We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for Gijon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Quinta Duro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Duro
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay for Gijon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

A very nicely restored country house on a five acre estate. The location is just outside the city centre, close to the Jardin Botanico (recommended). A very nice change from the small and often cramped city hotel rooms. Very comfortable and the host Carlos was very helpful.

Just down the road there's a sidreria / tavern with good local food and vino. Town is only a five or ten minute drive and the nearby jardin botanico is recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTWer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosDuro, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Duro, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, I'm sure its useful for other travelers.
Personally encourages me to continue on the same line of attention.
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    40
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
87
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

This gated estate is full of history and charm… We stayed for one night and we were reluctant to leave… The host helped us with touring, places to eat, and even hooked us up with a place to stay in the next town that we were going to stop. We will return anytime we are in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dino777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosDuro, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Duro, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for your opinion, is always very easy to acknowledge the positive reviews like yours, but also with negative criticism, learn other points of view should be met if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liedekerke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

It's a nice and cosy hotel. It is an old historical building, so not everthing is perfect but that is the charm of that kind of an hotel.
The breakfast is more than ok and the owner (who servers it by himself - asks every morning if you need more of something else).
The strong point of the owner : he is very friendly, warm, hospitality and knows an answer to ALL your questions about Gijon and the region.
Also the environment is beautiful. The trip to the Picos of Europe only takes 1 hour and to go out for a diner in the beautiful town of Gijon only takes 10 minutes.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVLiedekerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosDuro, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Duro, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion, I have much to learn about Gijón and Asturias, to be well informed, but I try to improve and learn more in order to make it even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Carlos made us feel incredibly welcome, and I can only say this was a brilliant place to stay. A lovely evening was spent watching Red Squirrels in the gardens. A short trip from here to the town of Gijon, and the local cafes, which I think was called The Dindura? Not sure of the spelling, but super to watch the evening Paseo.


  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmdouglas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosDuro, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Duro, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you very much for your consideration and effort in placing your opinion, are always welcome and can help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Beautiful old house in large well kept grounds on edge of Gijon city. The owner is welcoming and very helpful. We were stopping overnight on a motorbike trip and there's plenty of parking behind the house, the grounds are secure with and electric gate entryway.
Being the one in the group who booked the hotel I was under pressure and am pleased to say I sneedn't have worried.
The rooms are fantastic, the location excellent and the setting makes you feel that you're living above your budget.
We walked to a nearby bar for drinks and food and found that to be very good although the owner said he preferred another bar further along so next time we'll try that one!!
My one and only moan: When we went in for breakfast there was breads, jams and butter on the table and we were offered coffee and juice but no sign of any other food
It seems that you have to ask for what else you would like to have.
I asked for some meat and cheese and got it straight away.
Up until then everywhere on the trip had laid the buffet options out in the dining room.
I understand that for freshness etc. it's better kept stored however being advised to ask would have helped as we, conservative English, are a bit shy to ask and will just go away and grumble!!

Room Tip: They are all equally fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosDuro, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Duro, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion, his visit was very nice to me, I will try to better inform customers about the possibilities of breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

this was a big disappointment as tripadvisor had this rated #1 for Gijon. I haven't been to any other hotels in Gijon, but I can speak for this one. we were in spain for 2 weeks and this was by far the worst hotel experience. the house looked good driving up, quiet, big, peaceful setting. we were greeted by the owner who initially turned us away because we were traveling w our adult daughter and there wasn't a room for 3. his appearance was not professional, he was very sloppy looking and after being at the house, it's basically how he runs his business. he put us in 2 rooms on the main floor. one of the door handles was broken off the door, and one of the bathtubs had such a clogged drain that taking a shower meant standing in your shower water, gross. he put a family of 5 (3 children) above us and we heard every step (creaky floors), every word, every cry and every scream all night and in the morning. there is no AC so it was extremely stuffy. the breakfast was horrible. it was the only place in spain that served INSTANT coffee, (nescafe). no eggs, just stale bread and the owner hopped out of his chair to stand over you as you went to the table to grab a piece of melon. when my daughter went to eat (my husband and i went for a walk) the owner hovered over her, asked her to sit at a table that still had used plates on it (there was no one else in the room at the time, just empty tables so she initially sat at a clean one). while we were on a walk he told my daughter what time check out was even though he already told us. the only reason this review isn't a "terrible" rating is because there were no bed bugs and nothing was stolen.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here, make sure you're on a top floor. anything below will hear every step w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleytawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosDuro, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Duro, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your opinion. I respect it but I obviously do not agree with it. I would like to clarify three of your complaints, and I also wonder and would like to ask you why you did not make these complaints during your stay, even as you were asked on departure whether you had enjoyed your stay. You obviously did not like my personal way of managing the business and other people might not find it to their liking – I will try to improve as much as possible.
The door handle unfortunately came loose on one of the two screws the first time it was used by the client; however, it still worked to open and close the door and we were not able to repair it that same day because it was a public holiday. Naturally, you found it in perfect condition the next day.
We have never served Nescafé instant coffee at our hotel, or any other brand of instant coffee; however, it is available to clients who request it for their breakfast, either decaffeinated or regular. Maybe you asked for decaf coffee and in that case the only option might have been Nescafé, or maybe we did not interpret your tastes correctly.
Regarding where your daughter sat for breakfast, I have to clarify that your family had a table laid for three, but when you left the table, your daughter sat down without asking at a table that was laid for five people and took the cakes on that table. I simply asked her to sit at her parents’ table – I am sure that in the US she would have not sat down on a table without waiting to be seated in the correct place.
Finally, I appreciate the freedom that Tripadvisor gives for everyone to write their opinion on what they deem convenient, then everyone will draw their own conclusions, and we will never be able to meet our clients’ expectations 100%.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hotel Quinta Duro is a perfect place for a peaceful getaway. The host, and owner, Carlos and his wife have turned this generational family mansion into the perfect retreat. The rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms are of good size. The grounds are well taken care of and wonderful to walk around.

It is very easy to drive from the hotel into Gijon to restaurants or other attractions and the botanical gardens are very near the hotel.

Breakfast in the morning is typical for the region and generous.

When visiting the Austuriaus area we would defiantly go back to the Quinta Duro.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosDuro, Propietario at Hotel Quinta Duro, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you very much for your consideration and effort in placing your opinion, are always welcome and can help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Parador de Gijon
#6 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
NH Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casona de Cefontes
#18 of 47 in Gijon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#4 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Duro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Duro

Property: Hotel Quinta Duro
Address: Camino de Las Quintas 384 | Cabuenes, 33394, Gijon, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Quinta Duro 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, with capacity for 22 guests, situated in the over 300 year old building of the complex, is the result of a consolidated experience in the hotel industry, always adapted to satisfy the wishes and needs of our guests with respect to tranquillity and comfort. It is situated inside a 20.000 square meter park for the guests exclusive use. All rooms have telephone, access to Internet, TV, minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quinta Duro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing