We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Hotel RoomMate Marcos Oviedo for the 9th time.”
Review of Hotel Clarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Clarin
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskerry Wicklow
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Return to Hotel RoomMate Marcos Oviedo for the 9th time.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Once again I can only reiterate what I have said about this hotel in previous reviews - excellent. Great staff great food and very very comfortable rooms. Recently the breakfast has greatly improved - there is now a newly added hot course of bacon and scrambled egg. This is lovely especially for Irish (like me) English and American visitors. I was given a 15% discount for long stay and I think also for being a valued customer. Super value for money. I don't know any other good hotel offering such excellent terms. I am hoping to return to Oviedo in October and would not contemplate staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: I usually have the same room on the 3rd floor but on this occasion I was on the 4th floor which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROOM_MATE_MARCOS, Director at Hotel Clarin, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mrs Gloria K,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are so happy to know that you feel so well in Marcos!

I hope to see you in October for your 10th time and also for many other times.

Best regards,

Ángel Iglesias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    178
    72
    17
    12
See reviews for
55
228
31
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskerry Wicklow
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Now I have returned to this hotel for the 8th time and again was not disappointed with the ambience the efficiency of the staff and the friendliness of all concerned with the running of the hotel. I was very lucky this time in that I was given a gift on my birthday from the hotel entitling me to 10 % discount a free breakfast which incidentally has greatly improved. The hotel now provides a hot breakfast along with the continental. This is a new innovation and is greatly appreciated by many (including me ) guests. I also had the choice of a late check out. I shall certainly be returning to Room Mate |Marcos again hopefully having received another birthday gift.

Room Tip: I always have been given the same single room which is great so have no experience of any other. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very nice hotel, good location with a short walk to the old town. Parking garage "Longoria" close by. Very nice reception, Raquel was very friendly and gave us all kinds of information about what to visit, how to get there and where to eat. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel, so can't comment on that. Room was ok, everything needed was there, since we asked before arrival for a quiet and cool room, the air condition was turned on when we entered, so that the room was nice and cool indeed.
Can really recommend the place, when you are planning to stay in that area!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaliM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I only stayed here for one night between Santiago and San Sebastian but I wanted to stay longer. I was travelling on my own and booked this because it didn't charge a premium for being a sole person. The room is a great size and very clean and comfortable. The bed is huge. The bathroom is a good size and well-equipped with excellent lighting and an amazing power shower. There is an air-con unit too. The only thing that could be improved is that there be more natural light in the room because the colour theme is black which makes it seem darker. Perfect location right next to shops, supermarkets etc and 2min from the old centre. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have stayed at the Room Mate Marcos 3 times in the past 6 months and each time has been very pleasurable. The rooms are pleasant and very clean. The staff are so helpful and can't do enough to help (ordering taxis, recommending restaurants and advising on where to buy bedding !!). A great establishment in a great location and a must if you are visiting Oviedo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STrayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Comfortable room, clean, TV more current than most of the other pictures show, it was a flat-screen but small. Really nice bathroom soaps, shampoo etc. Surprisingly good breakfasts in the morning. Probably time for a little refreshing, but I'd stay again and at about 50 euro, I think it was a good value. Good location as well. Loved the cafe/bar across the street!

Room Tip: Lots of city noise from down below if you're in a room on the street side, and in Spain, the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidimiller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I spent 7 nights in Room Mate Marcos and couldn't have been more pleased with the location, the wonderful staff, breakfast, and the size of the rooms . It's a prime location to stay in order to explore the city of Oviedo, a city I have become smitten with!!! As other reviewers have stated it's an easy walk from the hotel to get to the bus and train station where you can explore other places in Asturias. There are shops, supermarkets, restaurants and points of interest located around the hotel and within easy walking distance.

All of the staff were exceptional, genuine, polite and very helpful. I unfortunately got sick and one of the house keeping staff knocked on my door because she could hear me coughing and gave me some throat lozenges, this act of kindness I will never forget, but that's the kind of people that work there, they go out of their way to do what they can for you.

Overall, the service, location and the rooms were great and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and would not hesitate to sleep with Marcos again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Oviedo Principado
NH Oviedo Principado
#6 of 49 in Oviedo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
#3 of 49 in Oviedo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista
0.7 mi away
Silken Monumental Naranco
0.6 mi away
Ayre Hotel Alfonso II
Ayre Hotel Alfonso II
#11 of 49 in Oviedo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarin

Property: Hotel Clarin
Address: Calle Caveda 23, 33002, Oviedo, Spain (Formerly Room Mate Marcos)
Region: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Clarin 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Marcos Oviedo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing