We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired room, difficult access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silken Indautxu Hotel
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel was disappointing: the room was tired, the bed had a thin mattress and wad uncomfortable, and the bathroom had a blocked basin. Getting to the room with four bags was very difficult down a number of flights of stairs to a small lift with no help. Wifi in room was very poor, with barely any signal.
Location was ok, but there are other options much closer to the main attractions and probably at a better price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest

We´re sorry if your experience at Silken Indautxu was not as you expected , the access to the classic room , which actually offers a better rate has some stairs before arriving to their lifts but please note Hotel includes a Porter free service that kindly help you with the luggage or car, if requested. The same happens with WIFI, for a premium wifi conection, for only
6 € user /24 hrs allows you to work properly with internet .

On the other hand, we apologise for the inconvenience happened with the bain , once reception is informed we fix it as soon as possible to avoid objections of our visitors that deserve its own rest.

Best Regads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed two nights , 1st night ate at the hotel , what a disaster.
poor service , poor food.
Requested the fillet steak , arrive with my traveling team as a starter , just a steak in a sauce , looked like a very thin cut sirloin masquerading as a fillet , sauce cold steak cold.
Asked for some chips these came but were still frozen in the middle.
Service so slow it was now 23:00 hours after traveling all day I had lost the will to live, went too bed disappointed , the menu promised so much & delivered so little.
never a 4* hotel .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest

We apologise if this particular service you demanded was not of your taste , Hotel Silken Indautxu works hardly to offer the best of our basque cuisine , in fact, our proposals have suffered changes in order to keep the best for our guest .

For any further information or help you may need, please do not doubt to contact us , we will be very pleased to welcome you any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel itself is pleasant enough but I wouldn't have classified this as 4 star. The rear part of the hotel where my room was located is the old part. You have to travel down several flights of stairs and whilst not a problem without luggage with luggage its certainly an issue.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
Breakfast was good value, lots to choose from an all fresh.
However my real gripe was with the restaurant. We booked a meal there through a discount website and wanted to eat there the same evening. We were told we could not as the allocation for discount vouchers was taken that evening. The restaurant was empty. We then had to prebook for the next night (good job we were staying more than one night) and we spent 30mins at the beginning of the meal trying to verify the voucher - all I wanted to do was eat! Plus we were told the steak was not available that evening - not great given it was one of the few menu options.
We were offered a complimentary drink in the bar for the issue which was appreciated. However when I asked for a drink I was told it should be a cheaper drink than I had asked for - come on, really?! A complimentary drink is just that isn't it?! Was pretty annoyed and frustrated with the whole dining experience and even with the voucher the meal was still v expensive!

So would I return? Sadly, probably not.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the old part of the hotel! Long trip down stairs with luggage and rooms pretty out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We were en route from Santander to Empuriabrava on med coast and decided to visit Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao. We booked this hotel on line and found that we did indeed end up in the not so good part of the hotel as described by others. Having said that, it was as clean as could be. There was a huge stain in the carpet as we walked in to the room and upon further investigation proved to be from the old air con system. If I was in charge of housekeeping the carpet per would have been cleaned professionally but alas staff are afraid of making decisions these days.
The beds were clean and the mattresses comfortable.
Never the less, our contact with the few staff was satisfactory. I would stay there again but ask to be in the new part.
We didn't eat in the hotel as there was a massive tour group in residence so we went out for some tapas instead.
All in all it was OK and did the job.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InspectorLeStrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Good price - warm welcome - central - Do stay there! :)
I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Bilbao and I definitely recommend a visit to Bilbao. Bilbao has a lively atmosphere and doesn't seem to be suffering the problems of a recession in the same way other parts of Spain are. It is a Basque town and is self governing with most signs shown in the Basque language and Spanish.

I found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and efficiently run.
Free WiFi is provided and checkout times can be extended if required.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Guest

Bilbao attracs and surprises our visitors because as you well describes is a very lively city with lots of attractions of interest. We are pleased you enjoy as well with your stay at Silken Indautxu and that really recommend us to others tripadvisor´s users

We keep trying our best to warm welcome all our guest, so please do not doubt to contact us again for future bookings you may expect , visiting our web
www.hoteles-silken.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We found this hotel to be very pleasant. The breakfast was good and varied. Car parking was just below the hotel and reasonably priced.The hotel is centrally located and everything you want to see is within a 15 minute walk.
Our room 206 was clean, quiet and spacious. I chose this 'comfort 'room after my original booking had been made on-line through an agent for a 'classic' room and was very happy paying 10euros a day extra. The beds were excellent and we slept well. The only thing I would have liked was brighter lighting in the room - there were plenty of lamps but all quite dim.
The Restaurant was enjoyable with three courses available with wine for 19 or 24 euros which we thought was exceptional value (based on food we had the same week, elsewhere in the area). Service was good and it should mentioned that one young waiter called Alberto was a huge asset to the Hotel. My husband and I were both impressed with his attitude and English and he deserves praise. The small cafeteria was also very pleasant and had good afternoon snacks.
I would recommend this hotel to any traveller to Bilbao.
One complaint: the bathroom toiletries were not replaced during our stay. We had one small tube of shampoo and shower gel for the three days (an oversight???)

Room Tip: Room 206 was on the second floor served by a lift directly from the main foyer. It faced a side road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybun76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest

Its very gratifying for us that your stay at Silken Indautxu had been really Worth , so many thank for your impressions left and how you describes all the service offered .

We would also like to remind you for next visits, that our guests may demand as many amenities as necessary during the stay, there´s a card reminding this point at the bathroom, we apologise if it ´s caused you any inconvenient .

Thank you for trusting HOTELES SILKEN , Best Regads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

the hotel is very nice, delicious buffet! good price and very comfortable. The hotel is very close to the old city, good possibilities to go for shopping and food. The service is very professional, also good for tourists, just a few minutes from shuttle to the airport. The building is nice and the neighbourhood very calm. The rooms are comfortable, with all accomodations and free internet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evynature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Customer

Thanks a lot for leaving your good impressions of your stay at Silken Indautxu for the next to come , that hopefully choose us for their visits to Bilbao .

Silken Indautxu Staff , tries its best everyday to offer our guest an optimal service and to make their stay as comfortable as possible; that´s why , please do not doubt to visit us in a future , you´ll be very welcome at our house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#14 of 42 in Bilbao
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Occidental Bilbao
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
233 reviews
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Indautxu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Indautxu Hotel

Address: Plaza Bombero Etxaniz S/N, 48010 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando , Indautxu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £62 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Indautxu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silken Indautxu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Indautxu
Silken Indautxu Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing