We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, attentive team, tasty food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Fermin

Casa Fermin
Ranked #2 of 706 Restaurants in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Andalucia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Friendly, attentive team, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great location, close to the cathedral. The food was of a good quality; the steak was especially good. Team friendly - meal ended with fresh Nespresso coffee.

The decor of the restaurant was dated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    151
    31
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good local cuisine in fine setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Going in we did not know that this was one of the highest rated restaurants in Oviedo. The dishes I got were good but since my friend spoke Spanish she got intricate recommendations from our server and she loved the food. Service was quite attentive and unlike some of the other reviewers I liked the modern decor. The price tag does match the reputation.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best cuisine in Oviedo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Best quality cooking in Oviedo, it is of the innovative Spanish trend. Dining room matches, with reserved but correct service. The Cigalas con Tocino y mini Verduras starter is expensive but fully worth it (Lobster with bacon and mini vegetables). I recommend.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank berdafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing food and dreary decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

My feeling about this restaurant was strongly affected by the depressing decor. There are at least 6 different kinds of lights (both modern and traditional) in the dining room, which do not harmonize and make for an over-lighted place of no charm.

The food is overpriced, the menu unappealing and old-fashioned. We ordered 2 fish dishes which were OK, but nothing special. We tried Asturian cidre for the first time and found it to be undrinkable. We were told it was the "house brand." We were totally turned off of this traditional drink, but perhaps we should have given it another chance elsewhere. The atmosphere did not make us want to linger, so we skipped dessert. The restaurant was mostly empty, so the word seems to have gotten out that it's one to skip.

I'm sure there are better restaurants in Oviedo but we can't say. Unfortunately the next night we ate at Ca Suso (rated #1 on this website) and had a worse experience! We did have a great lunch in Aviles and if I can find the name of the restaurant, I'll write a review.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
182 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nothing special about Casa Fermin”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Perhaps this was a good restaurant in the past but my dinner at Casa Fermin was disappointing. I had heard this restaurant was traditional Spanish cuisine but on arrival the decor was modern (not in a good way) and very bright. The restaurant was empty on Wed night. I think the cuisine is trying to be modern Spanish but frankly I thought the recommended fish dish that I had was boring with little flavor. This is pretty pricey restaurant especially by Oviedo standards so I would seek other dining option. Only positive was the recommended wine was pretty good.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HKFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Fermin also viewed

 
Tudela Veguin, Oviedo
 

Been to Casa Fermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing