We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant in Gijon”
Review of Asturias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asturias
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We only had a meal in the restaurant, but it was excellent. Sunday lunch menu for 16 euros including bread wine and water. Two starters, main course and dessert. Very smart and expensive looking from the outside, but the reality a very nice surpirse.

No report on the hotel, 'cos we didnt stay there but all looked OK, albeit a bit old fashioned, and I suspect the rooms would probably reflect that.

Room Tip: didnt stay in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Last hotel of the trip & here in Gijon at the Hotel Asturias right on the Plaza Mayor . Firstly the location is great, you are right in the middle of everything but unfortunately the hotel comes second. It is billed as 4* but I guess it is more 3*. Allocated room on the 3rd floor in the "old" section of the hotel overlooking the town & the sea ( great views) Beds were so/so, a bit old & worn but clean. The room was large but sparse & very, very dated. The TV was nearly as old as me !!! But the views from the mini balcony more than made make up for the short comings. The bathroom was large , clean & tidy, big tub but a bit lacking in toiletries but remedied by calling reception & getting some more shower gel & shampoo sachets.

The breakfast was best avoided as the quality of the food & juices/drinks was not great & you could eat nearby for cheaper & better. It is a quaint old hotel & I guess the superior rooms are a lot better but they would lack the view. I paid 70 eur a night plus tax including breakfast which was not too bad I guess. Skip the extra for breakfast & eat out. The clientele was mostly Spanish with a few foreigners.

Bar Varsovia seemed to be the happening place for your gin/vodka tonic at night, it was just a few minutes away facing the sea front , very busy on both nights I went & good atmosphere. There is also a Regma ice cream parlor lower down on the promenade for some midnight ice cream treats too !!! Bar Mercante facing the harbor did good food & cider pouring at Bar El Globo also nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This for me is a typical 3-star hotel and it's perfect for a few nights stay. I would guess that the added extra star is because of the location of the hotel. Situated between the port and the beach and close to all the restaurants it's absolutely great. Some reviews state that it was hard to find a parking and I guess that it is during high-season, but seeing that we stayed there in April, there were no problem of finding a parking on the street just around the corner, and it's free from Saturday afternoon until Monday morning.

The bathroom was clean and the shower did it's job well with hot water. The beds were a bit stiff but we slept incredibly well.

Ask for a room facing the Plaza Mayor. It's not noicy at all and it's great to sit on the balcony watching people go by! Gijon is well worth a visit and if you can find a good deal at Hotel Asturias as we did (44€), then book it!



All and all - The four-star is for the location

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Stayed at this hotel during the beginning of the summer months. The hotel is right in the action, at the north end of the beach. Leaving the hotel to the left leaves you 50m from the beach. Leaving to the right, leaves you 200m from the harbour and less than that to some great bars. Not far from the main nightlife of Gijon, next door indeed to a nice Cider house. If you come to Gijon you have to try the Cider which is the speciality of the region. Not your standard, sweet/synthetic cider either, careful how much you drink!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cs_frimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2007

If you want to get to know Spain as you have never known it then asturias is the region for you. It is full of cletic culture, festivals, seafood and most surprisingly bagpipes.

The Old stable is a restored stable and is now a 2 bed apartment. We enjoyed our stay in the heart of the rural countryside. Plenty of walking routes of a easy to moderate nature. Then close to local nightlife and wonderful seafood restaurants.

Own transport or reliances on taxi necessary.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fishmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

A Spanish friend booked this hotel for us to stay while we were in Gijon for their wedding. Great location, close to the beach, town hall, old town, bars and restaurants. We were lucky to have a sea view. The hotel was basic, but not expensive. Breakfast was provided in the cafe bar downstairs- ham, cheese, bread and croissants. The only bad point is that there was no iron in the hotel, not what you want the morning of a wedding!! Friendly staff, worth staying here for no frills accomodation in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gráinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lorenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#2 of 47 in Gijon
520 reviews
La Arena
Hotel Principe de Asturias
Centro
Hotel Don Manuel
Hotel Don Manuel
#39 of 47 in Gijon
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Alcomar
Hotel Alcomar
#16 of 47 in Gijon
193 reviews
NH Gijon
#3 of 47 in Gijon
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asturias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asturias

Address: Plaza Mayor 11, 33201, Gijon, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon > Cimadevilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gijon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Gijon
Price Range: £51 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Asturias 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Asturias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asturias Hotel Gijón

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing