We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location in Gijon”
Review of Abba Playa Gijon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abba Playa Gijon
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Beveren - Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top location in Gijon”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Had a good nightrest in this hotel, good bed and pillow, quiet room (back of the hotel with view on swimming pool and countryside) excellent buffet breakfast, friendly service, free wifi on room (renew code every 24h)
Top location, just cross the street and you are on the beach, recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonym079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your comments, it´s a pleasure to know that your stay in abba playa gijon hotel was nice. We hope to see you again in the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    178
    58
    12
    5
See reviews for
64
159
9
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. In particular, location was great, being right on the beach and the great boardwalk. You are really walking distance to everything. Center of town is a bit far but I really think not too bad as took us only about 15-20 min and we love to walk. Rooms are a little small but I think typical size for Europe. Was clean, quiet, and had everything we needed, even a king size bed. Bathroom was a good size. Views of the beach were amazing from the hotel but unfortunately our rooms faced the pool. We did not mind as did not spend much time in room. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Nice to have Wifi. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast one day only and was excellent. Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest,
After reading your comments, I would like to thank you for taking a little time to make public its valuation over that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel abba Playa Gijon.
We hope that during your next visit to the city of Gijon, our hotel is your choice.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

the service is good and the staff quite attentive, rooms good and facitlites like pool larg but gym a little small.
location is good along the beach, but a 20 minute walk to the old centre or 5 minutes in a taxi.

my only comment is that the want to charge you to use the hotel car park - 15 euro per night a bit tight I think as its their car park, plus lots of car parking space on the road outside for free!

mattresses also very hard

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
It´s a pleasure to know how was your stay in abba Playa Gijon Hotel.
The price of parking per night are similar prices to other car parks in the area.
Sorry about the mattresses you would have found very difficult, we aprecciate your comments.
We hope that in your next trip to Gijon you decide to stay in our hotel.
Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very good location, not directly in the center but at one side of the coast. Ocean and beach view from front rooms. Bathrooms are with bath instead of shower, enough size rooms and nice breakfast. Will prefer again.

Room Tip: please ask front side rooms to teh beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aktan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your comments in relation to your stay at Hotel abba Playa Gijon. I hope abba hotels have met your expectations and be a hotel of your choice for upcoming trips.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We just moved to Gijon 2 weeks ago, and been living in a service apartment Los Moros 41, which were very nice, we when found our own apartment, but had a two day gap between moving from one to the other, so we decided to stay at Abba Player which was very nice. It's located near the beach and a very nice park, walking distance to the very center, with nice shops and cafes. Gijon is a lovely town and we are excited to spend the next 2-3 years here. :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view, 3th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaleneDansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Director Comercial at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear guest,
we are very proud about your comments. It is a pleasure for us to know about your valuation you enjoyed your stay at Hotel abba Playa Gijon. I hope your stay in Gijon for 2 or 3 years is fantastic and you take good memories of our city.
Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely position close to beach, shops, bars, and restaurants galore, with views of the coast and harbour area. Good sized rooms both clean and well appointed.
The restaurant in the hotel had an interesting and varied menu, I quite enjoyed the Asturian bean stew with sausages, bit like a casulet without the duck.
Breakfast was a pretty well laid out buffet of cold meats and fruit etc, normal European, but there were eggs and bacon to be had for the diehards amongst us. Doityourself in all ways including toast and coffee.
The free and complementary wifi just about worked at .10 Mgps but for some reason email was only available at an enhanced pay for rate, poor show theses days and a ripoff.
Very modern, very average, few other guests at the time of our visit just after Easter.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear guest,

Is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at our hotel was very nice. We hope to welcome you soon at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This was my second stay at abba playa, last time i stayed here for two weeks during Nov 2011. This time i stayed here for 4 weeks. Location wise this is one of the best hotels in Gijon. Half of the rooms are facing sea, with excellent view.
Staff at hotel is very friendly and is always ready to help you. Staff understand and speaks very good English, I needed some advice to visit Barcelona, they were kind enough to provide me all relevant information.
Breakfast at restaurant is good and they have good WiFi connection in entire hotel. During spare time you can use their Jacuzzi, sauna Bath & Swimming facilities. As an improvement opportunity, I would request them to provide some more English channels, so that during long stays, foreign customers (like me) can stay updated as well as enjoy during spare time.

I recommend you to opt for this hotel (preferably sea facing room), your experience of stay will multiply, on a sunny day, open your windows and relax.

Room Tip: I recommend you to opt for this hotel (preferably sea facing room), your experience of stay will mul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itismyplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for dedicate your time to comment about our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that your stay in abba Playa Gijon hotel was great. About the english channels list on tv, we will try to solve it for improving your next stay.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
NH Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
710 reviews
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Gijon
#13 of 47 in Gijon
297 reviews
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#4 of 47 in Gijon
489 reviews
Parador de Gijon
#6 of 47 in Gijon
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Playa Gijon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Playa Gijon

Property: Abba Playa Gijon
Address: Paseo Doctor Fleming 37, 33203, Gijon, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gijon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Playa Gijon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Abba Playa Gijón is situated next to Inglés Park, 165 ft from San Lorenzo Beach. It features an outdoor swimming pool with a sun terrace. The rooms at Abba Gijón enjoy views of San Lorenzo Beach, Isabel La Católica Park or the pool. Each is equipped with air conditioning, a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom with amenities. Guests have access to a fitness center, sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Massage treatments are available and there is a free towel service from the front desk. Castiello Golf club is 3 miles from Abba Playa. The center of Gijón is 5 minutes away by car and Asturias Airport is less than 30 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abba Playa Gijon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Playa Gijon Gijón

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing