We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, friendly and perfectly located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bilborooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bilborooms
Ranked #15 of 25 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple, friendly and perfectly located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I only stayed at the Bilborooms for 1 night in September but it was everything it needed to be. I did not go to Bilbao to sit in my hotel and so I only needed a room with a bed in it. All the staff I met were lovely, chatty and helpful and pointed me in the right direction to go explore the city.

If you want room service / breakfast in bed / jacuzzi in the room then this place is definitely not for you however if you just want a simple base in a great location then it does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    31
    30
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
44
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Bilborooms are situated in the very heart of Bilbao old town and surrounded by the best bars and restaurants to be found in Bilbao. The old town is the place to be in the evenings and if you don't want a fancy meal it's great to snack on the Bilbao version of tapas called pintxos. All the bars serve great rioja wine and around 1.40 euro a glass.
Bilborooms are to be found on a pedestrian only street and unless you read the street signs and door numbers carefully you could miss it as there is no sign at all in the street of the hotel name apart from on the door buzzer. 3 of the rooms have a balconies overlooking the street at the front, two are enclosed and one is open - great for people watching and enjoying a glass of wine. The other rooms are to the rear and presumably don't have a view as such so I would suggest you request a balcony when booking. The breakfast is quite a strange concept being completely self service and comprises of orange juice, coffee, cornflakes and bread (which you can toast) and jam. If you want more than this there are numerous places offering breakfast only minutes away.
The important thing is that the rooms are exceptionally clean and well kept - another reviewer commented the room was damp but this was not my experience and I have stayed in two of the rooms there.
You do have to leave the key at reception when you go out and use the door buzzer to be let in on your return but the reception desk is manned 24 hours and I didn't have a problem gaining access at any time.
To sum up - it's clean and in an absolutely great location and the price is good, the down side is it's basic and the toiletries mentioned are merely a sachet of shower gel so take your own.
If you want a luxury hotel don't stay here but if you want to be in the heart of things in clean but basic rooms its fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room at the front - but be prepared to hear noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Bilborooms was nice located in the old city of Bilbao, and it was cheap (50€/night).
But it was very noisy (in the morning we woke up by the loud voices at the reception), the breakfast was a disaster. Just go to the bakery in the street.

Greetings from Antwerp (Belgium).
Eva & Steven

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
270 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The room is clean and basic, which is sufficient for me. The location is fantastic if you want to be in the middle of the action in the old town and eat at great places for pintxos. It is noisy as you can hear your neighbors, but I had headphones on so it went ok.

I stayed one night near the Guggenheim in another hotel (a splurge) and this one. It's actually a good call to do two locations.

I am okay with the logistics of leaving the room key - the receptionist is efficient in opening the door when you ring her/him. However, I got very frustrated when I checked out early at 6am. The receptionist was SNORING in an adjacent room, and I had to ring the bell 5 times. She gives me this groggy look, and REFUSED to give me a receipt. I insisted, given that everything is manual so it is prone to error (and they might claim you havent paid). Given that they didnt speak A WORD of English that was a feat at 6AM! In the end, she gave in and gave me a receipt. Otherwise it is an okay stay for one night. More than that would have been too uncomfortable for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Pro: Location

Con: Room/hotel conditions. Maybe I was given the worst room but it was a damp. Smell of mildew, broken shower, closet size room, no A/C, TV not working, tiniest window facing a small terrace where the hotel hangs laundries. 'Breakfast' was a joke so I skipped it. You have to leave the room key and have to buzz to be let into the building. There are better choices around.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank catsinbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is a very nice, clean pension and the staff were very friendly. It's not very obvious you've found the right place, the street seemed to have two of the same number! It's in a great location for the old town bars and some great pinxtos. The breakfast was quite poor but still a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Spent 3 nights in Bilborooms. First: the location is super. It's located in the center of the old town with beautiful buildings and lots and lots of places to eat (the delicious pinxtos!). The old town is pedestrianised, so If you come by car, just park your car at the arenal parking garage which is located at the Calle Viuda de Epalza. From there, it's a 5 minute walk to the pension.

Pros:
* As I said, the location
* The rooms. They are modern and good sized with great beds. The bathrooms have a small bath
* The owners: really nice and fun (they don't speak english, so beware to talk with your hands and with google translation)
* Very clean
* The price: E50,- per night per room.

Cons:
* Really really noisy. I've been in some noisy rooms but this was almost ridiculous. I think there were 7 rooms and you could hear everything that happened in the other rooms. But the most noise came from the reception desk. Their voices went through the entire pension. We had a room at the back of the hotel, which most of the times means is a bit more quiet, but not at bilborooms. At the back is something like a patio, surrounded with other buildings and you could here also everything that happened in the other buildings. So sleep with earplugs!
* Breakfast: skip it. It's cereals, milk and coffee
* You have to leave your key at the reception every time you leave

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rianne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#24 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#14 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#17 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilborooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilborooms

Property: Bilborooms
Address: Victor 3, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bilborooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing