We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place too far from Center”
Review of Hotel La Polar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Polar
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was a nice hotel, located just steps from poniente beach. Receptionist was lovely, room was clean and a decent size. My only real gripe was distance from city centre, and that while the hotel is close to poniente beach, poniente doesn't compare to playa San Lorenzo, which is a solid walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinkman133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Polar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

We had booked what we though was a basic bed and shelter for 3 nights at the end of a 7 week tour of Spain and Were We Suprised! We were aware that the Spanish railway museum was close to this hotel and there were several train routes from Gijon that backed through the Picoss Europa mountains and surrounding area. The welcome , Hospitality throughout the 3 night stay, service and overall value was extrordinary at worst. The Tapas bar within the hotel was superb, the location was cenral making everything we required within walkable distance. and The staff fron the Manageress, receptionist, & all of the waitresses were fantastic, so pleased we had chosen their hotel , my wife is disabled and in a mobility scooter, nothing was ever too much trouble. The room was very comfortable and there is a lift. Central heating as it does get a little chilly in Gijon in November. Gijon was a place everyone should visit, the people are so friendly, The cider is as good as my home in Somerset, and there is so much to see and do.

Room Tip: All Have Balcony
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarkan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Hotel La Polar is wonderful and economical.

It´s on C/Juan Carlos I, almost on Playa Poniente.

The hotel is located in the first two floors of a tall building.

Tastefully decorated, very clean, new, friendly, and well located.

I stayed in a lovely room for three nights in June for 30 euros a night. Total bargain. There´s no view, but the hotel is right near the beach and the aquarium. There´s a small café in the hotel that is very popular. There is also private parking in their garage for 6 euros/day.

I will definitely stay here again the next time I come to Gijón.

2  Thank NewEnglandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nello219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrés P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
727 reviews
AC Hotel Gijon
#12 of 47 in Gijon
311 reviews
Centro
San Miguel Hotel
San Miguel Hotel
#11 of 47 in Gijon
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Polar

Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I 20, 33212, Gijon, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Polar 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Polar, opened August 2003, offers you 25 rooms each with its own balcony. Full room service, laundry and parking.The family atmosphere of the new premises, with its modern aesthetics complemented with contemporary artistic elements and a certain marine look, aims to offer you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing