We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious rooms.”
Review of Pension Arriaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Arriaga
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious rooms.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Perfect location in the old town. An easy walk from the train station, metro, restaurants etc. Our room was perfectly clean and very spacious, with a separate bedroom and sitting area that contained a couch, small fridge and microwave. Each room had a small window, however given the 1st floor location and interior facing window (small courtyard) there is limited natural light.
We were there for 2 nights and unfortunately our room did not get cleaned which was disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YWG-JWLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    46
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
77
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the Arriaga Suites in mid February. Our flight landed late and so we didn't arrive until 10.30pm and Maria was there to greet us. The location is perfect - right in the old town. Suite was great value, comfy, brilliant shower, fridge, hair dryer etc. Would highly recommend this for a short stay in Bilbao. Thank-you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed 3rd - 5th October.

Wow, what can we say, we loved the Arriaga Suites and Ohianna. Great advice and communication before arriving in to Bilbao and also full of advice and suggestions when we arrived. We happened to meet Ohianna while out walking on the evening we arrived and she came over to us asking how we were and what we thought of Bilbao, in a really nice way :) most hotel staff would put their heads down and ignore you, was so lovely to feel like we knew someone in the city. So on to the suites, well they aren't a hotel they're better, so that's why Ohianna isn't like hotel staff :) She keeps the place really lovely and I especially love the unique way she made a nice 'view' from the windows that just look at external roofing areas, see picture.

The suite was lovely and spacious, unfortunately, I can't remember the name of the suite we stayed in. We had a small room with a hallway down to an open area with a big couch, tv, fridge, microwave, table and two stools. I think the couch was possibly a pull out bed so the suite could take more than two people.

The bedroom itself was huge, with a lovely one seater sofa, a table, fan, wardrobe.
Bathroom was also great and spacious. Lovely warm water from the shower, etc.

The location was great, right in the middle of the old part of the city but not the busiest part at night time so was relatively quiet, completely quiet on our side as we had no windows out on to the road.

The only negative might be that it was really warm on one of the evenings and some Air Con would've been great but I know this would only cause a hike in the price and it wouldn't be worth that.

We ran out to a local bakery for breakfast in the morning and came back to enjoy it in the suite, was great having our own little space, even if it was just for two days, wish it had been for longer.

We really loved this place and all for €69 a night for the suite!

There is some work going on in the building in which the suites are situated but the suites aren't getting any work done and they only worked during the day so we weren't disturbed by noise at all. Just adding this incase anyone is surprised when they arrive and is wondering where they've chosen to stay :)

Room Tip: Go with a suite rather than the double room, it's worth it for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrowneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

For the independent traveler, no front office, omnipresent staff, or phones. Clean, modern, large, quiet rooms and ideally located in the old town. Maria was very knowledgeable about the sites, restaurants and travel in outside of Bilboa. We stayed twice, 3 weeks apart. The construction did not bother us.

Room Tip: There is one small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GottagonowChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at Arriaga Suites in September. Both Oihana and Maria were really helpful and friendly. The rooms are really modern and resemble single bedroom apartments without kitchens (br/loungeroom/bathroom) and the location of the hostel is excellent. There were renovations going on in the lobby of the building which made the lobby really dusty but this didn't affect the suites at all (sound proofing was really good too). The only issue was the lack of sunlight as the rooms had windows onto very small courtyards- we were recovering from jetlag so welcomed the lack of light in the early morning (if you're in Bilbao to explore you shouldn't desperately need a window anyway).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Plus points
1. The location could not be better in the old town making it great for restaurants shops and bars
2 The suites are of a good size and are well furnished. The bed was really comfortable one drawback(but not a big issue with us was the lack of natural light)
3 Plenty of information regarding restaurants bars and places of interest from Maria
Minus points
1 There is a huge amount of construction work going on in the building as soon as enter the front door it like a building site and not very inviting Had we known of construction work we would not have booked the Arriaga suites.
2 Regarding our concerns about the construction work we asked to speak to Oihana(the owner?) and on the two appointed times she did not turn up.
So to sum up by all means try the Arriaga suits but not during construction work and that could take some time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangledupinblue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The apartments are well furnished, bright and spacious, bathrooms very clean and modern, beds very comfortable. Location in the old town is great for shops and restaurants and about 20 minutes walk from the Guggleheim. We liked the balcony doors for air and a view of the street. Free wifi with good signal.
Noisy corporation rubbish removal vehicles and lorries travel past the hotel at all hours of the night and the apartment block is under renovation meaning that power tools are vibrating through the building structure from early morning and that the entrance to the Arriaga suites on the first floor was being dug up and the stairs replaced. The apartment had a microwave, and fridge and 4 coffee cups but no kettle or coffee machine, nor coffee. The safe in the room is too small for laptops and is not attached to the wall i.e removable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
977 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#24 of 42 in Bilbao
333 reviews
La Estrella Ostatu
#31 of 42 in Bilbao
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Bilbo Zaharra
Hotel Arenal Bilbao
Hotel Arenal Bilbao
#30 of 42 in Bilbao
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Arriaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Arriaga

Property: Pension Arriaga
Address: Bidebarrieta, 3 - 1, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the middle of Bilbao's old town, the historic centre of the city, where you can enjoy a great variety of shops, restaurants and typical bars with their famous "Pintxos". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Arriaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing