We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Hotel in a very central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel in a very central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked this hotel last minute when we couldn't find any accommodation in Deba. I requested a quiet room with a view and a modern room as suggested by other reviews. When we arrived the person that checked us in was so friendly and laughed at all my requests. He did an amazing job at accommodating us with a couple of hours notice!

The hotel is dated, but it is clean, comfortable and is in a brilliant location. Stay for the room and the location and you won't be disappointed. If you are the type of traveller that likes trendy modern hotels this isn't the place for you. I can imagine that this hotel was THE place to stay back in the day and we were really happy with our choice.

The restaurant was empty and didn't appeal to us at all, so we didn't eat there and the bar was very old fashioned.

Having said all of this, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room with a view, and a modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    326
    105
    32
    13
See reviews for
114
405
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Our room was large and elegantly furnished with a great views over the central plaza in Bilbao. Breakfast was good and we would certainly stay here again when we return to Bilbao.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of hotel overlooking the main plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Walking into the Carlton is like entering another era. Marble, stained glass, statues, paintings, all if the lobby decor exudes elegance. The room was clean and modern. Close inspection reveals wear, however. The staff was excellent , bringing bags to our room and taking of our car. The walk to the museum was easy, but not for those who aren't fit. We had a hard time finding a restaurant in the area for dinner. It's not close to the Old City which has more choices. One would have to take a taxi or subway. We were pleasantly surprised that breakfast was included. It was a generous buffet with delectable fruits. The best breakfast of our stay in Spain.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice older hotel that was very clean and convenient. About 20 minutes from the airport (less than 25 Euro cab ride). Easy walk to the Guggenheim Museum and many restaurants in the area. Have stayed on three different occasions and all were very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukon2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Room was bright and clean. Nice view from the balcony. Very stylish bathroom. Breakfast was very good, attentive service. A lot of beautiful furnishings, lamps and decors all over the hotel. If you want a hotel with a calm, high class feeling, then this is it. I read some reviews before i came about the hotel feeling like a "business hotel", and i cant disagree enough! This is so far from it. We are a couple from Norway on holiday. Olav and Elisabeth.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Olav Christian ... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was centrally located. I was able to reserve my room on book.com and received a breakfast with the reservation. The hotel is a bit dated; however, it is clean. The reception staff speak English pretty well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank skis779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

If you want a decent sized room in a superb central location for a reasonable price then I would have no qualms recommending this hotel.

Breakfast is a bit random and has that old school feel, along with the rest of the hotel, but overall it's ok. The breakfast room could do with some sunlight though rather than bright artificial lighting.

The hotel does have a very well equipped but small gym, which is perfect as long as there isn't more than two people using it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#4 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#8 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: Plaza de Federico Moyua 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1926, the Hotel Carlton is one of the landmark buildings and the most majestic hotel in Bilbao. Declared an Architectural, Artistic, Historical and Cultural Monument, over its history the building has witnessed important social and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing