We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable stopover.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Arena
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“comfortable stopover.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

we stayed in this hotel for one night only and found it to be very clean and comfortable. Secure parking was available for an extra ten euros a night which was very convenient as the street outside had no parking spaces available when we arrived, around 10.00 pm. Breakfast was nothing special but adequate and was included in the room price. We found the girl on reception very helpful as we went to the bar next door (attached to the hotel) for some tapas and had difficulty with the menu. She helped us with the menu and ordering which was a godsend. I would definitely stay here again if only to use the lift!!! which is something else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    31
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
48
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami. Fl.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I believe for the comfort that offers you, and the privilege location it has no competition in town. I have stay before in other places in Gijon, and in my opinion this little hotel it's the best one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmiamifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Dont be fooled by the unique exterior of this building, it's two beds pushed together, no natural light in rooms whic are also minimal at best. Locations is good and yes hassle free parking for £10 per night, but it's free on the street with a bit of persistence. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gijon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

The staff at Hotel Arena were really helpful and friendly which was a good start. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great and there was a good choice available. The location is great for San Lorenzo beach although it is a 10-15min walk to the old part of the town. Still, said walk is entirely along the beach front and is very pretty - we didn't mind at all being a wee bit further out as it was such a lovely walk back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1fie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

We booked this hotel sight unseen, and it turned out to be the best hotel of our entire stay in Spain. It's a small boutique-like hotel with friendly staff, two reading/socializing areas, our own little deck, it's 2 blocks from the beach and 2 blocks from an internet cafe, and walking distance to everything. The bed was sooooo comfortable and the sheets were crisp linen.....we had a fantastic nights' sleep there. I would highly recommend this hotel, but allow yourself at least 2 days in Gijon - there's so much to see!

  • Liked — The cleanliness and close proximity to everything.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dusseldorf
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2006

My girlfriend's family were visiting and we had to find a cheap hotel that was clean, tidy .. and we found this hotel, which was also brand new, modern and very confortable:

[----]

It has a taxi stop in front of it, it is 100m from the beach. We loved it!! Sadly it is not in Tripadvisor yet.

Best time to go to Gijon is from 21st of June until 15th of Agust.

That is the time when the "Fiestas de Prao" (Field parties) happen. There are small sparishes around the city and each one has a patron saint, so there is a party there all weekend when its the patron week. During the day it is more family friendly, during night its for younger people. The 15th is the patron saint of Gijon it self, so the week of the 7th to the 15th is when most of the activities happen and when the city is at its busiest.

Outside the summer, the best times to visit are in the Spring (Martch onwards). It can be cold and rainy, but Spring is usually better weather-wise than Autum. It is the best moment to see the land at its most "green" and try out the outdoors.

Gijon is pepered with museums to visit when the weather is not so good, but if it sunny there is loads to see in the city and its outskirts.

Helpful?
3 Thank xareu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Centro
San Miguel Hotel
San Miguel Hotel
#14 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Centro
Hotel Blue Santa Rosa
La Arena
Hotel Principe de Asturias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Arena
Begona Playa
Begona Playa
#36 of 47 in Gijon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#4 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Arena

Property: Hotel La Arena
Address: Calle Doctor Aquilino Hurle 31, 33202, Gijon, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon > La Arena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing