We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!”
Review of Hotel Ercilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ercilla
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel to spend some days in Bilbao. Placed nearby touristic Center of Bilbao. You can leave your car in the hotel garage (payed!) and visit several museums walking.
The Guggenheim Museum is only 15min walking.
The hotel have an excellent service and the people are mostly friendly.
If you book two or three months before the check-in you can get good prices.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Luismvaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ercilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in Bilbao. This hotel is amazing!! Best location, super clean, extremely friendly staff. The hotel has parking right next to the hotel. Room are huge and room service is fantastic if you want a late night snack. Close to attractions, shopping and restaurants!! We would totally recommend this place and stay here next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Neil_Bhagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very well located hotel. Staff friendly on arrival with parking located under the hotel - important in Bilbao's narrow busy streets. At €18 per night for parking, it is competitive. Hotel lobby and bar nice and funky with plenty comfy seats. Rooms are large with big bright bathrooms. We were on 7th floor and there was no street noise. Very clean and well appointed. Worth the €120 per night. 10 minute walk to Guggenheim.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe double room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel Ercilla for ten nights, the room was OK but the hotels location is great. Short distance from most Bilbao attractions (museum, restaurants and san mames). Breakfast is just average and chaotic. They claim they have a gym spa, but I wouldn't really say it is ... but the view from the gym is amazing, and since its pretty close to the river walk I just did my running outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel Ercilla for three nigths during my first stay in Bilbao. The room was OK - nothing more and location is great. Short distance from most attractions (as most hotels in Bilbao I guess as the city is not that big).

What I wasn't so impressed with was the traffic at the breakfast - or rather the limited space compared to the number of guests. Around 9 o'clock you are lucky if you don't have to wait 5-10 minutes for a table.

Also it turned out impossible for me to get a iron to my room to iron my shirt. Several time I asked for it at the reception but the answer was always that they didn't have any available and I should try again later.

I didn't try the restaurant at the hotel but had some local food (Pintxos I think they call the Tapas dishes) at small restaurants close to the hotel and it was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nossirevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the airport busstop.
Wifi is free but I found the connection unstable. The room is quite spacious. There was noise in the (very) early morning due to indistinct street activities.
Also the bar/lobby is very spacious.
I did not have the hotel breakfast but had a tasteful and much cheaper breakfast in one of the bars in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nice staff, good location, 15 minutes walk to Guggenheim and 10 to Bell Arte. Good rooms and clean. Nice helpful staf at the desk. Slow WiFi in the rooms. If you want to visit Bilbao this is a good located hotel with excellent parking facilities.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank enruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Silken Indautxu Hotel
Silken Indautxu Hotel
#21 of 42 in Bilbao
1,009 reviews
Abando
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Sercotel Coliseo
Sercotel Coliseo
#9 of 42 in Bilbao
1,111 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#10 of 42 in Bilbao
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ercilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ercilla

Address: Ercilla 37-39 | El Ensanche, 48011 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £60 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ercilla 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel, popular comforts for business or leisure travelers, restaurant serving Basque Cuisine; set in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ercilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ercilla Hotel Bilbao
Golden Tulip Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing