We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Indautxu Hotel
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The best four star hotel I have stayed so far. The service in the reception was excellent, very helpful and attentive. I liked many bars and cafes in the ground floor. The room was equipped superbly, with some small things which make difference: in the bathroom I found sewing kit, comb and shaving kit, those small things I did not see in any other four star place. At the toop of it the room was quiet, location is great, close to the Guggenheim and the center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedrus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    405
    208
    76
    45
See reviews for
119
419
39
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Nice room, great bed, clean, what you need. And the misses was very fond of the bathroom products (heard her giggle).

Recomend taking a drink in the hotel pub, very nice bartender that knows everything about the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odd_Arne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I would agree almost entirely with the previous review. It rained for nearly two whole days (out of 4) whilst we were in Bilbao and would have been pretty depressed had it not been for the overall quality of the hotel. Staff were unfriendly, though the ground floor covered/sheltered terrace is an excellent, quiet and dry space. The bar serves a decent cana and Rioja costing no more than in the city bars.
Unlike the rest of Spain, we did find that one has to order drinks INSIDE the majority of the bars, rather than there being a table service outside.
We took the EuskoTren to Bermeo on the hot and sunny day. Very straightforward as the Metro is close to the hotel. However rather than going to Abando and walking across the river down to Estacion de Atxuri (a long way), it is much easier to stay on and go to Bolueta, which is the second stop on the way to Bermeo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyLuntsFanClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is typical of the chain type - lots of facilities and comfortable but lacking in warmth from the staff; they are not unfriendly but they deal with so many people that they come across as remote. However, I did manage to print a document by emailing it to reception (no charge) and they sorted out a problem with the room safe in a few minutes. The wifi is free in the rooms and the breakfast is very varied. The air-conditioning can be set by the guest and is quiet. Very near the metro station with links all over the city. Go to Algorta up the coast (on the metro) for a quieter seaside day out. Buy a metro/tram pass from any Tabacos shop (15 euros each lasted us a week). The hotel restaurant is very expensive - avoid! Nice cafeteria though. I can recommend this hotel for a quiet and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elcoronel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Paid for queen room and ended up in twin.
There was and open, unused condom on the floor on first entering the room.
The air conditioning didn't work.
The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful.
Never again staying there and would advise others to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedogsnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

Hamburg
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

It was quite a nice hotel and when we arrived in the evening the lady at reception was very polite. However, the following day there was a more middle-aged lady who was very arrogant and later on a gentlement, also middle-aged balding, who was probably the unfriendliest person I've ever met. He never said please or thank you, never looked me in the eye, hardly gave me the very small amount of information I needed. Was really disgusting.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayceeehh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I stayed at the Silken Indautxu for 4 nights in April while I was attending a conference at the BEC. The hotel earns its 4 stars, rooms are nice and very clean, staff is helfpful and friendly...The breakfast is great, with anything from cereals to pastries, fresh fruit, and varieties of cheese and nice ham for your "tostadas", all of this of excellent quality. The hotel is 5 min walking from metro station indautxu, whihc is very convenient. Moreover there is free wifi in the rooms. It can get slow at night, but it's enough to check your mail and surf the web. I had a single room which was more spacious than in other hotels, and it was extremely quiet, the area is rather quiet at night generally speaking.
I was lucky and got a special webrate, however the hotel is not particlarly cheap! Try to get a breakfast included rate, otherwise it's rather expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radiolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 42 in Bilbao
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#23 of 42 in Bilbao
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Indautxu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Indautxu Hotel

Property: Silken Indautxu Hotel
Address: Plaza Bombero Etxaniz S/N, 48010 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando , Indautxu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Indautxu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silken Indautxu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Indautxu
Silken Indautxu Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing