We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The famous latticed window”

San Miguel de Lillo
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
831 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,689 helpful votes
“The famous latticed window”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Like with Santa Maria, when I arrived here I found a group inside with a guide telling them about it, so I just squeezed in with them and looked around and listened. No-one seemed to object, and I got the impression that it was normal. I never saw a visitor centre so i never bought a ticket. If I should have, and the people in the visitor centre see this, please send me a message.

(The guide spoke Spanish, but it wasn't too difficult. I don't know if there are tours in other languages. The tourist office should be able to say - Tel +34 902300202.)

The decorations are very interesting - patterns, strange animals and plants, human figures, frescoes and sculptures, the gallery, Roman echoes, Byzantine echoes, and the windows (maybe not quite the right word - I don't know if they were ever meant to hold glass) -, but the famous one-piece stone lattice window on the south wall, which I'd particularly hoped to see, was visible only through a sort of dark protective screen. I don't know if this is a permanent arrangement.

It would be a pity to see San Miguel without also seeing Santa Maria, only a few hundred yards away down the hill, and also if possible the absolutely excellent archaeological museum in Oviedo, just behind the Cathedral, which has quite a lot on the culture of ancient Asturias - a culture to which this building and its mysterious aesthetic give us a direct insight.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    219
    38
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pre-Romanesque jewel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

You can only see San Miguel de Lillo together with Santa Maria del Naranco and they are BOTH well worth visiting. Get your ticket at the office below both monuments (EXCEPT on Tuesday!!! The office is closed and you must get your ticket at Santa Maria). You can only enter the two monuments with a Spanish guided tour. San Miguel is a HIGHLY unusual church from the 9th century with remarkable stonework and the remains of some geometric frescoes. GO SEE IT!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnyjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
395 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A "must see" when you visit Oviedo”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

San Miguel de Lillo and Santa Maria del Naranco are spectacularly well preserved buildings from the 9th century and just a short journey from Oviedo. See them on your way in or out of town. It's well worth a couple of hours and you get some beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheOranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Views, ruins and exercise!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It is definitely worth going out of Oviedo see the San Miguel de Lillo and the nearby Santa Maria del Naranco. We got a taxi from the town to take us up which was worth the money. Both ruins are open but not all the time so worth checking if you want a look at the inside - they were both closed when we were there because it was a public holiday. The views of Oviedo are brilliant and the whole area has a really peaceful quality. There are several paths down to the Santa Maria del Naranco ruin of varying standards and there is a small visitors centre close to that with a very helpful member of staff and information about the architecture of the region in different languages including English. There is no café for some way down so worth taking a drink and some food to keep the energy levels up. There is also a small shop incorporated in the Centre with some good quality souvenirs. We walked all the way back to central Oviedo which was pretty easy - downhill all the way of course. Would recommend comfortable walking shoes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Polly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“really worth the trip”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This and the neighbouring Santa Maria del Naranco are fascinating to old church geeks like me- very atmospheric and full of fascinating detail. The guided tour may only be in Spanish; but it is worth tagging along to get inside.

We never did find the visitors' centre.

Taxi up, walk down!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pointissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Miguel de Lillo also viewed

 

Been to San Miguel de Lillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing