We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ if i could id give them a zero”
Review of Larruzz Bilbao

Larruzz Bilbao
Ranked #102 of 1,192 Restaurants in Bilbao
Price range: US$14 - US$58
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Mediterranean Cuisine. Specialized in Paellas. Next to Guggenheim Museum.
Reviewed 10 July 2013

1.5 hours for fish, which was horribleservice: they treat u as if THEY were paying youdesert: was not available. no replacement!!!worst dining in Spain.

Thank GTAOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Ate at Larruzz twice and enjoyed both meals. The paella of prawns and vegetables was delicious but the fried potatoes with ham and eggs starter was even better. If you love garlic, this is the dish to try. The waitresess were calm and very friendly on both occassions and not too quick to clear away - no rush here. Didn't try the puddings so a huge starter, paella/noodles, wine and water came to 55-58 euros each night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kevin_S_B1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteLarruzz, Gerente at Larruzz Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you very much for you opinion. We really apreciate it and hope to see you again in your next visit to Bilbao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Open restaurants in Bilbao on Sunday nights seem to be as rare as low Spanish unemployment rates. The desk at Hotel Miro pointed us to Larruzz, and we got a marginal meal. The modus opperandi is to serve the tourist trade, as the little touts on the table reassure you, and indeed, the crowd seemed to be all tourists when we dined. Ambiance is faux bistro, maybe a hundred or so covers, nice big windows if you get a good table (we did), and not too bright lighting.

Beef carpaccio and tuna carpaccio to start were very nice, and the highlight of the meal. Paella is the big deal here, with a dozen dry paellas, and a similar number of the more liquid style. We had the dry shrimp (two shrimp) and prawn (exactly one prawn) paella, which was okay, with decent shellfish stock base, and the moister baby octopus and artichoke paella. In a non-miracle, the artichokes seem to have transmogrified into green beans; no excuses or apologies were offered. Both paellas were overly imbued with oil. Desserts were awful; the worst kind of portion-controlled, pre-made, mass market dreck. The cheese cake with strawberries and cream was bland cheesecake with a thin top layer of processed berry product, and the cream had been replaced with honey. No explanations here either. Apple tart was vague and mostly dry crust.

The two waitresses struggled to handle the crowd (about 75% full), so service was not a strong point. Stemware was really crude compared to a lot of less expensive places we have dined in two weeks in Spain. Food and wine were overpriced for the mediocre quality. Split of inferior cava, bottle of rosé, two starters, two paellas, two bad desserts, and a couple of coffees came to 97€. Come if you have to on a Sunday night, but consider the virtues of fasting first.

Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteLarruzz, Gerente at Larruzz Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Sir,
We apreciate your opinion about our restaurant because for us is always very important to know what our clients think about our food and service. But we would like to explain some of the things you pointed.
You are absolutely right when you say we replaced cream with honey, because we have just realiced that we have a mistake in our menus. We are changing them so thay from now on it will say "Chesse cake with strawberry toping and a honey base". We applogize for that and apreciate you comment because give us the oportunity to correct the mistake.
You say "the artichokes seem to have transmogrified into green beans; no excuses or apologies were offered". The paella we offer is with "Baby Octupus, Artichokes and Green Garlic" and that is what the paella had. It is not possible for us to serve it with green beens, as it is an ingredient that we do not use at all in our kitchen.
And you found "Both paellas were overly imbued with oil". Paella is a special way to cook rice totally diferent of boiling it. We make rices on the oven and this speciality way of cooking rice requieres an exact amount of watter, rice and oil. We understand that this might not please everybody specilly clients which are not used to olive oli cuisine. If you get to visit again in the future please let us know that you want your rice with less oil, and we will very pleased to do the modification specially for you.

On Sunday night we usually have two waitress because we spect to have 20-40 people and only have one more waitress if we have reservations. The day you came we only had 12 reservations, but finally came many people thay we did not expect. Althought we tried to do our best we were a little over to attend all the clientes we had that day. That is ther reason why we always recomend our clients to make a reservation previous to come, because it give us the oprotunity to be prepared.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

good quality, Spanish and Euskadi cuisine, enjoy dining with multiple courses. good location between Guggenheim and city centre

1  Thank martinhufschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteLarruzz, Camarero at Larruzz Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion. We are glad you enjoyed the meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Larruzz is located a few blocks from the Guggenheim and the Miro hotel. We had a wonderful dinner with great service, moderately priced.

Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Larruzz Bilbao also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Larruzz Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing