjoyed a nice stay!
Best regards.
Juan A.Villanueva
Tryp Rey Pelayo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel is about 20min walk away from the old town centre, which is pretty nice (worth visiting). I walked through the streets filled with shops and bars/restaurants and then the beach.
Parking in the building
check-in was fast, good staff
room a bit dated design, but more than decent (size and comfort). Looked out on the inside terras, which this year in May was not yet functional.
for Wifi, take a cheatsheet from the reception with the details.
breakfast was a good buffet,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srm_56347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorTrypCoruna, Gerente at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We hope to see you again soon!!
Best regards.
Juan A.Villanueva
Tryp Rey Pelayo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is a 30 minute stroll through gardens and the beach to the centre of a city unspoiled by tourists.
I do not take liquids on flights, therefore, to have complimentary dental and shaving material as standard in the rooms, is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and the hotel is quiet. Breakfast is plentiful with a choice of eggs, excellent bacon and a full continental breakfast with wonderful Spanish bread.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben R, Gerente at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Iain G ,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kinds words about our hotel Tryp Rey Pelayo
We would like to show our gratitude for sharing your opinions in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is extremely important to us, since we take your suggestions into consideration in order to achieve improvements in our service.


We hope to greet you soon in our hotel or another one Melia Hotels international .
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Spent a Friday/Saturday night here at the beginning of December.
Was able to walk everywhere from the old part of Gijon, Cimavilla, to the stadium (Las Palmas was in town) just down the street.
Comfortable, clean room, great breakfast buffet, and an inviting lobby with large windows overlooking the park across the street. Parking available in the garage located below the hotel.
This hotel was a recommendation from a friend of mine who lives in Gijon, and I would recommend it to anyone considering a visit to Gijon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week. They never mentioned that the air conditioner would only work from 4pm until 12 midnight.
I found this to be quite disrespectful. Who want's to sleep without the air conditioner in the middle of summer. My children and I would wake up all sweaty in the mornings. Also, who wants to go on vacation and have to sleep with their windows open and have to hear the city noise.
I would also like to mention that the hotel is completely outdated. All of the furniture in the rooms, lobby, and restaurant are in dire need of replacement.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoHorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben R, Gerente at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Mr. Orlando:

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Tryp rey Pelayo

I do apologise for the inconveniences caused because of the air conditioning

We take note of your comments and I hope your next experience with us will be entirely satisfactory.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
NH Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
AC Hotel Gijon
#12 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#4 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Abba Playa Gijon
#7 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Parador de Gijon
#6 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel

Property: Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel
Address: Avenida Torcuato Fernandez | Miranda, 26, 33203, Gijon, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Melia, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Gijón

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing