We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Plus Blob. Not a 4 blob hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Average Plus Blob. Not a 4 blob hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

One would assume that the hotel being on the river that there maybe a chance of the superior room I booked would offer space and perhaps a view. Neither were the case. The hotel is in fact set one block back from the river and any view main body of hotel reached by a passageway over which perhaps a dozen rooms and the conference rooms are located and these are the only rooms with a view. Out of three rooms that my party had, I had the least depressing, see photo. My superior room and being a single occupant meant that the hotel wedged me into a tiny room with barely room to swing a Manx cat. All is new. 1 Bedside table, but no room for a second. Most things that you would need. Safe above fridge so everything in safe is warmed. WI FI is RUBBISH, please get it sorted, no excuse. Endured breakfast one day. Lots of choice. Unripe bananas, plastic looking croissant and processed orange juice for 13€. We had breakfast out of the hotel most days so managed to avoid this disappointment. Bar ok but shuts tight as a drum at midnight which is hardly City living. We dined here one night with fairly low expectations but the food was surprisingly good with enthusiastic staff. Dining room is a bit clinical but then it serves as the breakfast area as well. Car park is 25€ a night and the alternative is a public car park a good 250m away.

Room Tip: Pray that you get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    903
    197
    37
    18
See reviews for
335
996
86
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently. It's well located in that it's between the old and the new town and it's really quiet. It's very easy to walk to the museums and/or the old town. The reception is pleasant. The rooms are clean and comfortable but perhaps a bit like they were decorated with furniture from Ikea. Good shower and comfortable sleep. Breakfast was good lots of fresh fruit, cereal and meats. The bar and restaurant although fairly typical, were very unappealing as they were so bright and did not lend themselves to a relaxing meal or drink. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Parking is very good beside the hotel but it comes at a cost.

Room Tip: Ours was facing some tall trees and a street and unfortunately I can't remember the number but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My stay at the Nervion was nothing short of outstanding. The staff was excellent at the front desk, bar and dinning area. Modern, clean with great sleeping arrangements it was very enjoyable. The Bar does have a World Class Gin and Tonic. Just a few minutes to walk to the Guggenheim. Wifi number one. I certainly recommend this facility for families or business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great spot on river across from city center, close to old city.
Minimalist hotel in terms of staff and features: but spacious, great rooms, good restaurant (13E prix fixe), good shared space
Good choice for central Bilbao

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel definetaly deserves its high rating in Tripadvisor.com. Contemporary decoration, nice and large lobby, very nice rooms. Staff is professional and friendly. Very few cons like the high price of car park, I definetely recommend this hotel which is walking distance to the Guggenheim, and the restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnurEvren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights and it is well situated between the Guggenheim and the old town. Very clean and modern double room with a massive bed & free safe. Bear in mind it is city centre and has a busy road at the front and school at the back so expect some noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross_Eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Selected this from the trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed.
When we arrived by car travelling from the motorway we though we had made a terrible mistake as the area we past through you would not want to stop. However when you reach the river area it is much more pleasant. The location is excellent for all the main sites of old town with its boutique shops and bars, the main shopping drag and of course the Guggenhiem. The architecture of this place is amazing and the main reason for our visit.
The hotel bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the soundproofing is good as is the air conditioning.
We had breakfast of which we were offered a discount which made it reasonably priced as we tend to eat outside of hotels. The wine at the bar is reasonable as well.
We would return if coming back to this city. The reception staff were very helpful if their English is not great which is typical for this area. Don't understand some of the poor reviews here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottandlindaArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
Hesperia Bilbao
Hesperia Bilbao
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
1,657 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#8 of 43 in Bilbao
2,284 reviews
Hotel Miro
#5 of 43 in Bilbao
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bilbao Nervion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bilbao Nervion

Property: Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Address: Paseo Campo Volantin, 11, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bilbao Nervion 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Barcelo, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Bilbao Nervion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Nervion Hotel Bilbao
Barcelo Hotel Nervion
Barcelo Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing