We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Hotel of Choice in Gijon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I travel to Gijon on business occasionally and the Tryp Rey Pelayo is my hotel of choice in the town. I would also use it for leisure travel if the chance arose because I trust it.

It is not on the seafront but a short walk of less than ten minutes will get you there. Similarly, the downtown area is but a short stroll away. A really lovely municipal park is literally over the road and I often go for a walk by the lake there to chill out. Finally regarding location, it is 400m from the football stadium - this is a GOOD thing, because the ground level there is home to several restaurants and bars and a good sized Alimerka supermarket (take ID if you intend to pay by card).

The hotel is well appointed, very clean and reception staff are both friendly and helpful - I really can't fault them. Rooms are a good size and are well equipped; the WiFi is free as well (coded vouchers needed from reception) with an OK signal. Little toiletry extras in the bathroom are a thoughtful touch (shaving kit, toothbrush and paste, sponge, comb etc.). There is secure underground parking but I don't know what the charge for it is.

The breakfast choice and quality is superb (cost 15 Euro in 2014 if not included in your rate). For dinner, only burger/chicken caesar salad type options are available in the bar or a pizza can be delivered using a card in your room. They used to offer a full dinner service but I guess that this proved uneconomic. There are plenty of restaurants in town though and some even serve food at "northern European dinner time" as opposed to the later hours (typically after 9pm) preferred by the Spanish.

Local colleagues have urged me to try the ABBA and the NH but the Rey Pelayo works for me when I'm on business and if it ain't broke, don't fix it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola M, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Blocker1 Hello!

Thank you we've spent a few minutes of your time writing such a long review about our hotel. Especially thank you for your loyalty in TRYP Gijón and your comments about our staff, quality service and our breakfast, we work hard to get excellent result. For your next business travel we recommend the suggestion of the day for only 12€. We hope to be your landmark hotel in Gijón for business travel or pleasure! See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

he hotel is away from the centre, but walking distance.. something like 20minutes.
service is really friendly,
help at he reception was fast and good, they were kind enough to let me try my substandard spanish.

room is good size, nice if you have park view. slept well.

parking is free, and they open when you hit the buzzer.

breakfast is decent; eur 8 when you buy at the reception but eur 15 when downstairs...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srm_56347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola M, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014
Google Translation

Hola Srm56347,

Soy Paola Muñiz, Guest experience del hotel Tryp Gijón.Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, nos sentimos muy felices de que su estancia entre nosotros fuera de su agrado y que tanto las instalaciones como el personal hayan estado a la altura de sus expectativas.

Será un placer volver a recibirles la próxima vez que visiten Gijón.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were two adult ladies traveling through Northern Spain. We couldn´t find a worse spot for an overnight. Arrived at 5,00pm and had no one to help us with our luggage. At 7,00pm had nowhere to grab something to eat. At 7,00am had no breakfast. I haven´t been in a hostel before, but I would dare say this is worst than a hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bea_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola M, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello Bea_001,

Thank you for yor time and to let us know yor comments. We are sorry because during your stay in our hotel has not been met your expectations. We'll study your feedback to try to improve the service we offer to our costumers because your satisfation is our main goal.

We hope to welcoming again our Tryp Rey Pelayo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a working trip.
Team was friendly and efficient.
Rooms and bathrooms large. Very Clean! Beds not the best.
Very nice to see the attention to detail with their travel toiletry packs free of charge in the bathrooms (toothbrushes, razors, sponges, etc).
Wifi connection was free and speed was acceptable.
Location was ok, not too far from the beach (about a 10min walk).
Will come again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielFromSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola M, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013
Google Translation

Hola Daniel,

Te agradecemos este maravilloso comentario que nos has posteado. Es un placer para nosotros descubrir que su experiencia fue realmente satisfactoria.

Esperamos volver a verte muy pronto en el Tryp Rey Pelayo,

Un Saludo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I spent only a few days here on a short business trip to Gijón. Unfortunately, I was VERY sick and I really got to spend a lot of time in the room. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. While not in the center of the town, there are plenty of little markets and a pharmacy nearby. The park next door to the hotel looked very pretty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlton858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola M, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013
Google Translation

Hola Carlton858!

Te agradecemos este maravilloso comentario que nos has posteado!
El equipo del Tryp Gijón Rey Pelayo desea enormemente que esté totalmente recuperado de su enfermedad y le anima a que siga confianzo en nosotros para sus próximas visitas a Asturias pues así podrá disfrutar del mayor pulmón verde de la ciudad, el parque Isabel La Catolica, situado justo enfrente del hotel Tryp Gijón Rey Pelayo.
Esperamos poder saludarle personalmente la próxima vez que visite Gijón,

Un Saludo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This clean and modern hotel is located a short walk from the beach and just about anything in Gijon. There is a lovely park across the street and many cafes within walking distance. The room was spacious, the bath large, and the bed comfortable. There was a minibar in the room that we used as a refrigerator without complaint from management. There is a parking garage in the building but street parking is probably not hard if you can read and understand Spanish. The staff was pleasant, efficient and professional.

The two strikes for this hotel for me were that the room had no workspace at all, and the internet was so awful to be not useful. It worked inconsistently, was often down or would stop working, required constant reconnection, and only worked on the side of the room closest to the door; we had to move the arm chair to the entrance hallway of the room so that both of us could get any work done. It took 20 minutes simply to connect to Gmail and open one message, much less accomplish anything else.

When we complained at the desk we were told that there had been a problem and that it had been fixed. The only difference was that it occasionally would let us connect. I have used free community based wifi that was more consistent than the one provided here. The only thing it had in its favor was that it is free to all guests; had I been paying for this wifi, I would have demanded a refund.

When I checked in, I made a point of mentioning that we were here on a business trip and that we were working, in the hopes that the room that we would be given would be appropriate to those needs. To be fair, I don't know if any of the rooms have work space at all but ours certainly did not. Trying to prop ourselves up with pillows on the bed caused the bed to slide forward gradually, meaning that we had to get up every 15-20 minutes and move it back.

If you are coming to the city for a concert or football match or other purpose that does not require you to spend a lot of time in your room, this will be a fine hotel for you. But it is not an appropriate hotel for the business traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR_NYC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Modern hotel, designed for those on Business. Car parking is below the hotel and there it is secure as at check in I could see that it was monitored by cctv. Reception was quick and efficient from very pleasant staff.
The room was what you might expect from such a hotel. It was clean, reasonably well appointed and had all the items you may need, toothpaste, razor etc.
I had no problem with the slight distance from the centre of town as this meant that the area was quiet. However there were bars etc within a very short walk and the beach was but 10-15 mins away with the centre of town about another 10 mins. The football ground for Sporting is about 400m away. A park is nearby. Gijon did not show its best face when we were there due to the weather but all in all the hotel is a very good choice, vast breakfast room with lots of choice. About 30m by car to the airport at Aviles so if looking for somewhere to stay the night before a flight this is ideal. Would have been 5 stars but just didn't like the tobacco smell in the corridors which were set up for smoking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruffwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAVillanueva, Gerente at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for giving your opinion about our hotel.
We are very happy to know you have enjoyed a nice stay!
Best regards.
Juan A.Villanueva
Tryp Rey Pelayo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
AC Hotel Gijon
#11 of 47 in Gijon
320 reviews
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
771 reviews
NH Gijon
#3 of 47 in Gijon
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abba Playa Gijon
#8 of 47 in Gijon
395 reviews
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#2 of 47 in Gijon
535 reviews
Parador de Gijon
#6 of 47 in Gijon
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel

Address: Avenida Torcuato Fernandez | Miranda, 26, 33203, Gijon, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gijon
Price Range: £54 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Gijón

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing