We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb ending to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Bilbao was far better as a place to visit than I expected. The city has an interesting old quarter,
a thriving retailing and commercial centre, and the wonderful Guggenheim centre.
We choose the Nervion because of its location on the river and its proximity to the Guggenheim.
The Hotel has recently been upgraded and the modernised rooms were imaginatively designed.
The amount of space was a little tighter than I expected but the room was comfortable and very functional. The public spaces were enormous including the restaurant and the food was reasonable especially the breakfasts. With so much to see and do we tended to eat out.
the Guggenheim is a must for all travellors. What a spectacle. Worth going to see no matter how far you have to travel.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 7th floor. I would recommend these
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BilbaoNervion, Director General at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very much for choosing us to be accommodated during your stay in Bilbao.

We are glad to know you enjoyed the services we provided you as well as the situation where the hotel is located.

We do hope see you in the hotel in your next visit to the city.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We travelled from Santiago to Bilbao. We were expecting the same quality of service if not better. The attitude from check-in started the 3 disappointing nights. We had a corporate booking that included breakfast. Yet, we were told even with the confirmation letter that they were not going to honour breakfast because there was an error in the rate. After being contacted by my corporate advisor that they risked loosing all trades from our company, they honoured the breakfast. Oh, no apology offered for the poor attitude.

We booked a superior double room and we were given a twin room with the wash basin next to the bed. You cannot do anything private without waking up the other person. We were told that's superior room!

Our last night, we had braised veal and Ox steak well-done. The braised steak was like a tick sauce probably reheated several times as my travel companion had it on the first night. Although, we asked the Ox steak to be well-done and sent back, it came back still pink. We left both untouched.

Poor wifi connection!

Great location, great shower, great breakfast bar!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fortune B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BilbaoNervion, Director General at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

We would like to thank you your comments about the hotel.

We regret not meeting your expectations in the services we offered to our customers.

Should you come to the hotel, we are at your disposal to provide you the well considered service we offer to our customers.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I had two days at the end of a seven day vacation and decided to return to Bilbao, booking this hotel at the last minute. I paid € 260 for 2 nights. I like the location better than where I stayed previously near the Guggenheim, as my goal was to explore more of the Old Town and take in the start of the Semana Grande celebration (an event that I fully intend to return for next year and I will look to book this hotel again, as the proximity is perfect).

PROS:
Good, not perfect, housekeeping.
Good bed and bath linens (large bath sheets)
Good shower + water pressure
Customer service -- strangely, the night before my departure (at 5:30am) the power went out just as I was going to bed. I was worried about power for my phone - and alarm clock - and I called down to the front desk and someone was at my door within 1 minute, with great communication and the issue (probably a blown circuit) was fixed quickly and again with great communication and an offer for a personal wake up call as a backup.

CONS:
Noise -- I heard every flush and shower of my neighbor.I stayed in 3 different but similarly priced hotels in Spain and this was a common issue, to be fair.
Wifi -- the password, and needing a new one each 24-hours, is annoying. Just set up a better system already.
Bar/dining -- I found the basics in the bar to be really expensive (coffee, bottled water) and not the best service. With so many options just outside the door, why not step it up a bit?

Overall I was happy with the cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel and the service, and especially the perfect location, and I would stay here again at the right price. The lobby feels a bit luxury but this is not a luxury hotel, rather a high-end tourist/mid-range hotel. It's a 5-10 minute walk to everything I wanted to do (explore Old Town, and shop in the "new" town). :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BilbaoNervion, Director General at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel.

Our customer opninions help us to achieve the service goal we would like to provide.

We regret you have some negative aspects about the hotel. We keep on working to meet all our guest´s needs.

We do hope see you in the hotel again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

No hesitation in recommending this hotel. It exceeded our expectations, great location, rooms, breakfast very helpful & friendly staff. We were two couples visiting the City for the first time. The festival was in full swing and Bilbao was rocking until the early hours, but, once inside the Barcelo Nervion tranquility descended and a peaceful nights sleep was had by all. Will certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank frostymij12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BilbaoNervion, Director General at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We would like to thank you for your positive comments about the hotel. We are glad to know you enjoyed, not only the hotel services and its tranquility, but your first visit to Bilbao as well.

We do hope see you in your next visit to Bilbao.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed four nights with our three children and found the hotel and its amenities perfect for our needs. Friendly staff, breakfast included and very close to the sights. Nice and big family suite. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Mortil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Really liked this hotel, it sits perfectly between the Guggenheim and the Casco Viejo (old town), walking distance to the city's best spots! Rooms are brand new, modern and clean. Just wish breakfast was cheaper, we chose to have breakfast somewhere else every day

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HeloRighetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel has a good location,the cost per night at a acceptable level when consider the location.
The special offer of a 9Euros breakfast was a pleasant surprise.
Parking in front of the hotel could cause some problem and could be improved

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Haavard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BilbaoNervion, Director General at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you very much for your positive comments of the hotel.

We keep on working to improve every day and meet all our guest's needs.

We do hope see you in the hotel soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Occidental Bilbao
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
195 reviews
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bilbao Nervion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bilbao Nervion

Address: Paseo Campo Volantin, 11, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £64 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bilbao Nervion 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Bilbao Nervion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Nervion Hotel Bilbao
Barcelo Hotel Nervion
Barcelo Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing