We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful colonial style hotel”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    343
    105
    34
    13
See reviews for
115
423
39
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Having completed some of the Camino walk my girlfriend and I decided to book into the 5 star Carlton on our final night. We expected a high standard but nothing could have prepared us for what lay ahead.

Upon our arrival we were quickly relieved of our bags by the eager and friendly bellboy. This enthusiasm was then mirrored by the reception staff who gladly pointed out local areas of interest. We were then escorted to the room by the bellboy who showed us into the lap of luxury. The room or should I say the suite had an entrance hallway which led to a living room area which contained one of the two t.v.'s. The bathroom was also located off the hallway. The bedroom was through a double doored entrance off the living room. The living room contained a full settee and was beautifully decorated. It also hosted a completely stocked Nespresso machine. The bedroom contained a full mini bar, t.v. and a bed which could have comfortably slept a barber shop quartet. This was all accentuated by the amazing view of the Plaza Eliptica from both the bedroom and the living area. Quality was also evident throughout the bathroom area with Bvlgari products available for your cleansing needs. The only issue with the room was the smell of smoke in an non-smoking room but we saw past it but others may take exception to it.

The following morning we made our way to the breakfast buffet. There is no suitable superlatives I can use to describe its vastness, variety and above all quality. It is also available for €20.00 if you have not had it included in your room price. It is definitely worth it.

The staff continued the theme of the hotel with their professionalism and attention to detail, no matter what their role. There was no request too big or no question unanswered. This is a real treat and I would implore anyone to stay here if only for one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were lucky enough to have a refurbished room which was phenomenal. The old charm of this hotel gave me initial thoughts of gold and dark woods. Was I wrong when I entered the room! Crisp white room with glass chandelier, a bath that was so high the water went up to your neck. A pillow menu! The buffet breakfast was top notch too. As was the Internet. It worked! Valet parking was a breeze too.
Staff were great and accommodating. The room was almost soundproofed too do being so close to the plaza one would think you would hear all the noise. I didn't hear a thing.
It was refreshing not having a 100% full modern hotel. Going from 1900's grandeur to a crisp modern room was great.
The location of the hotel is nothing but extraordinary too.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldOfOrder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The location in between the old town and Gugenhiem amongst shops galore is brilliant. Our room was comfortable spacious and had a beautiful view of the Plaza Moyua's gardens - the bathrooms and the rooms really need to be remodeled especially given the stature and location of such a hotel.

We arrived around lunchtime and could not park at the entrance of the hotel due to mobs of pedestrians so we had to double park in a bus zone. The employee at the front desk denied us valet service as he told us that the parking was full due to people eating lunch at their restaurant and we would have to find our own parking which is ridiculous. We were very upset until another employee at the front desk told us that they could valet us at their other hotel which worked just fine since we didn't need the car for the next 24hours.

Room Tip: When you arrive double park on the curb outside the hotel as pedestrians block the immediate entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCL94027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

The Hotel Carlton is a great building, vast foyer with matching staircase......impressive entrance, managed by very friendly English speaking staff.

Location is everything, the Guggenheim 5 mins walk, the old town a casual 10 minute stroll and a metro station across the road.

My favourite place to stay in Bilbao!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank nowthenbjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Central -- yes, Ridiculously gorgeous hotel -- yes, Best staff possible -- HELL yes!

Very good staff, reasonably priced fare on the menu (2-3 Euro over the food you'd find in the nearby streets), massive rooms.

It felt like I was a guest at the Vatican - I kid you not.

Will return again :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagrr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel is so centrally located you never need to get in a car/bus etc. Located on a beautiful plaza filled with flowers and people strolling and sunning.

We had a beautifully appointed and quiet room on 3rd floor. Staff was friendly and helpful.

I booked the Guggenheim Special on their website which included breakfast and tickets to the museum, and then the regular rate the second night.

The Hotel Carlton set the tone for our amazing weekend in Bilbao.

Room Tip: ask for quiet, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,243 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#8 of 42 in Bilbao
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: Plaza de Federico Moyua 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1926, the Hotel Carlton is one of the landmark buildings and the most majestic hotel in Bilbao. Declared an Architectural, Artistic, Historical and Cultural Monument, over its history the building has witnessed important social and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing