We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and convenient, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sercotel Coliseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sercotel Coliseo
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Jönköping
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern and convenient, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I liked this hotel and could possibly imagine to return if ... they fixed ventilation and killed the never-ending bar music (recorded) that echoes through out the building from early morning until about midnight.

I stayed at the hotel in early May and was pleasantly surprised how deliciously the rooms were designed: clean, no clutter but convenient, stylish and new. However, it was the stuffiest room I have ever lived in at any hotel anywhere; and in my room lingered a faint smell of smoke as if something at some time or another had been ablaze. In addition, the room was very warm. I tried to correct this myself by trying to maneuver the Mitsubishi thermostat, which only gave instructions in Spanish. I tried everything. The ventilation was entirely dead. I went to see the reception for help. The receptionist smiled and let me know that "the entire a/c system was still set on winter mode. No single guest can do anything about it. It has to be done centrally and we will do this in a few days time". The receptionist offered to open my window, which was locked with a key (!) - I can't imagine why since the window faces an enclosed atrium court making up part of the restaurant below.

It was opened and the air outside was cooler than indoors so a relief, but this hardly helped the faint stench of fire. It also added the problem of the loud bar music ...

While the hotel as such is quite nice, I find it so very odd that staff allow guests to suffer in stuffy rooms without ventilation during the off-season. At the very least this should be clearly stated on their homepage. They should also tell potential guests that they have a loud music system which will entertain them whether they wish it or not.... even as I write this a squeaky saxophone is dishing out "WIndmills of your mind" in the loudspeaker outside my open window...for the 20 ieth time today ... It is not something you want to hear for your entire stay. The choice is either no air and more quiet or a little air and noise pollution!

So all in all a good hotel but one which should mind their guests more carefully I think.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FluffyProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    482
    98
    20
    12
See reviews for
141
517
41
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hotel was nice but lacked atmosphere, we did not have any meals there so I cannot comment on food or service . It is situated in a great location within walking distance to most amenities.
Good shopping nearby. Casino nest door.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The rooms were large, clean and modern. However found the bathroom design quite odd. The walls of the bathroom were translucent and if you turned the light on at night it lit up the entire room (not great if others are sleeping) For a 4 star hotel I found it to be lacking in those little extras that you would normally find eg. A kettle and bottles of water. Breakfast was ok but very expensive for what it was. The hotel was in a good location and within walking distance of all the main attractions. If you want a convenient place to rest your head this is it, but for service and amenities it is more like a 3 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent location with modern and comfy decor. A ten minute walk to the old town about fifteen/twenty to the Guggenheim. They seemed to have upgraded their WiFi; we had no trouble getting a solid, speedy connection. The breakfast looked OK, but at 15€ each, over-priced. Just sneak around the corner to the Café Gaico on Calle Bertendona (turn left as you go out the door). It's a nice bar that opens at 7h00 and has many cheaper breakfast options. Cheaper still if you sit at the bar.

As for rooms, ask for one at the back which overlooks the pedestrian mall (Lutxana), rather than Alameda Urquijo, which is a little noisy. Finally, if gambling, God forbid, is fun for you, the hotel is right next to a low key Casino.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Very modern decor. The location is one of the best thing about things about the hotel. It is so central that everything is within walking distance, the Old Town, Guggenheim, shopping district etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it ticks most of the boxes for a short break. My only slight criticism is that the hotel is a little soulless and impersonal.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carltonleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stay ther in a business trip, so a few days, but it seems to be a nice hotel, very clean and comtemporary. It's also a modern hotel, placed in a central location of Bilbao, where we can visit the city by foot...caus we are near almost everything.
The worst was the Wi-fi connection in the room. Very problems of connection...but still a positive review.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPereira85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Castaños
Hesperia Bilbao
Hesperia Bilbao
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Coliseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Coliseo

Property: Sercotel Coliseo
Address: Alameda De Urquijo 13, 48008 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Coliseo 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sercotel Coliseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing