We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy room in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bilborooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bilborooms
Ranked #16 of 25 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cosy room in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Having got the bus in from the airport this place is a 10 min walk across town from the bus stop. It's about 15-20 mins from the main bus station . The location , in the old town , is excellent . It is a few minutes stroll to an array of great tapas bars in the Plaza Mayor and it's adjoining streets .
The rooms were clean and comfortable , the staff not overly friendly and the breakfast provided scant .

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BrislBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    31
    30
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
44
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed at the Bilborooms for 2 nights from the 21st to the 23rd, Great location in the old quarter, very close to a tram stop which we used there and back to the termibus station, We flew from manchester via easyjet, enjoyable flight then caught the bus from the airport to bilbao center, we'd heard it took 40 mins ?? ours took 20 mins and we got off at the termibus then walked around the san mames tram stop to get to the old quarter, Bus was 1.35 euro's each and the tram 1.40 euro's, cheap and very very easy, The Bilborooms Pension is difficult(ish) to find as its not signed but we found it ok, Inside we were checked in ok although she cant speak a word of english but she was helpfull and polite and showed us to our room, We were in room 5 behind reception, we had no problem with noise etc at night or in the morning, Rooms are basic but in my opinion perfectly ok for a few nights and i've stayed in far worse for a lot more money for over 2 weeks, The WC had plenty of towels, decent sized, powerfull shower which did let water out onto the floor but we just put a towel down, plenty of bog roll and it was spotlessley clean as was the room, Breakfast is basic but it works in my opinion, you have a little kitchenette area with a jug of juice, jag of milk, bowl of cornflakes, 2 loafs of bread, coffee in the pot ready, jams and spreads etc and some great little cocunutty sponge things which i took a few extra with me on departure day, After breakfast we washed our pots up in the sink area and left them to dry, Easy Peasy
Overall 9/10 but i am not mega fussy, as long as its clean, comfortable and not below standard then i'm happy, Missus agree's with me that it was perfectly fine and would go again so thats got to be a good thing
Go on book it you'll enjoy Bilbao as well, Amazing City and if you love art and culture you'll love Bilbao, Gungenheim area at night lit up is twice as good as it is in daylight

Room Tip: i wanted 1 on the front but room 5 was the 1 i got and it was great, its only a small place but its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wulfman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Excellently situated in the old quarter.... Bilborooms is on the first floor. We had a twin room overlooking the street with a small balcony for people watching. Warped bathroom door. No soap in bathroom, just shower gel, when I asked for soap I was given another packet of shower gel. The breakfast is minimal but ok. I loved the brickwork everywhere. No spare loo roll, I had to go and ask for another one, which they didn't seem to like....
It COULD be amazing with a little effort on the owners part. How much is a smile? The only smile we got was when we left!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the street are great for people watching, the middle one is the only one with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florribelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Bilborooms is hidden away in the old town of Bilbao. We had a quiet room at the back and it was very good. Nice bathroom (problem with toilet was dealt with immediately), but no hair dryer.
The beds were good and plenty of wardrobe space (WITH hangers). The landlady and her husband were very nice, but they don't speak much English.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjoerdsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I only stayed at the Bilborooms for 1 night in September but it was everything it needed to be. I did not go to Bilbao to sit in my hotel and so I only needed a room with a bed in it. All the staff I met were lovely, chatty and helpful and pointed me in the right direction to go explore the city.

If you want room service / breakfast in bed / jacuzzi in the room then this place is definitely not for you however if you just want a simple base in a great location then it does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Bilborooms are situated in the very heart of Bilbao old town and surrounded by the best bars and restaurants to be found in Bilbao. The old town is the place to be in the evenings and if you don't want a fancy meal it's great to snack on the Bilbao version of tapas called pintxos. All the bars serve great rioja wine and around 1.40 euro a glass.
Bilborooms are to be found on a pedestrian only street and unless you read the street signs and door numbers carefully you could miss it as there is no sign at all in the street of the hotel name apart from on the door buzzer. 3 of the rooms have a balconies overlooking the street at the front, two are enclosed and one is open - great for people watching and enjoying a glass of wine. The other rooms are to the rear and presumably don't have a view as such so I would suggest you request a balcony when booking. The breakfast is quite a strange concept being completely self service and comprises of orange juice, coffee, cornflakes and bread (which you can toast) and jam. If you want more than this there are numerous places offering breakfast only minutes away.
The important thing is that the rooms are exceptionally clean and well kept - another reviewer commented the room was damp but this was not my experience and I have stayed in two of the rooms there.
You do have to leave the key at reception when you go out and use the door buzzer to be let in on your return but the reception desk is manned 24 hours and I didn't have a problem gaining access at any time.
To sum up - it's clean and in an absolutely great location and the price is good, the down side is it's basic and the toiletries mentioned are merely a sachet of shower gel so take your own.
If you want a luxury hotel don't stay here but if you want to be in the heart of things in clean but basic rooms its fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room at the front - but be prepared to hear noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Bilborooms was nice located in the old city of Bilbao, and it was cheap (50€/night).
But it was very noisy (in the morning we woke up by the loud voices at the reception), the breakfast was a disaster. Just go to the bakery in the street.

Greetings from Antwerp (Belgium).
Eva & Steven

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#24 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#14 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#17 of 43 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilborooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilborooms

Property: Bilborooms
Address: Victor 3, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bilborooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing