We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the clatter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We arrived at this hotel for one night as part of a coach tour. The room was very spacious, new looking and clean. The bathroom was large. The room was very empty looking and could have easily accommodated another easy chair. There was only one chair in total for a double room. Although our view looked out on the impressive road system the sound proofing was effective. We thought what a nice, quite hotel it was; then we went to reception and the dining area.
We had an evening meal and breakfast: both buffet. The food selection was very good and it was well cooked. Wine was also part of the deal with one bottle per table of two. There was no flexibility over this however. I only drink red and my wife drinks only white. We could only have one or the other. There were no half bottles to cover such a situation and no effort made by the staff to try and resolve the problem and help us. I do speak a little Spanish.
But the main problem in this dining room, and as we found out later - the foyer -, is the noise level. The acoustics are treadful and its is like having a meal in a very large works canteen. There are lots of people who clearly use this hotel and their noise rebounds from all corners of the large, high space. It is not helped either by the robust manner of the staff, particularly near the kitchen entrance areas, who seem to throw plates onto tables, shout at each other, and are just a little too eager to remove empty plates from cramped table layouts. They have not got the balance right between speedy service and that of giving the impression that it's a race to get your table cleared for the next lot of people to use. The whole eating experience is noisey and rushed. It really detracts from what is potentially a very good hotel. The reception area was little better and a quiet drink at the end of the day talking with friends was impossible.
The hotel is situated in very easy ( about 10 minutes ) walking distance from the old town. Bilbao was a pleasant surprise and well worth a longer visit, but bring your earplugs to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 1,925 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

I'm spending a long work period in Bilbao involved in a big project and I choose Gran Bilbao to be my home for this time . The Gran Bilbao is a large structure located nearby the Bilbao river . Very close to Casco Viejo wich is the old par of the City . In a few minutes you can reach all the most attractive part of town and several restaurants are located a few step away . Bus stop is just in front of reception and metro station not far . Service in room is very good and beds are great . Rooms are huge and you don't feel trapped in a cage . Should be nice to have some facilities as fitness room since people like me have to stay so long .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The place is really nice and clean, we really enjoy the vew from the Hotel , even the bed was good, also the food was very nice, the price was also fair.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ramon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Very good location, Nice room , Vera good beds And quiet rooms.
Within walking distance of the guggenheim museum And THE ancient district.
Lost of restaurants And bars nearby, must try THE pinxos.
Service was Very good, clean rooms , weer Able to leave THE luggage while sightseeing, parking facilities are Very good And close, THE train station is within 5 minuten walking distance

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HylkeSchouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A good 3 nights stay in this hotel. Reception on our arrival was a little bit cold but acceptable. We had a very large room with separate bedrooms for adults and children (that was great!). Some minor problem with shower.
Good confort especially the bed we found nice. We had just one breakfast on the day on departure day: nothing special at all; very close to a plant canteen!
Location of this hotel is not happy! Opposite to Guggenheim museum, closer to od barrio but borderline out of the city. You have 15 walk to get a tram to go downtown/everywhere. In front of the hotel there is bus stop but with run frequency 20-25 minutes could be a problem.

Room Tip: When travelling with children prefer room with separate bedrooms (eg: 401)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Location is not great, just next to the very noisy road, borderline out of the city. The hotel lobby is very nice, but the rooms are a bit depressing. The bathroom smells pretty bad (no windows or airation) and the walls are very thin, and even the bed linings had weird stains. The personnel was not very friendly, and in general the hotel is too "businessy" with no charm at all. Luckily it was not expensive, but it's not worth the 4 stars anyways. We definitely don't plan on coming back.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Very nice hotel. Modern interior and everything is neat and tidy. The restaurant lacks atmosphere, but the food is very good (try the Iberico!) and is open when arriving late. Breakfast buffet with great choice. Staff is friendly, very well English speaking.

I've been staying in this hotel for several times now and will return here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,138 reviews
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao

Address: Avenida Indalecio Prieto, 1, 48004 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#9 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £37 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Gran Bilbao Hotel is a 4-star hotel in Bilbao strategically located just 500 metres away from the historical centre and very well connected to financial and commercial area, as well as to the international airport. The hotel offers 202 rooms with a modern decoration and fully equipped, including free Wifi and views of the city as well as the mountains. You can also take advantage of our free gym and our renowned buffet breakfast, with fresh juices, homemade products and live cooking. The Sercotel Gran Bilbao Hotel offers 10 function rooms including an auditorium that can accommodate up to 285 guests, the ideal venue for meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Gran Bilbao Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing