We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels Like a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Alfonso II
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Feels Like a B&B”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We enjoyed two nights at the Hotel Alfonso II. We both felt like the establishment was more a private hotel or B&B, as there is no sense of it being big or having lots of guests. Our room was pleasant with all the conveniences and fixtures we needed. The hotel offered private parking, which is a great advantage when you are driving. Staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us good tips about places to visit and eat in. Breakfast was good without being extensive, but was served with great attention to our requests (the home made pancakes were sensational). The hotel is well placed as you can walk to all of Oviedo's sights. To sum up, this hotel offers friendly service, pleasant rooms, good position, all the conveniences required for an extremely well priced rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Alfonso II, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Sr/Madam,  
Thank you very much for your review. We do appreciate your comments about our hotel and we look forward to being of service to you again on your next visit to Oviedo.
Best regards.
Social Media Manager.
Ayre Hotel Alfonso II.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    93
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
111
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vihti, Finland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Alfonso II may lie a short walk from the historical center, the shopping areas and the cider street, but those steps give an excellent payback. The hotel is modern and well-kept, thr rooms are beautiful and well-equipped and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is worth every penny - delicious and plentiful. Car parking is available but street parking is also possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our trip. It's located slightly out of the centre of town, but about 15 minutes walk from the bus station and about 10 from the train station, so the location is handy if not using a car.

We were welcomed warmly by reception (others have mentioned this too), full of advice and recommendations about things to do and see. We had a room on the first floor, 106 I think, which faced the side and front of the hotel. It had three little balconies, all very sweet, but no room for sitting out. Although we faced the road, there was no particular road noise. I know others have mentioned this, but it's just the usual few cars and the bus going past. It's not a busy main street.

The room was comfortable, albeit with a 3/4 sized bath. There was aircon, which made our lives very comfortable. It had a mini-fridge, safe and TV (with Spanish channels). Beds were comfortable and we had the added delight of towelling robes and slippers. Very louche! We didn't have the breakfast, so can't comment on that.

There is a supermarket nearby, just above the station, so you can easily acquire the necessaries there. It's a reasonable walk uphill to the two churches of San Miguel de Lillo and Santa María del Naranco, so you don't to mess around with a bus, unless you want to avoid the walk uphill. We did it in about 20 minutes, with a few puffs at the top.

So, all in all, very enjoyable stay, comfortable hotel and recommend it to anyone who wants something a bit more cosy than the average big chain hotel.

Room Tip: Don't ignore the rooms by the road, unless you have the aural equivalent of the princess and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for only one night but it ended up being one of our favorite places during our two europe vacation. The rooms are clean and lovely. The breakfast buffet is delicious and the coffee is excellent. The front desk was also very helpful when we had some difficulties renting a car.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greengrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is an impeccable hotel with excellent service. We stayed in the Junior suite that consists of a very large living-room, an intimate bedroom with a (not so large) double bed and a fine bathroom, all on the top floor and with a splendid view. However, I can only recommend this room to travellers who are accustomed to traffic noise, as the walls consists mainly of windows and the hotel is situated on a busy road. Good airco. though. Old town is about 30 minutes walk. 10 minutes from railway station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobMMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle Cumbria
Level Contributor
290 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our meals in the evenings, albeit a limited menu.
It was really useful to park at the hotel and then forget about the car as we walked everywhere.
The room was a little small but clean and comfortable. You might need to ask for a chair.
Breakfast was a good experience...plenty of choice.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This hotel is easy to find - located on the road to the Naranco church (so follow the signs to that). We found parking on the street nearby before checking in - we found out after checking in that the hotel did have some parking available (but we didn't move the car).

The walk to the city was easy - and the front desk was helpful in recommending places to eat at. Fernando at the front desk was very informative and obviously loves what he does!

We had two rooms and each one was a little different. The rooms were large and the windows kept out the street noise very well. The shower was a little hard to get into.

We didn't try the breakfast, so I cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
0.6 mi away
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
#2 of 49 in Oviedo
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista
0.2 mi away
Silken Monumental Naranco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes
0.4 mi away
Exe Oviedo Centro
Exe Oviedo Centro
#14 of 49 in Oviedo
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clarin
Hotel Clarin
#10 of 49 in Oviedo
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Alfonso II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Alfonso II

Property: Ayre Hotel Alfonso II
Address: Calle Ramiro I no 30, 33012, Oviedo, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oviedo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Alfonso II 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayre Hotel Alfonso II is located in a privileged location in Oviedo city with a charming colonial style, recently restored. Near the Fernández-Vega Ophthalmological Institute and the most significant Romanesque monuments. It is located just in front of the new Palacio de Congresos Princesa Letizia, in honor of Princess Letizia Ortiz, native of the actual city.There are a total of 19 boutique rooms, of which we can emphasize a superior suite with excellent views, all fully equipped with bathroom, air conditioning, heating, satellite TV, safety box, telephone, minibar with free water Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ayre Hotel Alfonso II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayrehotel Alfonso Ii Oviedo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing