We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate only, but open on Sunday nights”
Review of Larruzz Bilbao

Larruzz Bilbao
Ranked #108 of 1,129 Restaurants in Bilbao
Price range: US$14 - US$58
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Mediterranean Cuisine. Specialized in Paellas. Next to Guggenheim Museum.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Adequate only, but open on Sunday nights”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Open restaurants in Bilbao on Sunday nights seem to be as rare as low Spanish unemployment rates. The desk at Hotel Miro pointed us to Larruzz, and we got a marginal meal. The modus opperandi is to serve the tourist trade, as the little touts on the table reassure you, and indeed, the crowd seemed to be all tourists when we dined. Ambiance is faux bistro, maybe a hundred or so covers, nice big windows if you get a good table (we did), and not too bright lighting.

Beef carpaccio and tuna carpaccio to start were very nice, and the highlight of the meal. Paella is the big deal here, with a dozen dry paellas, and a similar number of the more liquid style. We had the dry shrimp (two shrimp) and prawn (exactly one prawn) paella, which was okay, with decent shellfish stock base, and the moister baby octopus and artichoke paella. In a non-miracle, the artichokes seem to have transmogrified into green beans; no excuses or apologies were offered. Both paellas were overly imbued with oil. Desserts were awful; the worst kind of portion-controlled, pre-made, mass market dreck. The cheese cake with strawberries and cream was bland cheesecake with a thin top layer of processed berry product, and the cream had been replaced with honey. No explanations here either. Apple tart was vague and mostly dry crust.

The two waitresses struggled to handle the crowd (about 75% full), so service was not a strong point. Stemware was really crude compared to a lot of less expensive places we have dined in two weeks in Spain. Food and wine were overpriced for the mediocre quality. Split of inferior cava, bottle of rosé, two starters, two paellas, two bad desserts, and a couple of coffees came to 97€. Come if you have to on a Sunday night, but consider the virtues of fasting first.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteLarruzz, Gerente at Larruzz Bilbao, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Sir,
We apreciate your opinion about our restaurant because for us is always very important to know what our clients think about our food and service. But we would like to explain some of the things you pointed.
You are absolutely right when you say we replaced cream with honey, because we have just realiced that we have a mistake in our menus. We are changing them so thay from now on it will say "Chesse cake with strawberry toping and a honey base". We applogize for that and apreciate you comment because give us the oportunity to correct the mistake.
You say "the artichokes seem to have transmogrified into green beans; no excuses or apologies were offered". The paella we offer is with "Baby Octupus, Artichokes and Green Garlic" and that is what the paella had. It is not possible for us to serve it with green beens, as it is an ingredient that we do not use at all in our kitchen.
And you found "Both paellas were overly imbued with oil". Paella is a special way to cook rice totally diferent of boiling it. We make rices on the oven and this speciality way of cooking rice requieres an exact amount of watter, rice and oil. We understand that this might not please everybody specilly clients which are not used to olive oli cuisine. If you get to visit again in the future please let us know that you want your rice with less oil, and we will very pleased to do the modification specially for you.

On Sunday night we usually have two waitress because we spect to have 20-40 people and only have one more waitress if we have reservations. The day you came we only had 12 reservations, but finally came many people thay we did not expect. Althought we tried to do our best we were a little over to attend all the clientes we had that day. That is ther reason why we always recomend our clients to make a reservation previous to come, because it give us the oprotunity to be prepared.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    135
    51
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“enjoy slow food”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

good quality, Spanish and Euskadi cuisine, enjoy dining with multiple courses. good location between Guggenheim and city centre

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martinhufschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteLarruzz, Camarero at Larruzz Bilbao, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are glad you enjoyed the meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Paella, great service, good price”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Larruzz is located a few blocks from the Guggenheim and the Miro hotel. We had a wonderful dinner with great service, moderately priced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poor service and food without any savor. Pass your way!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We never experienced such a terrible service; we had to ask 2 times to get our white wine served in a cooler (most expensive bottle they have on the list), never received the red wine - as ordered from the beginning - with the main course, etc...
This was certainly not related to the fact that the restaurant was - on this Wednesday evening - not frequented by more than 20 persons!
We choose this restaurant because of what we read in Lonely Planet guide... and unfortunately didn't experienced any nice paella.
Pass your way... and please - people from Lonely Planet - check carefully if this restaurant gives the needed quality all over the year... otherwise don't recommand it anymore!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patrik_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteLarruzz, Gerente at Larruzz Bilbao, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We greatly appreciate your impressions which certainly help us to improve our service.
We regret that day you did not have a good experience in our restaurant. We didn't expected so much people, becaus it was Wendsday and we had only two people reserved. Finally more than forty people came for dinner that night almost and the same time (19:45-20:15 ) so our staff was not prepared and we want to apologize for it.
Comunicating in different languages is difficult and sometimes can lead mistakes, but our staff is working to improve its engish to offer a better service in the future.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent paella”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had lunch at Larruzz and had no problem getting a table. The staff were very helpful and had menus in a variety of languages. We had arroz negro that was obviously cooked to order (not the much loathed pre-cooked paella) and this was a fantastic dish. The Larruzz has an extensive choice of paellas from traditional to game, seafood .... Also has several good salads and a nice variety of entrees. While we did not have desserts, we could not help but notice a couple who must have ordered a shared platter who were taken aback by the size and variety (and much to the delight of the waitress). Despite their initial misgivings we noticed that they had polished off the plate by the time that we left - I think that this is an indirect vote of confidence in their desserts. Larruzz is worth a visit if you are after something more substantial than pinxtos. Mid range price (our meal with wine was 70 euros)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Candide57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Larruzz Bilbao also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Larruzz Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing