We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 September 2013

In bilbao for a few days and we really liked this hotel for the great location, friendly staff (who were very helpful and nice) and great clean rooms. We had a quiet room facing the courtyard and took breakfast every day. Breakfast was excellent, replenished constantly and hot food available cooked to your request. The serving staff were all very friendly and didn't mind us sitting there having a long breakfast. Only negative was that the lift stuck while I was in it but I phoned reception in the lift and help came immediately. We have nothing but praise for the staff. Highly recommended for a trip to Bilbo!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerr711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay here very much. It has a great location on the Gran Via and can walk to Guggenheim, Museum of Fine Arts, a shopping center (has a food court) and the tram line which runs to the old city.

Reception staff is friendly and helpful.

The buffet breakfast is one of the best I had in Spain. In addition to the buffet itself, there is an egg chef who does your eggs to order.

I upgraded to a superior room from the standard room. Standard rooms face the interior and there is no view. Superior rooms face the Gran Via. Cost was 15 euro extra per night.

The first “superior” room I had was 403 - one of the sinks did not drain, it had an old tub, the night light was missing over one side of the bed, room did not have an expresso machine or iPod dock and one corner of the ceiling was damaged and it looked like it was peeling off.

When I asked for the sink and nightlight to be repaired, I was instead moved to Room 508 which was in much better shape, better kept and with better housekeeping. It was worth it to me to have a view of the Grand Via, but even on the 5th floor, I heard street noise.

The linens at this hotel were especially nice - large bath sheets and comfortable bed linens with extra pillows,etc in the closet.

Wi-fi is excellent and you can log in from your room. There are new passwords every 24 hours.

Also want to mention I used Bilbao Greeters (www.bilbaogreeters.com) who are volunteers willing to show you their beautiful city. My greeter gave me a walking tour of the area and helped me with details such as finding a Citibank and obtaining a local sim card. It is a wonderful service.

Room Tip: Reserve a room facing the Gran Via -- they have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel was luxurious in every way except one...technology is lacking. You need a new wifi code daily which can expire whenever it chooses! Every other aspect was outstanding including toiletries, bedding, spaciousness of rooms and the wonderful buffet breakfast.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Conchita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed here for one night, arriving late. The booking said that you can't check in after midnight, but I phoned in advance and was told that this was not a problem.

The service at each point was very good, and the rooms were nicely decorated and large, with all of the required stuff. However the room felt a bit "cheap".

The free WiFi only gives you 100mb which doesn't last all that long which is annoying. The breakfast is pretty good.

All in all a good enough hotel which I would stay at again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabbitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus juan A, General Manager at NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, it will help us to improve and maintain a high motivation and service to our guests.
Very happy to know that you had a very good staying at Hotel Nh Villa, that you liked our rooms, service and location.
Best regards.
J Arnedo
General Manager Hotel nh Villa de Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed only 1 night in Bilbao. This hotel is big and spacious. We got upgraded to a bigger room and we like it very much. Modern design, spacious and of course clean!
it is only 15 min walk to Guggenheim Museum. The environment is safe and quiet at night.
Wifi and printing is for free. So we booked our Guggenheim tickets online and print out at the hotel. It saved our time in lining up at the museum ticket office.

Room Tip: Book from NH hotel website and I think it's easier to get upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs-Liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

lovely staff ( it was my birthday - they notified it during check in and sent 2 slices birthday cake to the room - lovely gesture from the receptionist ! - Elisa if i do remember well)
good breakfast buffet
nice refurbished rooms
used outside parking ( blue and green lines) as the city wasn't charging it during the month of august - they do have a parking charging 20 eur / night
great location - outside downtown but verry pleasant area

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus juan A, General Manager at NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, it will help us to improve and maintain a high motivation and service to our guests.
Very happy to know that you had a very good staying at Hotel Nh Villa, that you liked are location, service, breakfast buffet.
Sincerily.
J Arnedo
General Manager Hotel nh Villa de Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

NH Villa de Bilbao is located on the Gran Via (along which the shopping area lies, although a few hundred meters from the hotels), about ten minutes walk from the main bus station and fifteen minutes from the Guggenheim museum.

We had ordered a regular room, but as the stay was part of our honey moon, the room was upgraded to a superior free of charge. The room was thus spacious, with two queen size beds, a couch and a desk. The bathroom was very nice. The hotel was however surprisingly noisy - we heard the guests of the adjacent rooms loud and clear (talking, singing, showering, slamming the door etc), as well as noise from the street. If you're a light sleeper you should choose another hotel.

The breakfast of the hotel was quite good. The lunch (which, during summer, is served in the lobby bar) was also good, and the hotel restaurant provides a decent meal for not-to-steep prices.

The service was very good, in addition to the free upgrade of the room we were given a 50% discount on the breakfast (we had initially not ordered it, as we were only staying two nights, and had to check out before the breakfast started the final day). In addition, the receptionist was helpful in explaining the city to us. When we checked out he ordered a taxi for us, which appeared in about one minute.

In conclusion, the only drawback of this hotel is the noise - otherwise, it offers great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norwegian000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,303 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#10 of 42 in Bilbao
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Villa de Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Villa de Bilbao

Address: Gran Via, 87, 48011 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando , Indautxu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#2 Green Hotel in Bilbao
#2 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: £69 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Villa de Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao is a four-star hotel conveniently located in downtown Bilbao, recently renovated and ready to fulfill your highest expectations in terms of comfort and quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Villa de Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bilbao
Nh Hotel De Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing