We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isn't great for leisure , well located for Guggenheim though. AC wasn't working in our room which was unfortunate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Indautxu Hotel
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here at the end of our trip to Spain. Here for the Guggenheim. In terms of the museum it's about 15 minutes away by walk, a staright road. It's also about 15minutes walk from the bus station, a straight walk. But it's in an almost residential neighbourhood and none of the rated places to eat are closeby hence had to tracker a bit far to eat something good. If you do stay here there are some good shopping areas on 10 minutes either side by walk. We were given a room in the older part which was clean and seemed good but even though it was October it got a it hot and the AC was hardly working, the housekeeping did come late at night to check it and agreed it wasn't working upto scratch but he couldn't move us anywhere else and neither could they give us a fan, hence it was very disappointing. Id overall say , stay here if on a business trip but not when you are there to relax and have a holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part with new AC fitted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest

Firstly , we apologize for the inconvenience suffered with the AC that particular day in your room, usually if this happens our tecnhical service tries to repair it , and if not, we change to another room , being aware of the problem that it might cause on our guest´s stay. Due that day we have not more rooms available we could not solve it as we would like to.

We hope we can supplement it on your future visits to Bilbao .

Meanwhile, we keep at your complete disposal for any further requirements

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Everything was good, from stuff to great breakfast. I missed gym, but you have plenty of choice to run out thru the city or by the river Bilbao. Excellent choice to stay. We did not have balcony, but we do not mind. Overall we could recommend from business people to tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Majelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest

It´s a pleasure for us, knowing that your stay at Silken Indautxu has been as comfortable as we expect to all our visitors ; That´s why we really appreciate the use of this web to let users know the valuation of our establishment by our own guest .

We invite you to visit our web www.hoteles-silken.com , where you´ll be able to see all our promotions for future visits to Bilbao or any other country where Hoteles Silken resided.

Best Regads,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A good hotel to stay. Clean rooms, on site parking for a fee (bit pricey), walking distance to attractions and old city. Did not want to pay their price for breakfast and there is couple of nice cafes across the road where you can get breakfast at a much better price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjf000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Silken Indautxu for your stay at Bilbao City , and that our service had been as expected .

For the next to come, do not doubt to visit us again . Follow us on our web www.hoteles-silken.com.

Best regads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The central location made this hotel seem like an ideal sightseeing location but we did not plan on the hour circulating Bilbau, often in sight of the hotel to find the correct one way street that had the hotel's hidden car park entrance. Once in, we needed the porter to re-park the car in the underground maze! However the tram to the old city, waterfront and tourist sights, was within easy walking distance and a good way of seeing more of the city without touching the car until making the difficult exit on departure!
The hotel was soleless and the corridors to the rooms were airless and smelly. The room itself was adequate and clean, the bed comfortable, but the airconditioning, necessary since the widow opened above a narrow noisy street, was itself quite noisy. We planned to eat in the large restaurant on our first night but backed off seeing only one table in use by 9pm. The tappas bars nearby proved very attractive and better value.
Only the breakfast room and buffet lived up to the 4 Star standard. You need to negotiate an attractive rate discount to make this hotel value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving your impressions of your stay at Silken Indautxu , we´d like to mention about our restaurant opening time that dinner stars at 21:00 p.m. that´s why maybe you found this space not as busy as expected. We´re offering our Bistró
from 19 € (beverage included) and with a large variety of main and second courses of a basque and international variety offer, beverage included .

For the next visit you may consider to Bilbao city, please do not doubt to contact us directly at www.hoteles-silken.com , in order to inform and provide the best of our services, including directions for an easier arrival to our Hotel.

Best regads ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We paid just under €280 for 5 nights in a double room in the hotel

Our room was located in the older section of the hotel and was certainly a bit tired. The furniture was scratched BUT the room was large, spotlessly clean, our bed was really comfortable and we had a massive bathroom.

We didn't eat in the main restaurant but did eat in the Cafeteria and found that the food was very tasty.

It's rated as a four star but personally I felt like it was more like a three star. That being said we were really happy with our stay and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We expect you coming again on your next visit to the city , it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again . For more information about rooms and restaurant , visit us www.hoteles-silken.com.

See you next time , Best regads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel was disappointing: the room was tired, the bed had a thin mattress and wad uncomfortable, and the bathroom had a blocked basin. Getting to the room with four bags was very difficult down a number of flights of stairs to a small lift with no help. Wifi in room was very poor, with barely any signal.
Location was ok, but there are other options much closer to the main attractions and probably at a better price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest

We´re sorry if your experience at Silken Indautxu was not as you expected , the access to the classic room , which actually offers a better rate has some stairs before arriving to their lifts but please note Hotel includes a Porter free service that kindly help you with the luggage or car, if requested. The same happens with WIFI, for a premium wifi conection, for only
6 € user /24 hrs allows you to work properly with internet .

On the other hand, we apologise for the inconvenience happened with the bain , once reception is informed we fix it as soon as possible to avoid objections of our visitors that deserve its own rest.

Best Regads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed two nights , 1st night ate at the hotel , what a disaster.
poor service , poor food.
Requested the fillet steak , arrive with my traveling team as a starter , just a steak in a sauce , looked like a very thin cut sirloin masquerading as a fillet , sauce cold steak cold.
Asked for some chips these came but were still frozen in the middle.
Service so slow it was now 23:00 hours after traveling all day I had lost the will to live, went too bed disappointed , the menu promised so much & delivered so little.
never a 4* hotel .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilkenIndautxu, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Indautxu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest

We apologise if this particular service you demanded was not of your taste , Hotel Silken Indautxu works hardly to offer the best of our basque cuisine , in fact, our proposals have suffered changes in order to keep the best for our guest .

For any further information or help you may need, please do not doubt to contact us , we will be very pleased to welcome you any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#12 of 42 in Bilbao
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Indautxu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Indautxu Hotel

Address: Plaza Bombero Etxaniz S/N, 48010 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando , Indautxu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £61 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Indautxu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Silken Indautxu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Indautxu
Silken Indautxu Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing