We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alcomar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alcomar
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The location of Hotel Alcomar is its saving grace. The location could not be closer from the beach, the maritime walk, and the going-out areas. The atmosphere of the hotel is elegant, giving the impression that it's a nicer hotel than what you paid for. I found the mattresses to be uncomfortable and our room was very stuffy. The view from our room was not good -- a boxed-in patio between buildings. I would stay here again for the value, but ask for a room with a good view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolltide7749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    59
    41
    16
    11
See reviews for
40
69
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great location on the beach, expensive overall with dated atmosphere. If you get a room with a view of the ocean like we did, then you are in for late nights due to the disco/bar club directly across the street that opens at 11pm and closes around 5 AM! beware.
The staff is pretty friendly, one crabby lady with glasses always seem to be bothered if we asked questions. The bar staff was super nice and excited to chat everyday.

The rooms are decent size, as you walk in everything is wood, like victorian polished wood. There is a mud room area, then the bathroom which is american size with a great shower. our room had two small single beds which was pretty funny for us.. the beds were comfortable enough. The room has very small fridge (enough for a few bottles of water and that's about it) and they give you water, coke and a fanta free..

Overall I'd say it was "ok" .. would I go out of my way to stay there again, probably not.

Room Tip: if its high season and you want quiet - don't get a room near the front or with an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OC6nRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

First off, in this day and age I am pleased to see that there are still 3-star hotels that will make you feel like you are staying in what you'd expect from a more expensive place.
Right from the off, as you walk in you will be impressed with the huge, elegant and vintage-looking lobby - which is complete with leather settees, statues and cabinets filled with antiques.

The hotel will strike you for its general smartness and old-world charm. Staff are also incredibly polite, attentive and sympathetic towards requests of various kinds. They will also speak Spanish in a nice, slow and clear way which shows perceptiveness towards foreign visitors - something not to be taken for granted.

Several rooms come with a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean and, in that respect, Alcomar is probably the best-placed hotel in Gijon. Not only is it right by the beach and the beautiful promenade, but it is also strategically located in the middle of the 19th century quarter, very close to all shops, monuments, squares and amenities.

Back to the rooms, albeit a bit spartan, they all look clean, comfortable and elegant and decorated with wood panels and tasteful vintage-style furnishings. All rooms come with what you'd expect (and more) from a 3-star hotel, including soaps, toothbrushes and the rest. Most impressive was the free minibar which offers soft drinks.

Possible fly in the ointment is the fact that weekend nights may be very loud. Spanish people love their late-night (and I mean, late, well into dawn) partying and drinking. It is common for groups of teenagers to hang around the square just opposite the hotel, so you'd better only hit the sack if you're extremely tired or you may have trouble nodding off.

On another note, I don't know if it's a standard offer, but when we stayed, the hotel price also included breakfast in the downstairs bar, though - as in common with most 3-star hotels in Spain - this was no buffet or eat-as-much-as-you-like smorgasboard - just a hot drink and a small but honest selection of pastries which you have to order.

Overall, a very pleasant stay in an unassuming but charming city in the often overlooked North of Spain.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

This Hotel was directly across from the Beach and just around the corner from the shops. You could easily walk to the shops and restaurants - many to choose from and around some of the sites from here. Not far from the Railway and Bus stations either maybe a good 15-20 minutes walk at most. Very clean, friendly English speaking and helpful staff. the only draw back was there was no air conditioning and we had to sleep with our windows open which meant we could hear all the noise from the street down below. Perfect though for a nice walk - stroll along the waterfront and before or after your meal. Loved the food in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaylett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

Wonderful hotel in the middle of the waterfront district...easy to walk anywhere from here. Nice Large rooms with good sized baths...not your average european hotel room. Older perhaps but very well kept with a great staff. Most speak some English which was very helpful as most of our group spoke LITTLE Spanish.

DO NOT get a room with the Ocean View if you want to sleep wit the windows open..VERY noisy on the weekends...teenagers/young adults hang out in the little park across the street and party until 3-4 AM...And there is no airconditioning so you want the breeze.

The rooms overlooking the rear courtyard are very quiet and private. Hardwood floors, marble stairs, antique furniture...very homey...

Very safe area...be careful walking in the early morning...late night parties will still be going on...bars were still open at 7:00am...And people were still there!!! No wonder they need the siesta.

Plan on eating lunch between 1-3 and dinner after 8...no real food can be found before then.

Over all Loved Gijon and the Hotel Alcomar.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy street
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Daune G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2007

One of the more spacious and comfortable accomodations on our recent trip to Spain, for about $120/night ("midseason" rates, according to the hotel). The Alcomar is a small, very traditional hotel with large, spacious rooms and bathrooms (similar in size to many American hotel rooms). It is well located, right off the esplanade and within easy walking distance to public parks, the old Roman baths, and the city's medieval quarter. What made our room special was the view--from the top (fourth) floor, we had a fantastic view of the Cantabrian sea. We left our windows open at night and slept to the sound of the crashing waves! The hotel has some other nice touches, such as a cafeteria off the lobby and a cool atrium visible from every floor. I should mention, however, that there is also a disco directly across the street from the Alcomar. It was closed during our visit, but on a previous visit, my husband reports being awakened by departing scooters at 3am!

  • Liked — Location and view from room
  • Disliked — Mid season rates ok for budget travelers, but high season rates less of a value
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#3 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
NH Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Gijon
#11 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Centro
Hotel Blue Santa Rosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcomar

Property: Hotel Alcomar
Address: Calle Cabrales 24, 33201, Gijon, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcomar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alcomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing