We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blue Marques de San Esteban
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Kincardine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just the job”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Do you want a nice clean, modern hotel in the middle of town that has helpful friendly staff, nice free breakfast and is reasonably priced? Then look no further than the Blue Marques de San Esteban. It is 2 minutes from the marina and 5 minutes from the main part of the town. The whole hotel looks as if it has been extensively refurbished in the last few years. The bedrooms have excellent double glazing and a double door at the windows so it is very quiet. The beds are large and comfortable though the rooms are not large they are adequate. The breakfast is the normal continental affair but is served by a lovely helpful you lady. It cost £40 a night for the five nights we were there for my wife and me with breakfast included so it is very reasonable. The location is the hotels ace, right in the middle of Gijon. I wouldn't look to stay anywhere else if I go back to Gijon. There is a flat screen TV in the room, unfortunately the only English speaking channel is CNN, but don't hold that against the hotel.

Room Tip: Bring a plug for the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldScotsBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRACIA A, Subdirectora at Hotel Blue Marques de San Esteban, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear TheCounsellor
Thank you very much for your comment. Getting our customers satisfaction is really the most important aim for us
We hope to see you back again in Gijón soon.
Yours sincelerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    98
    57
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
121
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
197 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Hotel Blue Marques de Esteban is located slap bang in the middle of Gijon, which means walking distance to the promenade(s), the old town and the shopping area.

The rooms are spacious, extremely clean and also well lit. It's a solid, no frills hotel. Nothing special or out of the ordinary, but also totally functional, comfortable and with nothing missing. The shower was particularly nice.

The staff were all very polite. They were helpful with regards to the special deal with the car park and they offered us to take their umbrellas (in Northern Spain rain is the order of the day). One member of staff very kindly arranged buffet breakfast for us at an ungodly hour (5:30am) exclusively for us, as we had to check out really early in the morning. All done in extremely well-mannered fashion throughout.

Talking of which, a small but beautifully varied buffet is available every morning, with pastries, cereal, biscuits, fruit and many other things on offer from the adjacent cafeteria.

A positive stay and a thoroughly recommended hotel for just €45 per room per night breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRACIA A, Adjunta a Dirección at Hotel Blue Marques de San Esteban, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Electric-Emma
It is a great satisfaction for us that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again in the nearly future.
Thank you very much for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
294 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I was on a two week road trip and we just happened to end up in Gijon one evening and needed to find a hotel. Found this one just driving by and luckily they had a double room left, but we were three, so they kindly brought up another bed. This was by far the best value we had on the entire trip with a nice breakfast included in a bright welcoming little breakfast area. It is a small hotel but modern and very clean. The location can’t be beat, within easy walking distance to the port and old town where there are many dining possibilities. There is a parking garage very close by and the hotel will give you a coupon so it only costs 10 Euros for the night. I would definitely stay here again if I were to find myself in Gijon (a nice town that merits a longer visit). The staff is very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The staff at the hotel are very courteous and friendly and always ready a very accomodating. Do book your reservation with breakfast included. Came and went at odd hours and always found a welcoming clerk to help us and assist us in every way. The young lady who serves breakfast was a charmer with a ready smile every morning. The area is very convenient for shopping, business, and nightlife. Great location too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VJHerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Dot and I stayed there for a couple if days easy from train bus (10 mins) couple of minutes from beach great a/con rooms and friendly helpful staff. Right in the middle of great area with many great bars and restaurants.
Downside: none except only mirror is in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reliablmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed here on a whim, took the train up from our rented farm house (another review....AWESOME!!!!) to meet our daughter who is attending university in OVD

No reservations, just walked in off the street!....Irish pub across the street, perfect!...but the pub never opened, no worries, tons of places to eat and drink with in walking distance!

Staff was wonderful!!!!!!!!!!, so helpfull!!! room was great, small balcony! Wonderful location!!! Right by the harbor!!!!!!!!!! Nice breakfast and late check out! This was a great value too!!!

Gijon is a wonderful town to explore, as is most of northern Spain! PERFECT!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murfsturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Wifi was free (unlie at the business hotels in the region), the breakfast was fine, and the rooms were spacious, airy, and with high ceilings. Location was unparalleled,, right in the center of town, right at the old city. Lots of great places to drink adn eat and shop ...and drink. in the area.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc_digitaldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#4 of 47 in Gijon
486 reviews
Centro
Hotel Blue Santa Rosa
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Gijon
#13 of 47 in Gijon
296 reviews
Centro
San Miguel Hotel
San Miguel Hotel
#11 of 47 in Gijon
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Marques de San Esteban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Marques de San Esteban

Property: Hotel Blue Marques de San Esteban
Address: Calle Marques de San Esteban 11, 33206, Gijon, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon > Centro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Marques de San Esteban 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern and comfortable hotels are fully-equipped and conveniently located in the city centre.All Blue establishments offer free high speed WIFI connectionBlue establishments are characterized by service quality, strategic location and top-level facilities and have been certified by the main tourist quality programmes.Enjoy the unbeatable price-quality relation of Blue Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blue Marques de San Esteban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing